We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not enough smoking rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Winfield - Teays Valley
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hurricane
medicwizz
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not enough smoking rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

Transfered from Red Roof Inn to this hotel for the same Business trip I mentioned on the other review.This hotel was wonderful excluding the fact that they had very few smoking rooms available.This was a huge inconvienience being that we had to go outside every time we wanted a smoke, that being said they had one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in.Two pillows, I believe feather down,one firm and one soft. Could have stood some more blankets, but I didnt ask. The room decor is nice but not fancy. The staff was very nice and I would stay there again. They also served a pretty nice breakfast selection free for guest.

Room Tip: All smoking rooms are located on the left side of the first floor , approx 10 to 15 rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank medicwizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    32
    19
    11
    10
See reviews for
41
17
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Clarksville, Virginia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

This location really leaves alot to be desired. Location terrible area. People hanging around parking lot all night. Pool open untill early morning hours. It's the type of place you realize that all Holidday Inn Expresses are not equal.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank det683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hurricane hotels

West Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

Stayed here with my family on the way home to Chicago and found the accommodations to be good. Best part of our two queen bed room were the comfy mattresses. Breakfast was the usual and found what we wanted to eat without having to chase anyone down. Room was surprisingly pretty updated with the exception of the carpet (could stand to be replaced). On check-in (pulled in around 8pm) we couldn't find the front desk clerk or anyone to help us for over 10 minutes; not a very good first impression. Overall, considering the location, a good, standard place to stay for a night while on a roadtrip.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadtripmemories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

We reserved a room a week in advance at this hotel. We booked a suite and received a special discounted online rate. We arrived after 12 hours on the road, ate our dinner, and headed to the pool (which was nice). At 9:30pm, we returned to the room and it smelled like a bar. The cigarette smoke was terrible. It seemed to be pouring in through the vent in the shower. I called the front desk and the clerk said he'd check it out. He never showed. I called back and explained that the two adults in the room had asthma and we also had a three-year-old with us and felt that the air quality was too poor for us to stay. We asked if there was another room we could have. The desk clerk said, "We do not have any rooms left. What I can do is offer the you early checkout." I said, "What does that mean? We wouldn't be charged for the room, right?" He said there would be some charge because there was nothing wrong with the room. He never had a straight answer for anything. At one point, he admitted there were other rooms available, but they were suites. So I asked, "Yes or no, do you have other rooms you could put us in?" He said, "Since you didn't pay full price for your suite we would not be able to give that to you." To that, I said, "So you're tossing us out on the street with our toddler so you can wait for someone to pay full price?" He actually said, "I can't force you to stay here." Rude! Then he went on about how the hotel was "entirely non-smoking, expect for two rooms." To which I replied, "Then the hotel is not ENTIRELY non-smoking, is it? He kept telling us there would be some charge for the room but he couldn't tell us what. He kept telling us the smoke was probably from outside and I said I suspected it was a ventilation problem. He was unable (or unwilling) to print a receipt of any kind. He said there were other Holiday Inn Express hotels in the area and did not offer to call for us. Cell phone reception was horrid so we had a terrible time getting our smartphones to work so we could look it up ourselves. The stairwell doors were left open, the carpets were filthy, and there were dead wasps outside the room on the floor. The tub stopper was also missing. I read another review for this hotel from two years ago and the tub stopper was missing and smoke was pouring in the room. hmmmm. Sounds like there is a ventilation problem. If you have asthma or if smoke bothers you, do not stay at this place. If rude, unhelpful front desk clerks make you mad, do not stay here. We went 40 miles north and found a Marriott Town Suites in Huntington for $99 a night and the air was clean, the hotel was super clean, the staff was friendly, and the room was $50 cheaper than the junky place we left. At midnight, we were finally able to put our little one to bed. What a night! I called Holiday Inn Priority Club to comment, and it was like pulling teeth to find the correct contact information for hotel comments.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R0adTrip2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2011

Clean, great hospitality, comfy beds, & yummy breakfast. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adeliac06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
321 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

We stayed here on our way through West Virginia. The location is just fine but I would have rather of kept moving on down the road. We found several beetles and a tick in our room and the overall cleanliness was not up to the standard Holiday Inn Express. I would not stay here again if ever in the area.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 63impala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

The service is beyond great. Everyone we encountered was just so pleasant and the General Manager is outstanding!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luvngyrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hurricane
0.7 km away
Hampton Inn Winfield/Teays Valley
13.3 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 4 in Cross Lanes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
11.9 km away
Mardi Gras Casino & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Red Roof Inn Charleston West - Hurricane
13.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Cross Lanes
24.7 km away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Winfield - Teays Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Winfield - Teays Valley

Property: Holiday Inn Express Winfield - Teays Valley
Address: 941 State Route 34, Hurricane, WV 25526-7093 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hurricane)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Hurricane
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hurricane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Winfield - Teays Valley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Teays Valley/Winfield Hotel is located midway between Charleston and Huntington West Virginia; the two largest cities in the state. The hotel is just a short distance from the Toyota Motor manufacturing plant. Marshall University, West Virginia State College, Blenko Glass Factory, and the West Virginia State Capitol Complex are just a short drive from the hotel. We are the only facility within the county to have an indoor pool,unfortunately due to the size of our pool and consideration of our in house guests we do not allow any type of pool parties. Additional hotel features include free local phone calls and a complimentary Express Start continental breakfast. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/pastries, even eggs and bisquits and gravy . We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Hurricane, WV and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Winfield - Teays Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hurricane Hotel Hurricane
Holiday Inn Hurricane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing