We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fine Goat”
Review of The French Goat

The French Goat
Ranked #1 of 54 Restaurants in Lewisburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$30
Description: The French Goat is a casual French style bistro located in the heart of historic Lewisburg. The restaurant offers a menu of classic French dishes with a twist, an eclectic and quality wine list, and handcrafted cocktails, all presented with the most gracious and knowledgeable service. When you dine with us we welcome you and invite you to become part of our family.
Restaurant details
Description: The French Goat is a casual French style bistro located in the heart of historic Lewisburg. The restaurant offers a menu of classic French dishes with a twist, an eclectic and quality wine list, and handcrafted cocktails, all presented with the most gracious and knowledgeable service. When you dine with us we welcome you and invite you to become part of our family.
Reviewed October 14, 2018

Visiting Lewisburg WV is always a pleasure. There are nice shops and several nice restaurants. On this recent trip we chose The French Goat as our destination and we were very pleased. The building is a converted house, and well suited for a restaurant. We were greeted by our knowledgeable waiter who choreographed a perfectly timed dining experience. The menu is contemporary French, with some classics like French onion soup which was delicious. The salads, entrees and desserts were all on point. I particularly liked the wine list which was well selected and very well-priced.
Lewisburg is a lovely small town full of delights; The French Goat is good enough to be at the top of your list for fine dining. There are also other great spots to eat, so be sure to stay in town for a few days.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Douglas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arthur F, Owner at The French Goat, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2018

Thank you for such a kind review Douglas. It was our pleasure to have you visit Lewisburg and join us for dinner. See you on the next trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 146 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2018

It was great to find this little gem in a southeastern WV town. The turn of the last century house was uniquely but tastefully decorated. One room had numerous antique framed mirrors and we were seated by a fireplace with a colorful painting of the French countryside. Our waiter was knowledgable and helpful.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rethot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arthur F, Owner at The French Goat, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2018

Thank you for your comments, it was a pleasure to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 23, 2018 via mobile

Came highly recommended. Easy to find in a pretty country town. Old house setup as a restaurant. Staff was friendly and served us well. Nice menu. We had the soup, salad and cheese plate. Onion soup was very nice as was the cheese. Mains were Ahi Tuna salad, Scallops, and Salomon. All pasted the test and were enjoyed. The scallops came over white beans. Nice change from prior mains. Tuna was cooked just right. The lemon tart was excellent with a nice French press coffee. Wine list was extensive and had a wide price range. Good place to sit and visit with friends.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank robync475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arthur F, Owner at The French Goat, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2018

Thanks Robyn! Great to have served you and we are pleased that you enjoyed everything.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 9, 2018 via mobile

Mes Amies (my friends)! What a charming bistro in a cool small town. You can’t miss this little white corner house with azure blue doors. The inside is so inviting with soft lighting that has beaded and leafy chandeliers. The dining area has period furniture, white shuttered windows and the walls that are painted a soft butter yellow. We each had a cup of French Onion Soup, French Toast made with orange vanilla batter, bacon and potato hash. We topped this off sharing a pistachio gelato. Everything was delicious! Our server was friendly, sociable and very attentive. Debbie, the owner, stopped by our table and was most appreciative for our dining at her place. TIP: To find this restaurant, just look for the white goat outside wearing a chapeau.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Joseph K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arthur F, Owner at The French Goat, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2018

Thank you very much Joseph! We enjoyed serving you and hope will wil stop in again if your travels bring you this way. All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 5, 2018

The town of Lewisburg is unexpectedly charming and historic; its absolutely worth a visit and a look-around. But the key attraction in the whole town must be this restaurant. It features a charming decor, a great kitchen, a fine wine list and a hands-on, eyes-on owner who makes sure things run properly. Impressively, this restaurant was the #1 recommendation of the concierge at the Greenbrier Resort, where we were staying, and those folks know their food.

The restaurant is unpretentious. It is in a small, Victorian-style house on the outskirts of Lewisburg (an easy walk into town). I peered around the ground floor and saw that here are 3-4 small and handsome dining rooms, each holding 5-8 tables. There also is a very attractive outdoor dining area. This is a pretty, gracious, charming venue.

The staff is young, enthusiastic and well-informed. The menu offers a good selection of standard options, all of a French flavor, and there were a few specials offered by the server. I ordered the duck and it was great; my wife went with a shrimp and pasta special which she also enjoyed. The wine list is reasonable, and populated with options from the affordable to the exotic. All in all, it was a delightful meal.

You probably will see Arthur, the owner, who prowls the patio, the dining rooms and kitchen and keeps an eye on everything. He personally spoke with the guests at almost every single table. He was very cordial and is obviously a very sophisticated restaurateur, delivering a complex menu from a tiny kitchen. There is no doubt the success of this dining experience stems from his attention to detail, and it was a pleasure to meet him.

The one down-side of this experience may be unavoidable, but while we were dining a large group of noisy and somewhat inebriated younger diners were delivered by a shuttle bus from the Greenbrier and seated in our room. They were extremely casually dressed and behaved somewhat roughly, in an unbecoming manner ill-suited to the restaurant. With today's lower standards for public decorum, it's hard to know what Arthur or the restaurant might do about this, but perhaps some sort of a dress code might be possible. In any case, we skipped desert and headed back to the car.

Special note: Parking may be an issue when the restaurant is busy. We parked on the street but had to drive around the block a few times. I think but cannot confirm there is a public parking lot up the hill from the restaurant, so this worry may be unfounded.

Dinner for two, with adult beverages, was about $200. While that's a lot of money the quality of the food and the elegance of the service make it a very good value. I've paid a lot more and received less!

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PilotMike2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arthur F, Owner at The French Goat, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2018

Hello Mike,
Thank you for such a great review. The staff works hard every day to ensure guests have a great time and delicious food, I'm just along for the ride. We look forward to the next time your travels bring you back to our little slice of heaven in Lewisburg. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The French Goat also viewed

 

Been to The French Goat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing