We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect to Unplug and Unwind; Great for Groups; Dog Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guesthouse Lost River
Ranked #1 of 3 Lost River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2012

I had heard raves from friends about this place, but the mood, ambiance, and overall experience of the Guesthouse Lost River thoroughly exceeded my expectations. Photos truly don't do it justice.

We turned onto the secluded West Virginia country roads shortly after sunset and during the torrential downpour of a summer thunderstorm. As we made our way up into the hills where the inn is located, we were passing through banks of thick fog. After we turned the last corner, there was a break in the fog, and the glowing warmth of the inn emerged from the darkness and mist: a stunning first impression.

The owner had noticed our approach down the long bumpy driveway and greeted us at the door. He gave us a brief tour of the lodge building and pool area, and led us to our cabin (the Tower suite). We were traveling with our dog, and she was welcomed like she was their own pet.

We booked as part of a group that reserved the entire inn for the weekend. After settling in to our room, we explored the lodge while waiting for friends to finish dinner in the restaurant. The staircase from the reception area/lobby leads to the majority of the lodge public spaces: a "billiard room" (pool table, Scrabble table), a lounge/card room with a beautiful expansive stone fireplace, a study/media room, and another large room that I would call a 'ballroom'--probably great for parties. A large patio and another wraparound deck is accessible off the 'ballroom', providing incredible views of the forest and mountains.

We kept remarking how every inch of the inn is tastefully appointed, clean, and welcoming.

After enjoying a generous pour of a single-malt scotch in the cozy bar attached to the dining room, we learned our group had assembled at the pool deck for the evening's activities. Later, we enjoyed a few cigars poolside before walking a few steps back to our suite.

The next morning, we awoke to the sound of a bell calling us to a country breakfast made from scratch. The breakfast hostess was like a long lost Aunt, pushing the home-made biscuits and incredible hand-made apple-butter to a very receptive crowd. The coffee was strong and rich--we remarked how glad we were that it wasn't the usual substandard "hotel coffee", and the owner mentioned they have a blend shipped from New York for the inn. Bravo!

Though the weather wasn't cooperating, we took refuge in the indoor hot tub/sauna, as well as played pool and cards to pass the time. There was little if any cell phone reception, and though there was passable WiFi access, it was hard for my iPhone to compete with the serenity of sitting back, unplugged from the rest of the world, in one of the many outdoor wooden rocking chairs, and taking in the view.

While having my second cup of coffee on the morning of our departure, I stood at the window of the rustic breakfast room, and my mind wandered. I imagined how gorgeous the rolling hills outside the front of the lodge will look with a dusting of snow in the winter: we'll surely be back to see it.

Room Tip: The Tower Suite is a dog-friendly room, but showed no signs of wear and tear from animals like we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2012

The Guesthouse is a delight.  Photos don’t capture the serenity of the setting or the layout of the property that includes guestrooms as well as several cozy common areas with fireplaces, a large deck for stargazing, a screened porch, a bar, and a gym.  At nine feet deep, the recently renovated swimming pool is a wonderful spot to cool down.  We were fortunate enough to stay in the Suite which is actually a small well- appointed apartment.  It is easily the nicest room we’ve had in all our travels.  The decors in the Suite and throughout the property is beautifully rustic and charming.  A bell rings each morning to announce that a delicious breakfast is ready.  During our visit, the offerings included fruit salad as well as pancakes and sausage or biscuits and gravy.  Our hosts, Gary and Jesse, could not have been friendlier or more accommodating.  Their hospitality turned a wonderful vacation into an unforgettable one.  We are counting the days until our next visit!       

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Hawkinsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

I love to plan getaway weekends at unique and scenic places. I stumbled onto The Guesthouse online, and I am so glad I did. When my friend and I drove up to the place and began walking around - we were amazed. I told her that we'd never be able to describe this slice of paradise and do it justice. The rooms that seem to go on forever, the furnishings, the fireplaces, the decks, the views..... I could go on and on. We really enjoyed ourselves, playing pool, being at the pool, eating and drinking at the lounge and restaurant, the comfy beds, the relaxing atmosphere, the great breakfasts, the accomodating hosts and the interesting guests. Exploring Lost River and the surrounding area was also very enjoyable. I will be going back, and bringing friends and family with me.
Kim and Sharletta - Fairmont, WV

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuesthouseLostRiver, Owner at Guesthouse Lost River, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2012

Kim W,

We love when fellow West Virginians visit us! Since most of our guests come from farther east, it's wonderful when we have visitors who already know about our state choose to pay us a visit. Thank you so much for your kind words about our property. Our cottages and guestrooms aim to provide a home away from home for you to relax and enjoy and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay so much!

Hope to see you both again!

Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

The property was wonderful, very peaceful and beautifully managed. We had a very relaxing visit. Our hosts, Gary and Jesse, were very accomodating and help to make our stay great!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuesthouseLostRiver, Owner at Guesthouse Lost River, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2012

C S,

Thank you for the very nice words about our little slice of "Almost Heaven". Our staff take great pride in making sure that our guests are as comfortable and the grounds are as well maintained as possible. I have passed your words along to our staff and they also join me in thanking you with much gratitude for the description of your stay.

Hope to have you join us again!

Thank you,

Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We only stayed one midweek night (before the two night min in place) but were sad to leave. Upper floor guesthouse rooms have a fabulous view. The floor plan of this place is an experience itself. The furnishings are so well suited too, very simple and understated. Not too cluttered and with good design sense. We travel a lot and this was THE most comfortable bed and the LINENS! so so so soft - I wanted to take them home! We don't stay at b&b's for the breakfast (does anyone?) so we were happy with just a simple start to our day with tasty, fresh ingredients. Wish we could have stayed on the weekend to enjoy the dinner menu as well. Make sure you enjoy all there is to offer from this mountain retreat area (Lost River) with hiking, horseback riding and even yoga so close to the DC area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Somuchmore2explore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuesthouseLostRiver, Owner at Guesthouse Lost River, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2012

Somuchmore,

I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Your description of the grounds and buildings are so well conveyed, we appreciate your thoughtfulness. We think it is an amazing place as well. Midweek stays are a different experience here at the Guesthouse where relaxation is the main goal, not just an afterthought. It seems that many guests just start to get relaxed before the end of their stay, which is why we have the two night minimum during the week now. But any time spent here is always worth the trip!

We definitely look forward to your return and hope to see you again very soon!

Thank you!

Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We loved our stay. Gary and Jesse were perfect hosts. The property was lovely. Food is delicious.
A peaceful and beautiful setting. We look forward to returning. Very nice horseback riding and hiking nearby.

Room Tip: Ask the hosts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovethemountains2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuesthouseLostRiver, Owner at Guesthouse Lost River, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2012

Lovethemountains,

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for sharing your kind words with our future guests. We can't wait to have you visit us again!

Thanks,

Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We spent four days at the Guest House, the owners went out of their way to see that we enjoyed ourselves. The accomadations were impeccable, we slept like logs. Would we stay there damn straight. The food was fantastic and the service was unbeliveable.

Room Tip: Get a suite, they are roomy and decorated very nicely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuesthouseLostRiver, Owner at Guesthouse Lost River, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2012

David,

Thank you so much for your kind words. The Suites are all unique and show the best of what we have to offer our guests. Glad that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to your return.

Thanks,

Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Guesthouse Lost River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Lost River

Address: 288 Settlers Valley Way, Lost River, WV 26810-8392
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Lost River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lost River
Price Range: $208 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come find yourself in Lost River! Whether you're looking for an intimate getaway for two, a celebration with a group of friends or celebrating a life event such as your commitment ceremony or wedding, you've found the right resort with the Guesthouse at Lost River. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Guesthouse At Lost River Hotel Lost River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing