We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (266)
Filter reviews
266 results
Traveller rating
227
35
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
227
35
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest houseother guestsfamily style breakfastgreat weekendthe main housewest virginiacatch up with friendsapple butterfamily weekendcountry breakfastbreakfast is servednooks and cranniesgreat hostsgreat hikingon site restauranthot tubeach morning
Filter
Updating list...
192 - 197 of 266 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2012

The Guesthouse is a delight.  Photos don’t capture the serenity of the setting or the layout of the property that includes guestrooms as well as several cozy common areas with fireplaces, a large deck for stargazing, a screened porch, a bar, and a gym.  At nine feet deep, the recently renovated swimming pool is a wonderful spot to cool down.  We were fortunate enough to stay in the Suite which is actually a small well- appointed apartment.  It is easily the nicest room we’ve had in all our travels.  The decors in the Suite and throughout the property is beautifully rustic and charming.  A bell rings each morning to announce that a delicious breakfast is ready.  During our visit, the offerings included fruit salad as well as pancakes and sausage or biscuits and gravy.  Our hosts, Gary and Jesse, could not have been friendlier or more accommodating.  Their hospitality turned a wonderful vacation into an unforgettable one.  We are counting the days until our next visit!       

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Hawkinsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 26, 2012

I love to plan getaway weekends at unique and scenic places. I stumbled onto The Guesthouse online, and I am so glad I did. When my friend and I drove up to the place and began walking around - we were amazed. I told her that we'd never be able to describe this slice of paradise and do it justice. The rooms that seem to go on forever, the furnishings, the fireplaces, the decks, the views..... I could go on and on. We really enjoyed ourselves, playing pool, being at the pool, eating and drinking at the lounge and restaurant, the comfy beds, the relaxing atmosphere, the great breakfasts, the accomodating hosts and the interesting guests. Exploring Lost River and the surrounding area was also very enjoyable. I will be going back, and bringing friends and family with me.
Kim and Sharletta - Fairmont, WV

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuesthouseLostRiver, Owner at Guesthouse Lost River, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Kim W,

We love when fellow West Virginians visit us! Since most of our guests come from farther east, it's wonderful when we have visitors who already know about our state choose to pay us a visit. Thank you so much for your kind words about our property. Our cottages and guestrooms aim to provide a home away from home for you to relax and enjoy and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay so much!

Hope to see you both again!

Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 25, 2012

The property was wonderful, very peaceful and beautifully managed. We had a very relaxing visit. Our hosts, Gary and Jesse, were very accomodating and help to make our stay great!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuesthouseLostRiver, Owner at Guesthouse Lost River, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

C S,

Thank you for the very nice words about our little slice of "Almost Heaven". Our staff take great pride in making sure that our guests are as comfortable and the grounds are as well maintained as possible. I have passed your words along to our staff and they also join me in thanking you with much gratitude for the description of your stay.

Hope to have you join us again!

Thank you,

Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We only stayed one midweek night (before the two night min in place) but were sad to leave. Upper floor guesthouse rooms have a fabulous view. The floor plan of this place is an experience itself. The furnishings are so well suited too, very simple and understated. Not too cluttered and with good design sense. We travel a lot and this was THE most comfortable bed and the LINENS! so so so soft - I wanted to take them home! We don't stay at b&b's for the breakfast (does anyone?) so we were happy with just a simple start to our day with tasty, fresh ingredients. Wish we could have stayed on the weekend to enjoy the dinner menu as well. Make sure you enjoy all there is to offer from this mountain retreat area (Lost River) with hiking, horseback riding and even yoga so close to the DC area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Somuchmore2explore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuesthouseLostRiver, Owner at Guesthouse Lost River, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Somuchmore,

I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Your description of the grounds and buildings are so well conveyed, we appreciate your thoughtfulness. We think it is an amazing place as well. Midweek stays are a different experience here at the Guesthouse where relaxation is the main goal, not just an afterthought. It seems that many guests just start to get relaxed before the end of their stay, which is why we have the two night minimum during the week now. But any time spent here is always worth the trip!

We definitely look forward to your return and hope to see you again very soon!

Thank you!

Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We loved our stay. Gary and Jesse were perfect hosts. The property was lovely. Food is delicious.
A peaceful and beautiful setting. We look forward to returning. Very nice horseback riding and hiking nearby.

Room Tip: Ask the hosts.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovethemountains2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuesthouseLostRiver, Owner at Guesthouse Lost River, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Lovethemountains,

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for sharing your kind words with our future guests. We can't wait to have you visit us again!

Thanks,

Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews