We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (269)
Filter reviews
269 results
Traveller rating
230
35
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
230
35
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guest house other guests family style breakfast great weekend the main house west virginia catch up with friends apple butter family weekend country breakfast breakfast is served nooks and crannies great hiking great hosts on site restaurant carriage house each morning
Filter
Updating list...
178 - 183 of 269 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Just enjoyed a wonderful weekend at the peak of WVA fall color. Lots of privacy if you want it, but lots to do as well. Good food, good drink, and good company, all at a reasonable price. You won't be sorry.

Room Tip: Our well-behaved mutt enjoyed hanging out in Redbud Cottage.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RLB91150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 21, 2012

My wife and I had our wedding here eariler this month and everything was better than we could ever have dreamt. Here is a little glimspe on all of the componets of this ideal spot:

Owners-
We trusted Gary,Jesse, and Micheal on all of their suggestions and everything turned out perfect. These guys know how the coordinate and organize an event to run smoothly.
Staff-
All of the staff from the bartenders,to the servers, to the cooks, to the housekeepers and everyone else that works there; professionalism and friendliness is all i can say.
Food-
The food that we tasted 2 months before the wedding, tasted exactly the same as the food that was served on our wedding day(which is not always the case). The chef knows how to cook everything and anything because everything was excellent. All of our guests raved about the food.
Setting-
This truley is the most beautiful setting, the way it sits up in the mountains offers great views down through the valley and of all the beautiful scenery around it makes it very peaceful.
Rooms-
Comfortable beds and well done decor. Everything is clean and fresh.

In a nutshell whether its a special occasion or just a weekend getaway the guest house has everything you need to relax and have a great time.

Room Tip: all the rooms have their own unique touch. you cant really go wrong. the only thing i can suggest is if you have a group of people (6-8) then one of the cottages would be your best bet because not only do you have your seperate rooms you also have your own commons area (kitchen, living room etc..)
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 20, 2012

My husband and I just got married at the Guesthouse and they made it so easy! Jesse and Gary are great to work with and the whole staff was excellent all weekend. We didn't worry about a thing and could not stop thanking them for exceeding our expectations over and over again. The bridal suite is gorgeous and the guest rooms were all phenomenal. The property is so beautiful and well decorated that we honestly didn't add a SINGLE thing. The views are ridiculous and since we were there for the whole weekend, our guests got to spread out and enjoy all the awesome nooks and crannies this property has to offer. The Guesthouse is the perfect mix of nature and luxury in one truly special getaway spot. Other reviewers note that photos cannot do it justice and it is the truth. Every inch of the place is tasteful, interesting and cozy. I will be forever grateful that we chose such a magical place to get married and I can't wait to go back for multiple weekend getaways.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank N4864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stayed recently at the Guesthouse for a wedding and thought it was awesome. The room was big, they had Molton Brown bath products, I loved the bar, the exercise room was surprisingly good for a small inn (15 rooms maybe?). They have a gorgeous pool, but it was too cold to enjoy it -- would have been great for cocktails. There are no TVs in the room, but I think I saw at least one, maybe two in the lodge. The whole place is well-done. I was expecting a glorified cabin and was really surprised.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I just came back from a wedding at the Guesthouse Lost River and had a fantastic time. They have created a wonderful atmosphere. The rooms are clean and comfy, but the real treat is the number of living rooms and lounges they have at the lodge.

They also make a great breakfast - ask about the biscuits!

Room Tip: Try to get on the second floor, the view is a bit nicer and probably has more privacy.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samuel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews