We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate with not much to choose from in the area”
Review of New River Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oak Hill
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
New River Inn
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Oak Hill
Reviewed 3 July 2010

With only three hotels in the immediate area of the activities, this is the best equipped with microwave and frig. However, this hotel is the noisiest place we have ever stayed, the walls and floors must be just up to code? Staff will help if asked but are not very friendly. Cleaning staff needs to be much better, some days they just skip your room, others they remove towels without replacing, and very noisey. You just never know until you return for the day and open the door. We suggest a third floor room to help with the noise. And there goes another door slamming! Would recommend with discloser of these bad points..with not much else in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BillC49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2010

We stayed here two nights. The room was so small we had to get an additional room for the second night. We have two teenagers and the four of us barely fit. There was no place to put either suitcase and the bathroom had zero counter space. We had a non-smoking room but half the floor was smoking rooms and the corridor stunk. It didn't help that the maids were smoking also. On the plus side, the beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richbutnot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2009

Rooms were clean, comfortable, average square footage
hot breakfast with sausage, biscuits, eggs, fruit, cereal, and breads.
Fridge in room, microwave.
Pool was closed but looked OK
Location is super! Restaurants close, shopping center, just a few minutes from the long bridge and ACE rafting (which was fabulous!)

Saturday night got a bit loud due to college kids, Sunday was better noise wise.
They were full and didn't service the room 2nd night
Ample parking, view was pretty good.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BuggyStuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2009

What a great surprise, this small town hotel has the big city feel.
We had a king room, looks like it has just been renovated, the bed was super comfortable and the pillows were so comfy I tried to buy them..

Great breakfast bar, something for everyone including some awesome waffles.

You will love this hotel, I am booking my next stay this week.

Staff was very friendly too, they have all the incidentals you will need in the room, shampoo, lotion even a great makeup remover.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fourthofjulybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2009

The reviews had me worried as apparently it has only been a Comfort Inn for a year or so. The old reviews (as a Super 8) ought to be deleted as this is an excellent and different hotel. It is only 10 minutes from the ACE rafting company and a great value. Next door is a strip mall with a Kroger and a CVS and one light north is a newer Wal-Mart with a variety of fast food choices around it. We had two rooms, 4 adults and 5 teenagers and no one was dissapointed. The rooms are small, but clean and quiet. Breakfast was awesome... eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy, etc..A great place for families to hang out after the daily adventures for less cost, than the resort cabins.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sky25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2009

Wow! Cant believe the reviews posted here, they must be old or were made by competitors. This place was fantastic! Its now a Comfort Inn and they have completely upgraded the entire building. It looks new both outside and inside.

After days of staying in dumps in Georgia and North Carolina on our road trip north, we were headed to Fayeteville to visit the New River Gorge. It was late in the day and everyone was ready for a hotel room. We stopped at a HI just south of here, it was old and dated and the parking lot was empty. We went in and were told the rooms were $110 per night. I said no way but the desk clerk wouldn’t give us a better rate, so frugal me headed back to give the bad news to the rest of the gang in the van. They were mad, but I calmed them and suggested we go to the next exit and see what was there, figured we could always come back to the dump.

We drove a few minutes north to Oak Hill and saw a Comfort Inn on the west side of the highway. I went inside and was surprised at how clean and cozy the lobby was. I asked the price and was surprised that it was cheaper than the last dump we stopped at. I then asked to see the room (tip: always ask to see a room, at least they wont give you the key to their worst room). We went up and were shocked!!!! This was the cleanest room we had found on our entire trip north from South Florida. We went back to the desk clerk and grabbed two rooms on the third floor, carried our bags up and and headed down the street for dinner at the Chinese Buffet. The food was good, the price right and the selection extensive. When we got back to the room we found a surprise……………… down comforters and big soft pillows hidden under the covers!!!
We had the best nights sleep of our trip. No loud drunks roaming the hall. This Comfort Inn was well managed and clean and no smell of smoke, musty carpet or the usual cheap hotel odors.

But the best surprise was hidden until the next morning at their little free breakfast room,,,,,,,, biscuits and gravy…….it tasted better than most I have had a Cracker Barrel.
If you don’t stay here while visiting the New Gorge or Fayeteville, you got hosed!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suncoast66Tampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2008

My family stays at this hotel several times a year. It is convenient when visiting relatives and one of the more reasonable rates in the area, and has been since it was a Super 8 a few years ago. The breakfast is basic, but you can make the most of it since it is included in the modest price. The rooms are utilitarian, but this isn't a five-star establishment. My biggest complaint is that the wired internet service hasn't worked in any of the rooms we've stayed in in the past year, and despite complaining about it to the manager, nothing has been fixed, and the only excuse offered up is that it will be fixed when they convert over to a Comfort Inn sometime in the future. two thumbs down on the management addressing an advertised, and expected, feature of the rooms.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank CPolarBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Hill
3.1 km away
Holiday Lodge Hotel & Conference Center
4.5 km away
Quality Inn New River
Quality Inn New River
#1 of 1 in Fayetteville
224 reviews
25.1 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.2 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley
25.4 km away
Hampton Inn Beckley
Hampton Inn Beckley
#2 of 14 in Beckley
558 reviews
18.6 km away
Days Inn Mount Hope
Days Inn Mount Hope
#1 of 1 in Mount Hope
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New River Inn

Address: 9020 Fayette Lndg, Oak Hill, WV 25901-9202 (Formerly Super 8)
Region: United States > West Virginia > Oak Hill
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Oak Hill
Price Range: $75 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 71
Also Known As:
New River Hotel Oak Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing