We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Super 8 by Wyndham Weston WV(Weston)(Great Value!)
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Weston)(Great Value!)
US$93
US$79
QualityInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$137
US$125
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Centennial Motel(Buckhannon)
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baxa Inn(Buckhannon)(Great Value!)
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,388)
Filter reviews
1,388 results
Traveller rating
700
410
161
71
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
700
410
161
71
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire pitgolf coursetj muskiespaddle boatsarnold palmeroutdoor activitiesbeautiful lakewest virginiabreakfast buffethiking trailsstate parkactivity centerthe cottagesoff the menuhot tubgift shoprelaxing weekend
Filter
Updating list...
1,277 - 1,282 of 1,388 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We stayed at Stonewall Resort Lodge in August 2011. We also stayed the previous year in a cottage. We found the lodge rooms to be a bit nicer than the cottages, though the cottages are fine, if you need the space and/or kitchen. We used the Resort Rascals and it was fine for the kids, but quite pricey.
Pros: nice location, beautiful lake, great if you have a boat or rent a boat, decent swimming pool, lodge rooms were updated, clean
Cons: Poor service (particularly the poolside dining service), food is not very good and you don't have other nearby options, bike trails are limited
Suggestions for the resort: get more/better 2-person kayaks and add a few tennis courts. Expand the bike trails.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vacatrip1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StonewallResortMgmt, Manager at Stonewall Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2011

Thank for telling us about your visit and we’re glad you enjoyed your stay. We will share your suggestions with our recreation and culinary teams and make improvements. Actually, the resort just purchased YOLO stand up paddle boards for our guests to enjoy. We hope you can return and try out stand up paddle boarding!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 12, 2011

I spent one night on a school business trip. Outstanding, clean room. The food was outstanding, as was the pool and exercise room. The staff was most helpful. Although somewhat expensive for someone on a teachers salary, I hope to return one day for a family mini-vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WaltonTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StonewallResortMgmt, Manager at Stonewall Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Thank you for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 8, 2011

This is a beautiful campground. The views of the lake & the golf course are stunning. Our camp site was huge (site #40). My only complaint was that we were facing a boat trailer parking lot & our site was BEFORE the sign saying only registered campers beyond this point. That meant that there were a lot of people turning around at our camp site. We didn't like the gravel drive either. Other than that, we loved staying here. For $14 a day for 4 people ($3.50 each person over 4... we are a family of five), you were able to use all the resort facilities. That was really nice. We used the spa for services, the gym, the pool, the kayaks, the paddle boats, the boat cruise on Little Sorrel & my son even spent one morning in camp (which he LOVED). We did drive to the lodge because I felt the roads were too narrow to ride our bikes safely. I'd love to see a bike path to the lodge!! There is a shuttle to take you to & from the lodge which my kids did use a couple of times. We cooked every night so I can't talk about the restaurants. I read in other reviews about no tv or internet... we had both. Maybe that's a recent upgrade but we were happy to have both! I would definately stay here again but I would request a different site.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
2  Thank denross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StonewallResortMgmt, Manager at Stonewall Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2011

Thank you for your review of our resort. It was great to learn that you and your family had a great stay. We appreciate your comments and we have shared them with our staff. Regarding the bike trail to the lodge, we are in the planning stages to add a bike trail that will parallel the road to the lodge and that should be completed in 2012. In addition, we will break ground this fall on a pedestrian bridge over the lake that will directly connect the campground with the lodge. That will be completed by February 2012. We did add free, high speed wireless Internet service to the campground this summer so we are pleased you were able to enjoy that service. We look forward to welcoming you back to our campground again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Just got home from Stonewall Jackson Resort at ummmmm 0222 AM. Why? The room next to us decided to have a huge party. The kept slamming the door, yelling and banging around. We called the front desk and nothing was done. When we decided to check out in the middle of the night, the receptionist asked why the midnight check out. We told her the situation. Her response, "Ok, Bye." No apology, no we can make this right, or any attempt to amend the situation. But in all honesty we were not to disappointed. It just a Holiday Inn on a lake.
Wont be back!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank j2d9g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StonewallResortMgmt, Manager at Stonewall Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2011

I am sorry to hear of the problems you had during your recent stay. Our staff is trained to respond to any noise complaints promptly and remain in the area until quiet is restored. I apologize that this did not happen during your stay. Our General Manager, Mike Hager, would like to speak with you about this and offer his personal apology for what happened. His direct number is [--] or he can be reached at mhager@benchmarkmanagement.com. We hope we can get another chance to earn your business back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Stonewall is a nice getaway anytime of year. The lake/golf/resort setting is relaxing and bueatiful. The guest rooms are still very nice but are nearing the need to be updated if the resort is going to remain a top notch destination. Last but not least ... the food at the resort is outstanding.

Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MarknSue1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StonewallResortMgmt, Manager at Stonewall Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2011

Thank you for the positive review. Our culinary team takes great pride in their work and they really appreciated your comment about our food. We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews