We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort, even in the off season!”
Review of Stonewall Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stonewall Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2011

I was only here for one night, for a conference I was speaking at, but it was a lovely experience. the staff was great, and the room was comfortable, with everything I needed. I would love to come back in the summer to experience the outdoor activities and spa facilities.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malphaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StonewallResortMgmt, Manager at Stonewall Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at our resort! Our staff was excited and proud to read your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Stonewall Resort again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,112 - 1,118 of 1,224 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2011

We stayed at Stonewall Resort Lodge in August 2011. We also stayed the previous year in a cottage. We found the lodge rooms to be a bit nicer than the cottages, though the cottages are fine, if you need the space and/or kitchen. We used the Resort Rascals and it was fine for the kids, but quite pricey.
Pros: nice location, beautiful lake, great if you have a boat or rent a boat, decent swimming pool, lodge rooms were updated, clean
Cons: Poor service (particularly the poolside dining service), food is not very good and you don't have other nearby options, bike trails are limited
Suggestions for the resort: get more/better 2-person kayaks and add a few tennis courts. Expand the bike trails.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vacatrip1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StonewallResortMgmt, Manager at Stonewall Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2011

Thank for telling us about your visit and we’re glad you enjoyed your stay. We will share your suggestions with our recreation and culinary teams and make improvements. Actually, the resort just purchased YOLO stand up paddle boards for our guests to enjoy. We hope you can return and try out stand up paddle boarding!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

I spent one night on a school business trip. Outstanding, clean room. The food was outstanding, as was the pool and exercise room. The staff was most helpful. Although somewhat expensive for someone on a teachers salary, I hope to return one day for a family mini-vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WaltonTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StonewallResortMgmt, Manager at Stonewall Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Thank you for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

This is a beautiful campground. The views of the lake & the golf course are stunning. Our camp site was huge (site #40). My only complaint was that we were facing a boat trailer parking lot & our site was BEFORE the sign saying only registered campers beyond this point. That meant that there were a lot of people turning around at our camp site. We didn't like the gravel drive either. Other than that, we loved staying here. For $14 a day for 4 people ($3.50 each person over 4... we are a family of five), you were able to use all the resort facilities. That was really nice. We used the spa for services, the gym, the pool, the kayaks, the paddle boats, the boat cruise on Little Sorrel & my son even spent one morning in camp (which he LOVED). We did drive to the lodge because I felt the roads were too narrow to ride our bikes safely. I'd love to see a bike path to the lodge!! There is a shuttle to take you to & from the lodge which my kids did use a couple of times. We cooked every night so I can't talk about the restaurants. I read in other reviews about no tv or internet... we had both. Maybe that's a recent upgrade but we were happy to have both! I would definately stay here again but I would request a different site.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
2  Thank denross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StonewallResortMgmt, Manager at Stonewall Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2011

Thank you for your review of our resort. It was great to learn that you and your family had a great stay. We appreciate your comments and we have shared them with our staff. Regarding the bike trail to the lodge, we are in the planning stages to add a bike trail that will parallel the road to the lodge and that should be completed in 2012. In addition, we will break ground this fall on a pedestrian bridge over the lake that will directly connect the campground with the lodge. That will be completed by February 2012. We did add free, high speed wireless Internet service to the campground this summer so we are pleased you were able to enjoy that service. We look forward to welcoming you back to our campground again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Just got home from Stonewall Jackson Resort at ummmmm 0222 AM. Why? The room next to us decided to have a huge party. The kept slamming the door, yelling and banging around. We called the front desk and nothing was done. When we decided to check out in the middle of the night, the receptionist asked why the midnight check out. We told her the situation. Her response, "Ok, Bye." No apology, no we can make this right, or any attempt to amend the situation. But in all honesty we were not to disappointed. It just a Holiday Inn on a lake.
Wont be back!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank j2d9g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StonewallResortMgmt, Manager at Stonewall Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2011

I am sorry to hear of the problems you had during your recent stay. Our staff is trained to respond to any noise complaints promptly and remain in the area until quiet is restored. I apologize that this did not happen during your stay. Our General Manager, Mike Hager, would like to speak with you about this and offer his personal apology for what happened. His direct number is [--] or he can be reached at mhager@benchmarkmanagement.com. We hope we can get another chance to earn your business back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Stonewall is a nice getaway anytime of year. The lake/golf/resort setting is relaxing and bueatiful. The guest rooms are still very nice but are nearing the need to be updated if the resort is going to remain a top notch destination. Last but not least ... the food at the resort is outstanding.

Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MarknSue1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StonewallResortMgmt, Manager at Stonewall Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2011

Thank you for the positive review. Our culinary team takes great pride in their work and they really appreciated your comment about our food. We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Our family of five adults thoroughly enjoyed the relaxing time at the Stonewall Resort. This was our second visit. The rooms were very clean and the staff was accommodating and friendly. We rented the pontoon boat on two different days and had a great time swimming in the lake. The scenery is just beautiful! We liked the choices of the breakfast buffet at Stillwaters Restaurant but felt the dinner buffet could be improved. We had light fare at Lightburn's Restaurant and thought the service and food were good. Some of the kayaks were not in good condition and this area could be updated with newer boats. There were plenty of chairs in the pool area and though it is small, it never seemed overly crowded. Our group had a great time and plan on returning in the future.

Room Tip: The resort has various specials thoroughout the season. You can get better rates if you have flexib...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovetotravel60722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StonewallResortMgmt, Manager at Stonewall Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2011

Thank you for your review of our resort! We read your review at our staff meeting and it really inspired our team. We take your suggestions about the restaurant and recreation seriously and will take action in both areas. We look forward to welcoming you back to Stonewall Resort again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roanoke
10.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Weston
10.0 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 3 in Weston
153 reviews
31.5 km away
Days Inn & Suites Sutton Flatwoods
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 km away
Hampton Inn Buckhannon
Hampton Inn Buckhannon
#2 of 7 in Buckhannon
318 reviews
39.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Garden Inn
#1 of 3 in Clarksburg
455 reviews
38.8 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gassaway/Sutton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonewall Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonewall Resort

Address: 940 Resort Dr, Roanoke, WV 26447-8469
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Roanoke
Price Range: $196 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stonewall Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stonewall Resort combines the pristine surroundings of Stonewall Jackson Lake with all the comforts of home. Here, in the midst of lush, rolling hills and tranquil lake waters, the beautiful Adirondack-style lodge offers a refreshing perspective, state-of-the-art conference facilities and a luxury resort experience. From the resort's own Mtn. Laurel Spa, 374-slip boat marina and award-winning Arnold Palmer Signature Golf Course, guests can enjoy a wide range of recreational activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Stonewall Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonewall Hotel Roanoke
Stonewall Resort Roanoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing