We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place...No Frills”
Review of Stonewall Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stonewall Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2012

The Stonewall Jackson Lodge is a no frills resort hotel located in the beautiful mountains of West Virginia. Rooms are clean, comfortable and adequate in size. Nice flat screen TV's in the rooms. Wireless internet connection is dependent upon your room's location. Customer service was average. The spa staff were very nice, but the little extra's that you usually find at a spa were lacking. Only coffee/tea/water were available. The breakfast buffet in Stillwaters was terrific. Many items to choose from (hot and cold) and all were delicious. The omelet station (which also made fresh waffles) was a treat! We had dinner in TJ Muskies. Food was very good and reasonably priced for a resort. Stillwaters offered a dinner buffet ($25 per person), but since we're not big eaters, we didn't try it. The hotel was pretty full and the restaurants got full pretty quickly. Reservations are advised. But note... you can eat outside and order off the Stillwaters or TJ Muskies menus. Pool area is nice, but they could use a few more lounge chairs. There is no beach area on the lake. As far as resort activities.... The lake is the big draw. There is a $15 per day fee to use all recreational facilities. The Park has many hiking trails, for all ability levels. The Chipmunk Trail is about 2 miles round trip. We saw many deer close up during our hike. They offer free use of their kayaks, canoes, paddle boats, and paddle boards, as well as a one hour free boat tour of the lake in the evening. The recreation center leaves much to be desired. The miniature golf was just okay. There is a small climbing wall and video type games. During our one rainy afternoon, there wasn't much to do at the resort. They offer no organized indoor recreation activities during the day or in the evening. In addition, there is minimal evening entertainment. I should note that they do light a fire in the evening and sell s'mores kits. There is a free shuttle service to the recreation area and the golf course.
We are not sure whether we would return here. We don't feel that we received the level of service and amenities that were commensurate with the price that we paid.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake are nice. Try not to stay near the elevator, because of the sound it makes ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrefs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StonewallResortMgmt, Manager at Stonewall Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write. We appreciate your thorough review of our resort. I would like to say that our recreation center is a work in progress and you can expect us to add more features over time. A non profit foundation has been formed to help raise money for park improvements that can be enjoyed by our future guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,049 - 1,055 of 1,224 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2012

Spent three nights at this beautiful resort with friends and really was pleasantly surprised at how nice it was. We have stayed at many different types of high end resorts and this is very nice. Beautiful lake, boating, golfing, dining, and relaxing. Except for a small hiccup at check in ( rooms not ready- check in guy was not so nice), everyone was so pleasant, helpful and kind. Enjoyed a pontoon boat rental from the marina and took our lunch with us on the boat, so peaceful and relaxing. Guys enjoyed the Arnold Palmer golf course, we all enjoyed a hike through one of the state park trails, paddle boated, sat by the fire in the evening.Just overall enjoyable. For the low price, this place was very good , with lots of activities for all.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
Thank EMR97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StonewallResortMgmt, Manager at Stonewall Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write. We appreciate your compliments. It means a lot to our staff. Come back and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

This was my family's third visit to Stonewall Resort. Each time we visit, I am always impressed with the lodge. You can tell a lot of time and effort were put into the design and amenities. Before our visit, I did read other reviews from people who expressed concerns about customer service though, and I am sorry to report that we also had some issues that marred what otherwise would have been a lovely stay.

We arrived at 2pm to check into our three bedroom cottage. We were told that check-in wasn't until 4pm, and that our cottage wasn't ready yet, but to check back "in a little bit". We understood and went to hang out at the pool. Now, I know that "technically" check-in isn't until 4:00pm because it takes time to clean from departing guests, but coming from the hotel industry myself, I also know that when a guest arrives early, hotel staff can and should do everything possible to try and get their room/cottage ready when they know the guest is there and waiting. We checked back at 2:30 and again at 3:00pm. "Still not ready" was ther response each time. When I asked how much longer, the response from the front desk was "we don't know"'. I also noticed one ever bothered to find out by either calling housekeeping or sending someone over to physically check the cottage or help finish the cleaning. In my past life as a hotel manager, I was known to personally jump in and clean rooms when I knew a guest was waiting. Checked back again at 3:45, "still not ready" and by this point I was getting beyond frustrated. Miraculously, exactly at 4pm, our cottage was ready. Hmmm...

During this time, my hotel instincts told me that no one bothered to check with housekeeping to see if it was ready before 4. Why? Because I actually drove down to the cottages myself at 3pm and saw that housekeeping had already finished it and was several cottages away. Why make us wait until 4 unless you just couldn't be bothered to call houskeeping to see if in fact it was ready early which it looked to me like it was?

On a positive note, the cottage was beautiful, dinner at the golf course restaurant was fabulous and my kids loved the pool, although they were disappointed that there is a new rule that kids under 12 couldn't use the hot tub.

I just wish they would try to go a little "above and beyond" in their customer service, the staff just didn't seem to care.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmmanLukesMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StonewallResortMgmt, Manager at Stonewall Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Stonewall Resort. We appreciate your feedback and we take your comments seriously. Our leadership team met as a group this summer to discuss how we can improve our communication and teamwork so we can handle these situations better in the future. We hope we can welcome you back for another visit soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Just got back from a nice trip to this resort. The room was a good size, clean and comfortable. The only bad thing was that the room did not have a mini-fridge in it. This forced you to buy from the resort, at two dollars a soda. We ate at both restaurants and the food was good but over priced, same for the five dollar Beers. Pool is a good size, but like other people said expect to have other people in the pool. If you want a couples vacation go to someone that is smaller and specializes. To think that you are going to go to a resort like this and be alone is foolish. Besides the pool there is also great hiking, kayaking and canoeing. Did not play golf. Also there is a $15 per day resort fee on top of room cost. So use the "free" amenities. I don't mean to sound cheep but over $500 for two days, three nights was high for what I received in return.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Aloisius1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StonewallResortMgmt, Manager at Stonewall Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Stonewall Resort. We appreciate your feedback and take your comments seriously. Our staff is committed to providing a good value for the price paid and your comments have challenged our team to make sure we are always delivering a good value. We hope we can welcome you back to Stonewall again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We stayed here for one night on the way home from Myrtle Beach. Our plan was to pick a place that the kids could have as much fun as they wanted to before we drove the last 5 hours back home. Because the resort is rated 4-star, I expected a higher class facility. The entire property was clean and enjoyable, just not quite what we hoped for. We stayed in a room in the lodge. The room was small. The bathroom was well fitted-good lighting, great water pressure, nice towels. The beds were quite uncomfortable. There is absolutely nothing else in the area so you are forced to eat in their restaurants. There are not even any restaurants at exit 91 at I-79 so know that you are captive to their food selection! We ate dinner at the golf course restaurant...very good dinner and average pricing. We all had the breakfast buffet for $14. Very good selection of buffet items. Was worth $14. The hot tubs and fire pit areas were totally taken over by large groups/families. The 5 of us could not use those areas because we were not part of the groups. Very unwelcome feeling. The property was nicely maintained and could be a lot of fun if in a big group, it was just not our "cup of tea." We came from a five-star resort in Myrtle Beach and this was just quite the same!! The pics on their web site definately make it appear nicer than it really is. It was fine for one night, but we would certainly not return. Their are definately nicer vacation choices available!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loveisbliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StonewallResortMgmt, Manager at Stonewall Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Stonewall Resort. We appreciate your candid feedback. We seek to continually improve and our team is committed to create memorable experiences for each and every one of our our guests. We are sorry we did not meet your expectations this time but we do hope we can welcome you back on a future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We have been to the Stonewall resort numerous times and have always been pleased with the property. Clean rooms, very nice lobby with fireplace and a good (but pricey) restaurant. There is TJ Muskie for a lighter meal however it's quite small and on this trip was impossible to get a seat.There is a third restaurant, Lightburns, but it is not open year round.
As others have pointed out it is in a remote location and dining off site will involve a trip of at least 30 minutes(Jane Lew to the north, Flatwood to the south) so most likely you will use the in-house dining facilities,

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geopa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StonewallResortMgmt, Manager at Stonewall Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2012

Thank you for being a frequent guest at Stonewall Resort! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Google maps had us going south on I64 / 77 instead of I79. There is a notice about this on their website but needs to be much more prominent on front page, as many people use GPS and Google maps. Beautiful scenery, many things to do there but service is lacking for a resort of this quality. Had a lake-view room. Lounge / bar with billiards was always freezing; a server argued with me that they couldn't or wouldn't raise the temps. Food is overpriced - we went into Weston for restaurants and a Walmart stop for room and pool snacks. The restaurant up by the golf course is worth the shuttle ride. Went whitewater rafting on Gauley River 1 1/2 hrs south of hotel; was a blast!

Room Tip: Ask for lake-view room on 2d floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sydney L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StonewallResortMgmt, Manager at Stonewall Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2012

Thank you for taking to write about your experience. We appreciate your feedback and we have been able to take action on the issues you mentioned. Thank you for bringing them to our attention and please come back and stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roanoke
10.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Weston
10.0 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 3 in Weston
153 reviews
31.5 km away
Days Inn & Suites Sutton Flatwoods
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 km away
Hampton Inn Buckhannon
Hampton Inn Buckhannon
#2 of 7 in Buckhannon
318 reviews
39.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Garden Inn
#1 of 3 in Clarksburg
455 reviews
38.8 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gassaway/Sutton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonewall Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonewall Resort

Address: 940 Resort Dr, Roanoke, WV 26447-8469
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Roanoke
Price Range: $192 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stonewall Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stonewall Resort combines the pristine surroundings of Stonewall Jackson Lake with all the comforts of home. Here, in the midst of lush, rolling hills and tranquil lake waters, the beautiful Adirondack-style lodge offers a refreshing perspective, state-of-the-art conference facilities and a luxury resort experience. From the resort's own Mtn. Laurel Spa, 374-slip boat marina and award-winning Arnold Palmer Signature Golf Course, guests can enjoy a wide range of recreational activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Stonewall Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonewall Hotel Roanoke
Stonewall Resort Roanoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing