We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Only place for a large group to stay at on the...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Stemwinder - 9

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Snowshoe, West Virginia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Colin P
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Only place for a large group to stay at on the mountain”
Reviewed March 22, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We had a group of 8 adults and two young children. We spent a great amount of time researching where to stay and then discovered Stemwinder 9. It is the perfect condo in the perfect location. The reasons this place is so fantastic are as follows in no particular order:
1. Ski in ski out
2. Place is huge with ample room for four couples and two kids to stretch out
3. Walking distance to almost everything including the village and big top. On the first night there I put my son on a sled and walked 1
Minute across a parking lot and into the big top.
4. Amazing views with wrap around deck
5. Place truly does come stocked with the products advertised
6. Kip Darling is very responsive and will be sure to take care of you if anything comes up.
7. Etc. etc.

Whenever we go back to snowshoe this is the only place we wil stay. Only tip would be don't park in the lower parking spots right in front of the condo unless you have 4x4. You will get stuck down there in the snow. Just park 50 feet away on the right after you come through the gate.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad S
1 review
“We really enjoyed Stemwinder 9. We definitely would like to stay here again.zi”
Reviewed March 5, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

A few issues included.
Wifi major issue with my family. Connection was limited and very poor. Everyone unwinds at night on their iPad and this was a downer for the group. The land line was not working at all. We needed a phone as we have responsibility for elder grandparents that needed our day to day communication. This posed a problem.
The drain in the master bathroom upstairs did not work so we could not use the jacuzzi bathtub.
Otherwise we really enjoyed the place!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Mar 2016
During the stay of this guest a telephone/internet service interruption occurred, a utility matter beyond our control. The underground cable was replaced shortly after this guests departure and is no longer an issue. During the off-season the master bathroom tub/shower/drain assembly is being changed. It requires carpentry and opening up a bathroom wall and was not something we could accomplish while the guest was in-house. We regret their inconvenience.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conner18
Huntsville, Alabama
1 review
“Awesome condo!”
Reviewed February 17, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Stemwinder 9 was so much better than the description and pictures. It is huge. We had six adults, a teenager, and three kids. So much space we could be together or have our own space. The view was beautiful. Could see the lake from the balcony. Nice to come back to a warm and cozy place after a day of skiing. We've stayed In many condos and this one was stocked better than any we've ever stayed in. Looking forward to coming back next year! Jane Sucic

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy P
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“All you ever look for in a rental and more!”
Reviewed February 3, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

A Great, convenient condo to the village and slopes. Fabulous location, amazing view, clean and tidy unit with all the amenities. The unit was advertised with additional conveniences. Perfect for weekend or week long stay. Rental agency is by far one of the easiest and most responsive place of business to work with. This was our second year in a row and we'll be back again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wscurtis
South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best, most convenient ski in/out location in Snowshoe”
Reviewed February 19, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Had perfect accommodations at Stemwinder 9 with three families. Accommodations were exactly as advertised, and perfect for 5 adults and total of 6 teenagers. Kitchen was awesome and plenty large enough for our party of 11. Large capacity fridge, freezer, large dining room table. The "game table" was well suited for the 4 teenage boys to have meals while the rest of us enjoyed meals at the large dining room table. Probably the best accommodations I have had as far as the 4 sofa arrangement. Plenty of room for the adults to gather in front of the fire place, and the kids to hang out in other area of living room with large TV. All other units I have enjoyed are usually short on sofa space. The beds were very, very comfortable; bedrooms large. Can not beat the location, true ski in/out and very short walk to the Village. Bus stops for shuttle to Silver Creek very close, and walk across the street to Western Territory. I hate to share my good review because someone else may try and book for my same time next year! The unit was very clean, comfortable and great views from the many windows. Very open floor plan. There are two full baths upstairs which were shared by all. We did banish the teenage boys to the downstairs half bath which helped. Enjoyed meeting Kip when he stopped by to check on things and to be sure that we were comfortable. Have been staying in Snowshoe and Silver Creek for past 6 years and no one can beat Kip's check in/out procedure. Best accommodations I have had and will definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Open floor plan, 4 sofas, windows, modern kitchen, location, location, location
Liked least: 3 full baths would have been nice but how many showers do teenage boys really take anyway?
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie C
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome Condo”
Reviewed December 27, 2013 for a stay in December 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Stemwinder9. We loved all of the open space and all the windows! The views were breath taking! We felt at home and all the amenities were exceptional! I would definitely recommend the Stemwinder 9. I look forward to our next stay. Thank you for the hospitality!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space and and the views
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing