We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”
Review of Allegheny Springs

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Allegheny Springs
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We came up to snowshoe with a group of friends, but wanted our own place for the weekend. Thus, we splurged for a studio at Allegheny Springs, and we weren't disappointed. Our condo was on the top floor and featured impressive high ceilings. The room was clean and comfortable. Our balcony overlooked the heated outdoor swimming pool and hot tub. The gas fireplace was also a nice touch.

The outdoor swimming pool and outdoor hot tub are super nice, though getting out into the freezing cold is tough. It was only 10 degrees at night, and ice was forming on wet hair. On the ground floor is a ski storage locker for guests. One of the selling points for Allegheny Springs is a concierge, which we didn't use much. All staff were super friendly and professional.

The best part of this building is location. It is smack dab in the middle of the village. Walk out the ski storage locker room and you are only a few steps from the top of the slopes. Need to take a break from skiing? You're back in your room before everyone else even boards the shuttle.

The only downside? Parking is a bit far away. Because everyone seems to be checking in and out at the same time, the front of the hotel becomes quite chaotic when you're trying to leave. Valet parking is available, but at $20 it is ridiculously overpriced.

BTW, cell phone service is really spotty to non-existent on Snowshoe Mountain. The advertised WI-Fi internet never worked the entire weekend.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank adventuretravelernc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
There are newer reviews for Allegheny Springs
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2012

The units are owned by individuals so each one seems to be different. We stayed in a 1br (224) and it was kept up well with everything we needed. It had a blender, toaster oven, LCD TV, etc. so we were all set. The building is in a great location- right in the Village area and walking distance to a bunch of restaurants. Foxfire was our favorite. I drank about a hundred Miller Lites and did some hungover snowboarding. The Connection night club was fun- lots of Patron shots lead to a rough ride home on Sunday.

Room Tip: Room 224 was nice...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GroverT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

we stayed at soaring eagle last year and while we enjoyed it, it's very expensive and very isolated. i don't like waiting 15 minutes each way for a bus when it's in the single digits, just to go eat somewhere. I wanted to be adjacent to the Village this year and Allegheny springs is just perfect, location wise.
I also appreciate that the rooms are about 95% as nice as soaring eagle--maybe some of the furniture here isn't leather and the countertops aren't granite or italian marble--but it was a nice 1 bedroom that was cheaper than a studio at soaring eagle.
it IS noisy. seems like kid central here, and they are making themselves at home in the hot tubs, pool, and sauna. walls are thin, noise carries, but soaring eagle was the same way.
the common room is nice, just as nice as soaring eagle.
i'm not sure what the whiners are looking for in a platinum property. true, i've never been skiing out west but i don't need gold plated bathroom fixtures and a michelin rated restaurant when i ski.
for me, location is the main perk here. it's so nice to be 50 feet away from all the dining.
there is a heated locker room, and the slopes are 20 feet out the door.
we'd stay here again. we certainly prefer it to soaring eagle, esp now that ember is closed. i wish it was quieter--we're here mid week in February--but i'll trade quiet for convenience. just bring a noise machine to help you sleep.
lastly, we rented thru vrbo, not snowshoe itself.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mowgliworf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

This was a great location at snowshoe. Kitchen in the condo was nice to have. The basement level has lockers to store your skis and then you walk out to the slopes. The condo is situated in the village so everything is so close. Starbucks, restaurants and a few shops.

One thing I would like to see change is the bed (not much support) and the comforter (old style - likely not washed after guests check out.

Room Tip: first floor has a back door leading directly to pool.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hitTHEbeachFUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Snowshoe bills this as their Platinum level property - if you're thinking the Ritz think again. The location is fabulous, centrally located to the ski slopes, restaurants, shopping and the shuttle bus to Silver Creek (night skiing). We have stayed here four years in a row, in a one-bedroom condo, primarily because of the location and the fact that the lodge itself is beautiful - it has a nice sitting area with a fireplace and it's own pool and hot-tub. The problem is the furnishings. We stayed at a Motel 8 on our drive up and it was basically the same. Cheap furniture, cheap mattresses, cheap bedding, old TV's, etc. It is nice to have the separate bedroom and the kitchen is great for eating breakfast in. Worth the money based on the ski resort location but don't expect too much in the room.

Room Tip: The 4th floor rooms have high vaulted ceilings. Either go for Mountain or Pool view as Village view...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaggieSummerville123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

After reading the reviews from this web site it almost scared me away from the place. We are a Late 20's early 30's couple who have stayed all over the world in good, great, and bad lodging. We went up for a couple days between x mas and new years to do some skiing. I expected horrible service and a dirty, small room for a high price. Well the price was a bit steep but you pay for the location and the holiday week. The room was a 1 bdr apt on the 4th floor and was just as the pictures on their website portrayed it. Nothing special but a decent amount of space with a full kitchen and bath and a seperate bedroom. Also a decent sized balcony over looking outdoor heated pool and hot tub and a gas fireplace below the tv. My room was very clean. The bed could have been better but was comfortable enough and the room was spacious. The service at the front desk was prompt when they got to the phone. usually had to let it ring for a minute or 2 before they answer. Also the valet was right on time when we needed the car to go to silver creek for night skiing. took the shuttle the first night and it was way to crowded.

At the restaurants your best bet is to sit at the bar as we quickly learned. The service is not stellar but we ended up making friends with the bartenders and were taken care of. Even if you dont find them friendly the service is still better as they can see when your drink is gone. The one night we sat at a table the service was slow. Being that we were both in the service industry through college we could understand as it was a holiday week.

skiing is fantastic. we got 6 inches while we were there and the trails are probably the best south of vermont and east of colorado.

Room Tip: I believe the 4th floor is the only floor with vaulted cielings
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mike j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

This place is deceiving, when you first arrive the building's exterior, location, lobby and personnel were great which is why I didn't give the place a lower rating. The room was terrible, it was dirty, the mattress was terrible and very small. The bedspread looked dirty and very old and the place still has a tube tv. Would not recommend and the price at the Inn from what I understand is a much better value. Honestly, will probably never return to the resort, not impressed at all.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
Thank Nationallparks1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Snowshoe hotels
0.1 km away
Rimfire Lodge Condos
Rimfire Lodge Condos
#3 of 24 in Snowshoe
92 reviews
0.2 km away
Expedition Station
Expedition Station
#8 of 24 in Snowshoe
62 reviews
1.2 km away
Soaring Eagle Lodge
Soaring Eagle Lodge
#1 of 24 in Snowshoe
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Seneca Condos
Seneca Condos
#4 of 24 in Snowshoe
39 reviews
0.1 km away
Mountain Lodge Condos
Mountain Lodge Condos
#20 of 24 in Snowshoe
85 reviews
0.2 km away
Leatherbark Condos
Leatherbark Condos
#15 of 24 in Snowshoe
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allegheny Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allegheny Springs

Address: 10 Snowshoe Dr, Snowshoe Mountain, Snowshoe, WV 26291-1201
Region: United States > West Virginia > Snowshoe
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Snowshoe
Price Range: $200 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Allegheny Springs 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located slopeside, adjacent to the Ballhooter Lift, Allegheny Springs features standard rooms, studio, one, two and three bedroom units offering high quality furnishings and amenities including internet access. Units feature fully equipped kitchen, gas fireplaces and balcony (standard units do not have kitchen, fireplace or balcony; junior studio units do not have a full kitchen, and only a select few of these units will have fireplace or balcony.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Allegheny Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allegheny Springs Condos At Snowshoe Mountain Hotel Snowshoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing