We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was good to be back.”
Review of The Greenbrier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Greenbrier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We spent three nights at The Greenbrier in late February as part of their Tribute to the Virginias promotion. This is our fifth visit to the resort; most have come as part of this promotion while others have been at full price. Regardless of what you pay, you are treated like royalty. I will agree that it was disappointing to find some of the restaurants closed due to the "off season" but the food at Prime 44 West and the Main Dining Room was wonderful. On our trip to the Main, I was disappointed that their famous braised short ribs weren't on the menu. No worries...our servers got in touch with Prime 44 and viola: we had short ribs as a special appetizer the next evening. That is five-star service.

My husband was able to play two rounds of golf and I visited their five-star spa...it never disappoints!

Can't wait to go back...

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mcd630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,642)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,145 - 2,151 of 2,642 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2012

well maintained, beautiful area. didn't get to golf due to weather

Thank Robyn619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We were lucky to get reservations during their February Virginian Tribute rate. It is a rate that is about 1/6 the cost of a normal stay. This cost was great for us even though some of the activities that would normally be happening were not being offerred due to the lay off of some of their staff during their down season. (activities I didn't see but would like to have seen - swimming, the Forum Restaurant being open, the Main Dining Room being open for dinner, the bowling alley, the theater showing movies). {the hotel charges $35 a day resort fee for these but they weren't being offered. I thought the resort activity fee should have been removed since nothing was being offerred}.
Our trip from Charleston WV took about 2 hours. We stopped in Lewisburg to eat at Food And Friends - its on main street and a really great place to eat. We eat at Food and Friends every time we visit this area. There is also a WalMart in the area to pick up something you might have forgotten.
From Lewisburg it is about 10 minutes back on the interstate. Look for White Sulfur Spring signs on the highway. The property is massive in size and very well kept. You will turn Left to get to the gated security area where they give you a car pass and tell you to drive to the front of the building. Driving to the front of the hotel is were the valet are. They take your car and charge you $20 a day to leave it parked on the front lot. We took the right sided road around the hotel and went into the back area. This is were all the rooms and elevators and shops are. The back of the hotel looks exactly like the front, only on a smaller scale. There are lots of free parking there and its close to the hotel.
We checked in our lovely room 3112, corner room with tulip flowered wall paper in yellow, red, pink, purple and green stems/leaves with white bedding that had a red roses duvet on the bed. 2 comfy cloth chairs in bright red were in the center of the room. The carpet was green and the curtains light blue. Somehow all these bright colors came together to make an elegant room and one that was comfortable and very eye appealing. Your shower/tub combination has tiles that are rodedendron flowers. The rooms and bathroom were adequate size. Large walk in closet with safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Room had coffee maker (you must request this) and a refridgerator that is stocked. You may use what is stocked, but it is costly. Our room was so eye appealing and the bed so comfortable that we almost stayed in that evening - but we went exploring. So many shops to go in: candy making, toy store, kids clothes, WV hand made art store, clothing stores for men and women, shoe store, purse store, kitchen gadgets store, Greenbrier souviner store, Vera Bradley store, intimates store, golf store, florist shoppe and jewelry stores - just to name a few. Its like a two story mall. The coffee shop is in the middle of the mall, has pasteries, sandwiches, fruit, lattes, and the BEST coffee. You smell it when you go walking by and the next thing you know.... you are buying a cup!
Evening one: We ate at Dorthy Drapers (decorated like an ice cream shop with a large seclection of food items not found in most ice cream shops) - the cream brulee is awesome. I also had the mile high nachos, fun to eat and very tasty. The Brunswick stew is yummy. The wait staff and their assistants have their venue down to a fine art. When to approach, when to wait, when to suggest and then treat you like family. The Main Dining Room was only open for breakfast. The breakfast bar is very extensive with probably 100 items on it. Not sure I could even think of one thing the breakfast bar lacked. It was $27 and included the breakfast bar, fresh squeezed orange or grapefruit juice or any other type of juice they had availaible. And coffee or milk. You could also order off the menu. They had a kids menu as well. We spent this day just walking around to the different areas of the hotel seeing all the fireplaces, sitting areas, conference rooms, exploring it all. The staircases in this hotel are awesome. Each landing has bowed ceiling to floor glass doors with draperies and bows. Amazing to see and you think how on earth do these colors look so fabulous together - and they do look fabulous together. My husand and my mother toured the bunker this afternoon. $30 each, about 1 1/2 hour walking tour. Lots of walking and lots of steps to walk. Dinner that night was at Jerry West Steak House - you DO need reservations and gentlemen must wear a suit jacket - women dress in fancy dress or slacks outfits. Dinner at Jerry West was expensive, on our tab: 6 oz filet, baked potato, 8 oz filet, lobster mashed potatoes, french onion soup and was about $200.00 counting tip. You get free bread with your meal (the bacon/onion rolls were the best). Next time, we are gonna order a bit different. The baked potatoes are the size of a large mans shoe. I could only eat 1/3 of it, but finished all my steak. My husband thought the lobster mashed potatoes were just 'OK' and won't order them again, so we will each order a steak, split a potato and split a salad. Lots of others were doing that and lots were having to leave food at the table cause the portions were so big. I will say that the food was very good - worth the cost - and we will return to eat there for our next stay. Not much to do after dinner because they have all the activities shut down due to low staff volume - so we walked around the shops again (helping our dinner to digest). We also watched horse/carriage rides and ice skaters on the skating ring.
The next morning we checked out after another wonderful buffett breakfast at the main dining room. We drove all over the property to take in the sights and ended up at their cute little Christmas shop that is across the street from the security building. We had a great time here, relaxing and will be back next year. Its a Gem of a Place close to home.
I can not comment enough on how nice the staff were. They were attentive and helpful and engaged you in conversations that you felt they were really interested in hearing about. Our housekeeper - LORI - was super! Our first night, we had rose pedals spread on our bed in the shape of a heart and a little night light to take home with us - little touches like that keep guests coming back.
Thanks to Mr Justice who took this mammoth hotel on and turned it into a wonderful vacation destination (we saw people from all over the USA vacationing). We didn't go to the casino, but it looked busy.
And Mr Justice: if you are reading - you should do something extra for each of your employees, they go above and beyond what hotel/wait staff/housekeepers/bellman/shop keepers do in other places I have vacationed.
Another BIG MAJOR plus for us - its all non smoking. We saw smokers standing out in the smoking area, it was heated and kept clean looking.

Room Tip: 3112 was a corner room, had a door (locked) into another room with my mothers room on the other side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Robyn619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

If you are comfortable with the fact that you may be the only Democrat in the place and that a jacket is required for men even just to leave your room after 7pm, then the fancy living during your stay will be well worth the money. The amount of activities in this place is incredible, but many cost extra. We didn't make it I time for falconry but we did do afternoon tea and concert and ballroom dance showcase (both free) upon arrival. We also did some skeet shooting at the Gun Club and took advantage of the awesome pool and bowling alley. The entire place is ridiculously gorgeous and there is no doubt about that, but it made me a little uncomfortable that there is a dress code. I HATE dressing up, especially on vacation...and you pretty much felt out of place if you didn't dress up. Many people even wear khakis and dress shirts for breakfast! It was also a little off-putting that there was literally only white people here. The nuclear bunker tour is awesome...I highly recommend it. Overall, if "fancy" is what you are going for, this place won't disappoint. They are highly focused on awesome customer service and an experience that will make you feel rich even if you aren't.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Everything that we put in our mouth's was absolutely fabulous. We had a wonderful experience. The food and wait staff were excellent. The lobster mashed potatoes were my favorite. It is pricy, but after all you are at the Greenbier, treat yourself. You won't forget it.

    • Value
1  Thank Snoopy1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

As Robert Conte, the Greenbrier historian, has often said, "The Greenbrier has never been affordable." Even in February midweek, the tab adds up, but there are some substantial discounts to gain entry when you visit in winter. Imagine a value vacation at the Greenbrier! But with the continuing promotions like 'Tribute to the Virginias' and players' club events from Casino Club, your experience can be one that is within reach for an impetuous visit.

The Casino Club has now become part of the fabric of this venerable institution and is a welcome part of those after dinner hours of winter. The Spring House dancers, champagne toasts, and reasonably priced table games offer a social scene that is quite stimulating. When demand is slow and the nights cold, one can sit in front of the grand foyer fireplace or go gambling....that is about the extent of evening activities. Slow season closes both the fine Italian restaurant and the Asian stop at the casino, and Draper's opens late and closes early. I did notice that the casino bar was starting to offer dining options, too. You may find the main dining room closed for the evening during the week and only have 44 and Draper's to choose from. We visited Lewisburg and found a great little cafe' that was excellent, if pricey, called Starlight Cafe'. Daytime activities are severely curtailed and if you want the full Greenbrier experience you may feel disappointed. We enjoy the beauty and elegance this hotel offers undiminished and it almost feels like a private club during those cold days of winter. It is unreasonable for them to keep everything operating at high season levels when the hotel is practically empty, but the things we love most about the Greenbrier remain in the quiet season......gracious and friendly service from all, fantastic food in the main dining room, a pool and spa that are unparalleled,and fantastic grounds and facilities included in the price of the room. We love the Greenbrier and find the charm of another era persists even through extensive renovations and promotions. I am never disappointed with the service here, and can't wait to visit in summer, when the social scale ratchets up to traditional levels. Affordable in summer???? Not even close! But definitely worth the money for the experience in every season.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scobee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

I love the Greenbrier! My husband spent the first day in the clinic and I enjoyed the spa. We both had first class treatment and facilities. The room was wonderful, spacious, clean and well appointed. Being off season, it was very quiet during the week. As we had stayed before, we knew to make all dinner reservations ahead of time. Not everything is open in the off season, but the staff was very helpful in making all our arrangements. The Bunker Tour was jaw dropping; please take the time to learn about this part of American history.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caycayma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White Sulphur Springs
10.9 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lewisburg
10.9 km away
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
#1 of 7 in Lewisburg
473 reviews
11.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 7 in Lewisburg
203 reviews
29.7 km away
Hampton Inn Covington VA
Hampton Inn Covington VA
#1 of 5 in Covington
29 reviews
30.1 km away
Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greenbrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenbrier

Address: 300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986-2498
Region: United States > West Virginia > White Sulphur Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White Sulphur Springs
Price Range: $255 - $637 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Greenbrier 5*
Number of rooms: 710
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located amid the breathtaking Allegheny Mountains of West Virginia, The Greenbrier is a National Historic Landmark and an award-winning resort that has been welcoming guests since 1778. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Greenbrier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greenbrier Hotel White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Resort White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Wv
The Greenbrier West Virginia/White Sulphur Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing