We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“West Virginia's Best Kept Secret”
Review of The Greenbrier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Greenbrier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Besides being Grand the Greenbrier employees family friendly people. I was feeling a little apprehensive before arriving, because of the "Greenbrier Grandier", but at arrival it is was nothing less than fasinating...
Dorothy Draper knew what she was doing in each magnificant room, the immpecable service from the entire staff form the front desk to the person delivering a late dinner in my room, always calling me by name. It makes me proup to have been able to experience a grand stay in "Americas Resort", it was truly a special experience.
High tea was a celebration in it's own right, deletible and fun.
The room was delightful large and very comfortable with the closet i could only wish i could have in my own home.
If you would like a place to truly experience, relax and feel "taken care of", I highly recommend the Greenbrier.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mwhite669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,655)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,081 - 2,087 of 2,655 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2012

From start to finish the Greenrbier was spectacular.

Set in the beautiful Allegheny mountains in Greenbrier Valley. Along with the beautiful outdoors and endless entertainment opportunities outside, there are many options inside the Greenbrier as well.

Championship golfing (pricey as you should expect), hiking, bowling, the casino, a spa, and much more.

I recommend staying for at least a couple days. The place is so big that it takes you awhile to find your way around.

The inside and outside tours are good freebies, the bunker tour is a must - so much history. The casino was awesome and lively during the weekend nights but pretty slow throughout the week.

All the food was great, room was great, service was exceptional.

Classy, fancy, fine dining are all part of the lineup. Take some dress clothes...and once you get past the flower print everywhere, representing a Victorian decorating style, you will love the Greenbrier.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank blt3116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

On one of our stops through Virginia, West Virginia, and North Carolina, we wanted to dine at The Greenbrier. Not wanting to dress to the extent the main dining room requires, we chose Draper's based on their description and online comments. What a mistake. First of all, we were seated in the area by the casino where they had already seated all the families with kids. The kids were well behaved and not a problem, but the music was loud 80's disco and rock - not exactly what a couple of old folks want for dinner. This place was so loud that to have a conversation, you would have to talk loud enough that everyone else could hear you, also. We waited over 10 minutes for a server to come by. It took more than another five minutes to get a Coke and glass of iced tea. Ordered shrimp and grits and fried chicken and waffles. 25 minutes later the food arrived. Obviously, we had been waiting for the chicken to fry, because every other part of each dish was luke warm, at best. The fried green tomatoes were paper thin and cold. The grits were delicious, though cold. The shrimp had been grilled with so much garlic, we thought we were eating scampi. The waffles were good (how can you screw that up) and the syrup was delicious. The chicken was piping hot, crispy, and juicy. The seasonings were conspicuously absent. Overall, it was good, but not "southern fried chicken" good. Add to all this that the Greenbrier has the most god-awful decor imaginable, and the evening was mostly a bust. We are glad we went there as we would not have wanted to be in the area and see the Greenbrier. We would never go back, though.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Sid R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

A little pricey, but four meals in this casual establishment and we were never disappointed...the chicken pot pie was exceptional! Never had breakfast here, but both lunch and supper were a good value.

2  Thank anasoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Manicured, great staff, frequent refreshment cart service

Thank anasoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Returned here after a two-decade absence, and it is even better than I remember. Took Amtrak down from DC...a six hour ride that is not as bad as fighting air or car travel to get there. The shuttle was waiting at the train station and it's a mere couple of minutes to the front door.

Even though we had viewed photos on the internet, my wife was stunned by the beauty, the friendliness of the staff and the overall top level of everything at The Greenbrier, Our celebratory dinner at Prime 44 West (Jerry West was in the dining room the night we visited), casual meals at the golf course and in the hotel, the ice cream parlor, free coffee in the lobby in the morning, and even a surpise host at afternoon tea, Cindy Bigelow of Bigelow Tea, who was on site for a conference...and gave away an elegant tea chest.

Our evening in the casino was highlighted by modest winnings, terrific dealers and croupiers and the 10pm champagne toast accompanied by the Greenbrier ballroom dancers. Be aware that WVA law precludes free cocktails, unlike most casinos. No matter, the upscale ambience, charming staff and even friendlies in the pit make it a fun experience.

My wife enjoyed the bunker tour, while I found it not as stimulating as I had hoped...I should have followed the advice of a previous Trip Advisor reviewer!

My wife had one positive and one negative experience in the spa. Apparently some of the staff are given to gossiping about previous spa clients and their peculiar "afflictions." This sort of discussion in the presence of guests, I am guessing, is a no-no. We left a comment upon checkout about this...it is the only non-excellent comment we had.

Without going into painful detail about every facet of this terrific resort, suffice it to say that it sets a very high standard indeed. The golf was great, the visit was great, the staff was great and the entire experience, though on the upper end of the price range, was WELL worth it. Visit The Greenbrier and you will take away fond memories.

Room Tip: Pay up for a small suite! It is well worth if for the two bathrooms and the extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank anasoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

This hotel may have the friendliest staff of any hotel at which I have stayed. And I mean all of them. The Greenbrier, the famous resort hotel in West Virginia that was also to serve as the location for Congress when security threats required an evacuation of Washington, DC, is an experience. The public rooms are palatial and polished to a high shine. Rooms are comfortable and include a walk in closet/dressing room you will wish you had at home. There's a shopping arcade of nice shops, several restaurants, casino, lobby bar and an activities schedule for guests, which includes complimentary high tea, a wine toast, a PGA golf course, spa and outdoor activities of all kinds. The Greenbrier has refurbished the celebrated interiors of Dorothy Draper (http://www.dorothydraper.com/) the legendary interior designer. You'll marvel at the glamour. I'd like to return with my partner and make the Greenbrier a memorable part of a sojourn to Monticello in Charlottesville, VA., a trip on the Skyline Drive in Shenandoah National Park, shopping in historic small towns in the area, such as Lewisburg, and active outdoor activities in the state and national parks in the area and other travels in Virginia or West Virginia. It is in a beautiful section of the U. S. Located about an 1 hour west of I - 81 on I-64/U.S. Hwy 60. When PGA tour tournament is held, the Greenbrier and all hotels in the area for miles sell out Rated 4 stars now, but it is trying hard to be a 5-star soon. I was there for a business retreat and it was a great place for it. The Greenbrier setting and service made the meeting feel very special.

Room Tip: Some rooms may be larger than others, but standard rooms are fairly large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jacbalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White Sulphur Springs
10.9 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lewisburg
10.9 km away
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
#1 of 7 in Lewisburg
478 reviews
11 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 7 in Lewisburg
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg
30.1 km away
Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
29.7 km away
Hampton Inn Covington VA
Hampton Inn Covington VA
#1 of 5 in Covington
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greenbrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenbrier

Address: 300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986-2498
Region: United States > West Virginia > White Sulphur Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White Sulphur Springs
Price Range: $257 - $643 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Greenbrier 5*
Number of rooms: 710
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located amid the breathtaking Allegheny Mountains of West Virginia, The Greenbrier is a National Historic Landmark and an award-winning resort that has been welcoming guests since 1778. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Greenbrier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greenbrier Hotel White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Resort White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Wv
The Greenbrier West Virginia/White Sulphur Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing