We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The James Wylie House
Nearby Hotels
US$209
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Lewisburg)
US$114
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$159
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Budget Inn Motel(Covington)
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$179
US$169
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveller rating
48
10
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
48
10
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspeach cobblerfront porchbed and breakfastfresh fruitcharming b bamtrak stationlog cabinother guestswe loved our stayhistoric sitesexcellent breakfastprivate bathfamily reunionbunker tourstayed one nighttwo nightsa great place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 58 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2017 via mobile

Monica and her pops Carl are amazing people. The history of the James Wylie House is very interesting and loved hearing the Inn keeper tell it. Every room in the house looks as if it has its own story to tell. Our stay was very warm, inviting and comfortable. The breakfast that was served during our weekend stay was outstanding. We can't wait to go back for another stay for our anniversary.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nicole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLFoos, Owner at The James Wylie House, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2017

Thank you, we love hearing from our guests. We had quite a weekend with anniversary celebrations! It was a weekend of lovely folks and many new memories!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 5, 2017

We stayed one night with Monica, and her dad, Carl. Our rooms were lovely and very clean. Monica and Carl couldn't have been nicer. Monica recommended a restaurant for dinner that night, and it turned out to be very good. Breakfast was large and hearty! Very nice place to stay while passing through :-)

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nyvics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLFoos, Owner at The James Wylie House, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2017

Thank you for your kind words! We hope you all pass through this way again. It was lovely having you as guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 19, 2017

My mom and I checked into the James Wylie House for just a single night. I wish that we had been able to stay longer. The home is very large and beautiful. It is decorated with many antiques, homemade quilts and afghans. The front porch, the chandeliers, the windows, the staircase and the moldings are all details that you just can't find any more. The owner, Monica, made us a wonderful breakfast that I am still thinking about to this day! Her father, Carl, greeted us at the door when we arrived and immediately made us feel at home. The bedrooms are large and comfortable and each have a private bath. The beds were made up with soft linens and multiple pillows so you could find just the right one. It was wonderful to be able to open the windows in our rooms and breathe in the fresh mountain air. Each room had it's own TV with cable and there was wireless access. We spent the afternoon on the front porch swing and walking around the property. Our stay was short, but very relaxing. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank beckiesiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLFoos, Owner at The James Wylie House, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2017

Thank you for your kind words. It was so lovely having you all and getting to share a little time with you here. In the short time since your stay, there is much color in the trees. I spent yesterday getting up close and personal with a mountain of the leaves. We do hope you will pass this way again. We will keep you all in our prayers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 4, 2017 via mobile

I stayed for a couple of nights for work because all hotels around were fully booked. I really enjoyed the home, the yummy homemade breakfast and the company of the owner. It's nice to go somewhere and actually get to meet and know local people! I will be back!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Andres_and_Angela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLFoos, Owner at The James Wylie House, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2017

Thank you for your kind words. We so enjoy our many guests. Hope we do get to see you again in the future to try out some new breakfast dishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 31, 2017

Had a wonderful time. Spent one night at James Wylie while visiting White Sulpher Springs. The B&B is only a 2-3 min car ride from the Greenbrier, which made it extremely convenient for dinner and bunker tours there. The owner & her dad could not have been more gracious. Breakfast was hot, and fantastic - we had really nice weather and got to enjoy breakfast out on the porch. It was a pleasure talking to the owner & her dad -- both gave good recommendations for things to do in the area. Room was very clean and spacious. Bathroom lacked a lot of counter space, but for one night it was no big deal. It's an old home, and to be expected. Overall we loved our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winchela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLFoos, Owner at The James Wylie House, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2017

Thank you so much for your kind words! We are blessed to live in a wonderful part of WV and love to share it with everyone. Hope you come again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews