We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunshine Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sunshine Lodge
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Williamstown
Perry, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

This hotel is one of the better hotels I have spent the night at. Myself and multiple family members have stayed here and have not had a single thing wrong. The rooms are fantastic! I have stayed in different rooms from single to king to Jacuzzi, and have not had a single thing wrong. The rooms always have clean bedding and towels. The bathrooms are clean from top to bottom. The breakfast in the hotel is very good with some good variety. On the property there is a restaurant, The Dutch Pantry, and they serve hot and cold breakfast along with lunch and dinner options as well. All of the front desk workers and managers I have spoke with were very nice and very helpful. The pool, in the summer time, at the hotel is very nice and kept to standards. The pool is kept very clean. All in all this hotel is very nice, has a generous staff, and is kept at my standards. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone that is in the area and needs a place to stay!

Room Tip: The Jacuzzi rooms are very relaxing and go at a good rate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay A, Manager at Sunshine Lodge, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to relate your experiences during your stay at our hotel property! We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to our area. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    8
    4
    6
    17
See reviews for
11
11
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

Night manager is extremely rude. Rooms need updated really bad. Way over priced.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
20 Thank trukrdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Williamstown hotels

Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

This is the worst hotel I ever stayed at. The manger is rude. The manager will quote you a price over the phone and change the price when you arrive. The place has a odd odor.
The pictures of the rooms and entrance on the web site are very deceiving.
The Indian hotel owners definitely need a lesson in customer service.
The breakfast is very limited the milk in the pantry was in a gallon jug and expired 3 days ago.
Noisy atmosphere at night when you are trying to sleep. You will regret spending a night at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
22 Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

This used to be a Days Inn in its better day. Room smelled kinda bad but it was huge. Toilet was a problem, took 20 min for the tank to fill up. Other than that for the price it was okay. Cheapest hotel we could find.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank rskinnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

great customer service,always was greated with a smile when asked a question.room was clean an it felt more spacious not a bad deal for $50

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank josh_h46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

I was here for the Fenton Glass Convention. This was my first time stay here in this town. Before I booked a room, I had read the reviews here for this hotel and was kind of scared to book a room but I have been traveling since last 18 years, and I have stayed in many hotels for business and pleasure. I always come to tripadvisor to read reviews about hotels, and to tell you the truth they are not always accurate. So I took my chance and called a hotel to book my room for a week. They charged me $69.98/night for 2 adults which was better than any other hotel in that area. This was the cheapest I could find. So I went ahead and booked a room thinking if for some reason I don't like the place I will check out and stay somewhere else. When I went to check in everything seemed fine. The front desk clerk was very nice. He helped me to take my luaggage in the room. Room was extremly clean and spotless. Housekeepers did an awesome job I must say. The good thing about this hotel was that it was only less than a mile away from fenton glass factory. I really enjoyed my stay here and will always come back when I am around town. Keep up the good work guys.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2011

This has to be one of the worst hotels ever, It's hard to believe Days Inn ever put their name on it. No wonder it changed to a Magnuson. We checked in and apparently they have no set price because the Indian guy at the front desk stammered and stuttered about the price. I asked the girl at the front desk the next morning and she said that the owner has told them to rate how the customer looks before quoting a price, she also said there is no set price! How outrageous, what a way to do business! I will never stay there again, the room was filthy, the towels were stained, and my 'non-smoking' room smelled of stale smoke. There is a nice little restaurant called the Pantry right next to it. They had very good food for a great price. This unfortunately was the highlight of my stay in Williamstown! There was another couple that was staying at the hotel that night as well, that happened to be eating in the restaurant next door. They were also commenting about how bad the hotel was, especially the room. This hotel is VERY outdated looking. These Indian hotel owners definitely need a lesson in customer service, and American customs. NEVER AGAIN!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
19 Thank dannydude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williamstown
0.1 km away
No photo provided
Arlington Suites
#1 of 3 in Williamstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
2.4 km away
Hampton Inn Marietta
Hampton Inn Marietta
#1 of 11 in Marietta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
3.1 km away
Comfort Suites Marietta
Comfort Suites Marietta
#3 of 11 in Marietta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marietta Hotel
2.5 km away
The Lafayette
The Lafayette
#6 of 11 in Marietta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
2.6 km away
Red Roof Inn Marietta
Red Roof Inn Marietta
#8 of 11 in Marietta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Lodge

Property: Sunshine Lodge
Address: 1339 Highland Avenue, Interstate Highway 77 (Exit 185), Williamstown, WV 26187-1376 (Formerly Rodeway Inn Williamstown)
Region: United States > West Virginia > Williamstown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Williamstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunshine Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Sunshine Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Williamstown
Days Inn Parkersburg Marietta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing