We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Baileys Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blacksmith Inn On the Shore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2017

Spontaneous trip to Door Country left us scrambling for a room on a very busy summer weekend recently. Hadn't previously spent a lot of time on the Lake Michigan/east/quiet side of Door County. We were able to get a room #7, top floor. We hadnt stayed in a B&B before. We usually condo or hotel it but our stay there has made converts out of us. Wonderful historic old building with large well decorated and appointed rooms with stunning views of the harbor. Private balcony with chairs and a hammock. Room had binoculars and wildlife reference books, They provide adult bikes including 1 tandem, kayaks and stand up paddle boards for the guests to use down at the private dock. I could go on and on. Sunday morning there was a Farmers Market across the street. Yes, per some other reviews here, it's not a big over the top breakfast like some B&Bs but more a light continental but we enjoyed it. If you want a big breakfast, there are lots of options in town. We found the couple and their sons that run it super friendly and very helpful. Took their advice on dinner and went to Chive. Excellent meal. Relaxing walkable quiet little town. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kikicket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

Beautiful well maintained bed and breakfast on the lake. Coffee is always available and they provide a nice continental breakfast. They provide paddle boards kayaks and bikes. I believe all rooms have lake views and whirlpool tubs.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

There are so many things to love about the Blacksmith Inn, and just a few things that could use improvement.

Breakfast:
This was tough for us because we eat a very low carb diet. We didn't give in to the pastries and baked goods, though they looked delicious. The goat milk yogurt was higher in carbs than we usually eat, but was very good and creamy. They did offer berries (low in carbs) on some days. We splurged on the homemade granola, which is delicious.
Suggestion:
Start earlier. By 8 am, when breakfast began, we were eager to get out and start our day. If starting earlier isn't an option, then maybe offer a grab-and-go breakfast for those who want to leave and get the day started. 8 is very late. We found out after we got home that we could have requested breakfast the night before and kept it in our fridge. Maybe that needs to be something guests are told when they check in? We will do this next time.

Room and bathroom:
Our room in the Harbor House (larger, newer building) was gorgeous and very comfortable. A garden tub takes up a lot of space, but I did use the tub one evening after a very chilly and rainy day, and I can see how it would be especially useful during colder months. Our room included a view of the lake, a wardrobe with plenty of storage and supplies like binoculars, and a couple of chairs. The bathroom was rather small, and the shower was tiny. The shower stall was so small that I couldn't (without getting too personal) shave my legs or take a shower without getting my hair wet. We did like that one of us could shower and the other could use the sink at the same time. There was also a nice ledge around the sink where we could set our stuff. Based on our stays at B&Bs in the past, the bathroom was about what we expected. Baths in hotels are normally much larger.
Suggestion: One simply fix to the small shower would be to install a hand shower head that hangs so the person can take it down and spray his/her body without having to stand right underneath of it. We are not large people and each of us had to stand still in one spot and get wet hair whether we wanted it or not - I can't imagine a large person trying to use that shower.

Grounds:
Part of the appeal of a B&B is the whole area. The Blacksmith Inn has a nice yard, a reasonably sized parking lot, and a building full of bikes. The real draw, though, is the lake. There's a trail down to the water and a very nice dock with chairs. We went out on nice evenings and enjoyed a cup of coffee, and others went out in the mornings.
Suggestion: One aspect that was incredibly disappointing was the deck. The Harbor House is advertised as having roofed decks. It does have decks, but they are not solid like a roof. One day while we were there it rained a lot. We were so looking forward to returning from shopping to sit on our deck and have a glass of wine. But when we arrived, we quickly realized that the rain was pouring through the deck above us (which was our roof), and then through our deck to the one below. In other words, no one can use their decks when it rains. They are like a series of 2X4s and the rain comes right through the cracks. One solution might be to fill in between the slats of wood or to tarp the top deck. The deck on the main floor isn't covered at all, so all of us has to squeeze into the one-room lobby for breakfast the day it rained. It was very uncomfortable.

Staff:
People who stay here don't tend to want to be bothered, which is a good thing, because the owners hardly talked to us. We didn't take offense. It seemed more like they wanted us to have a peaceful time. They answered questions when we asked and generally left us alone.
Suggestion: When we first checked in, the young man who was working was very unfriendly. (Andy, Adam, something like that?) My husband asked a few questions, and each time the man became more short with us, almost like he didn't want to be bothered. I did tell my husband privately that the man wasn't a concierge and he needed to stop asking so many questions. But we saw the same man in two different coffee shops over the course of the week and he looked us in the eye and wouldn't smile or say hello. We certainly weren't going to bother him on his time off, but a simple hello would have been nice. Weird. I guess my suggestion is to try to be just a bit more friendly.

Despite the criticisms and suggestions, this is truly a very nice place to stay. It's pricey, but it's worth it. Perhaps the best thing is that they do NOT allow kids! It was the most peaceful vacation we've had in years. We are empty nesters and do not tolerate kids well on vacation. The Blacksmith Inn was the perfect, quiet, peaceful getaway that we needed. We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms in Harbor House have view of lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
247
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

Even before we arrived we loved this place. Joan and Bryan were the most thoughtful hosts and sent us a welcome email with a few suggestions on places to visit if we arrived early.

We had booked Room 5 and found the most charming, spotlessly clean room with a stunning view over the lake. There were so many thoughtful touches included in the room, from binoculars to enjoy the views, books, chocolates and Adirondack chairs on our private balcony. If you're active, and have the time, the Blacksmith Inn offers bikes and kayaks - we were lazy and just sat by the lake listening to the water lapping on the shore...blissful! Breakfast was simple but tasty with endless cups of coffee, OJ, fresh croissants, granola, yoghurt and fruit.

All the staff were super friendly and we would highly recommend staying at the Inn.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

Was our first stay on the East side of the Door. Blacksmith Inn was a great vacation stop. Room was great with many things that could be done on the grounds. Looking forward to a future stay that we can take more advantage of the outdoor things offered by the inn.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017

This having been my first trip to Door County, I'm sure there are several quaint and comfortable b&b's and inns but I can't imagine anything that would change my mind on where I will be staying next time I'm in Door County. The rooms are even better than the photos. The inn keepers know what they are doing with all the conveniences and food. Popcorn and fresh oatmeal cherry cookies were wonderful afternoon (and evening) treat. I'm not sure what I enjoyed most about breakfast - the homemade granola or banana muffins that were amazing!

Baileys Harbor is a great location and very close to many attractions and restaurants.

Stay at the Blacksmith Inn - you will not be disappointed with your choice.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MN_Proud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017

We just got home from a three day, mid-week stay at the Blacksmith Inn. There are not enough superlatives for this place. Incredibly clean, gorgeous Lake Michigan views and access, delicious breakfast--granola fantastic-and some of the best afternoon popcorn ever. Thank you, staff, for a memorable vacation.

Room Tip: Room 4, Zahn House. Beautiful and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank chrisN9279RD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baileys Harbor
10.9 km away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#2 of 8 in Ephraim
842 reviews
12.7 km away
Scandinavian Lodge
Scandinavian Lodge
#10 of 17 in Sister Bay
142 reviews
12.2 km away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.5 km away
Chanticleer Guest House
Chanticleer Guest House
#5 of 15 in Sturgeon Bay
166 reviews
11.6 km away
Thorp House Inn and Cottages
10.1 km away
The Eagle Harbor Inn
The Eagle Harbor Inn
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blacksmith Inn On the Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blacksmith Inn On the Shore

Address: 8152 State Highway 57, Baileys Harbor, WI 54202-9332
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Baileys Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Baileys Harbor
Price Range: $181 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awaken to the sound of waves lapping the shore. Linger over breakfast as the morning light glistens on the water. Kayak the harbor, bike to a lighthouse, stroll the village or just laze in your hammock. Fifteen deliciously private guest rooms each with in-room whirlpool, fireplace, private balcony, view of the harbor, satellite TV/DVD, ipod hook-up, wireless internet, complimentary use of bikes and kayaks and bottomless cookie jar. Romance & relaxation are yours in the heart of Door County. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blacksmith Inn On The Shore Hotel Baileys Harbor
Blacksmith Inn On The Shore Baileys Harbor, WI - Door County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing