We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst experience ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Spinning Wheel Motel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Baraboo
Reviewed 25 September 2017

I made a reservation for my husband at 9pm before doing this I talk to the owner. She told me the office closed at 10pm. My husband arrived at 9:10 and they wouldn't except his online purchase. The owners told him any online reservations had to be signed in by 19:00 (7:00pm). He then asked to pay for a room with cash since he just worked a 15 hour shift. He was told no and to leave. I called the lady I talk to earlier thinking there was a misunderstanding. There was no misunderstanding. I asked why she didn't tell me it was to late to do a online reservation. She yelled at me in another language and hung up.

Room Tip: Worst customer service ever
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Service
Thank Crystal E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2017

I booked this hotel because it was cheap and in a good location and the reviews made it seem like an okay place to stay. The room had an awful smell to it. The door did not even fully seal. This place just did not give off a good vibe. We ended up checking out and not spending the night.

Room Tip: Do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017

I have stayed here a couple of times. The rooms are clean and the owners were very helpful. Great location at an unbeatable price. I will definitely stay here again if I'm travelling in the Baraboo area.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank marlow54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2016

Room 32 is a mold festival. We were very disappointed. It was a death march. We woke up at around 1 am actually having trouble breathing! We were given another room (less moldy) but wondered why they did not give us a livable room since the place was empty. We later realized they may not want to clean the rooms they were saving for the weekend guests. The next morning we caught up on the sleep and cancelled the next evenings stay. After cancelling in the office, they (couple) arrived at our door pounding it like gangsters and yelling for us to leave. We recorded the incident and almost called the police. It was a strange, violent experience. The man appears very angry and unstable. We later learned that they are known in the area for being a horrible place to stay. Do not stay here...really. P.s. Kali dances throughout the place.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

Convenient and clean! I don't think you need any more reasons to stay here, but I'll give you some. Only $55 for the night and the wifi worked perfectly even in the room. My nephew and I both agree that we were very lucky to find the Spinning Wheel.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Larry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016

The Spinning Wheel has been a fixture in Baraboo for decades. Located on Route 33 as it passes through town, it affords convenient, affordable lodging with basic amenities for the budget traveler. Decorated as if from a time warp to the 1970's (complete with an analog TV), it nonetheless is clean and fully appointed. The mom and pop owners will do anything to please and are constantly available. Recommended.

Room Tip: Units in the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cedric09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

Nice owners. Room appears to be newly remodeled, carpet, paint, even toilet is new. Microwave and mini fridge are handy to have in the room too. Great room for the price. Must stop by Joses Mexican restaurant next door, it is great. We are very glad we stayed here!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Laura U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baraboo
3.3 km away
Best Western Baraboo Inn
3.1 km away
Clarion Hotel and Convention Center
7.1 km away
Ho-Chunk Casino Hotel and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Campus Inn Motel
Campus Inn Motel
#8 of 11 in Baraboo
43 reviews
17.3 km away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#30 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
980 reviews
12.1 km away
Alakai Hotel and Suites
Alakai Hotel and Suites
#27 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spinning Wheel Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spinning Wheel Motel

Address: 809 8th St, Hwy 33, Baraboo, WI 53913-1719
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Baraboo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Baraboo
Price Range: $53 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Spinning Wheel Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spinning Wheel Motel is located in Baraboo, Wisconsin. Very close to the Wisconsin Dells, Ho-Chunk Casino, Circus World Museum, and the Devils Lake Resort! We are also centrally near Cascade Mountain Ski & Snow Board Area and Devils Head Ski Resort. All 25 rooms have a TV with cable, fridge, a microwave and free Wi-Fi internet. Ice machine is located in office. Guests will be treated with free coffee on weekend in the morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Spinning Wheel Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing