We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“If it were 1987, the place would not be half bad......” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lakewoods Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cable
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lakewoods Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cable
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“If it were 1987, the place would not be half bad......”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

However, it is 2012, my husband and I rented a condo for the American Birke and stayed at the resort for 4 nights. Our condo was tired (to put it mildly) and not clean, there were cobwebs everywhere, the upholstery and the bed covers smell of old dust, the kitchen is quickly becoming an antique, there is an odd collection of old pots and pans and no one has cleaned inside the cabinets int he bathroom or the kitchen in a good decade. To make matters worse, upon reserving, we were told that there would be wireless internet in the condo, but as soon as we arrived we noticed there was no signal - after enquiring, we were told the IT person was working on the issue, by the time we left no progress had been made. We will not go there and if any of you reading this review value cleanliness, organization and efficiency, you should not go there either. Maybe management will take the hint and start cleaning the place, if not updating it!

Room Tip: Go to a different place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AngelicaMdS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    21
    20
    20
    26
See reviews for
54
26
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blaine, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

My wife and went here after making reservations online. The website is beautiful. It must be from twenty years ago. This place is a bug infested dive. We met the the owner and need less to say she was blind to the fact how bad this place has become. We talked to several employees and past employees and not one person had anything good to say. We went to a bar down the road and told some locals where we were staying, they appoligized to us. THIS WAS THE BIGGEST WASTE OF MONEY I HAVE EVER SPENT. Things were missing, police were called and the owner was one of the worst people I have ever met.

P.S. The boat rental was also a HUGE disapointment!

Room Tip: Choose a differant destination
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Xtreme08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

A group of 10 which included 3 different families and kids, were looking forward to our stay at Lakewoods after hearing and reading great things about it. We couldn't get lodge rooms, but were talked into staying in a Villa and promised the following: 4 bedrooms, 4 bathrooms, a loft with futon, and hot tub, all for the same price per family as a lodge room. Upon arrival after our 8 hr. drive, we checked in at 8pm. Arriving at our villa in the dark, I had to use my cell phone as a flashlight to see to unlock the door. I was greeted by the smell of sewer gas. We entered the unit to find 4 bedroom, 2 baths, no loft. Not enough room for 10. I called to the front desk and told them this is not what I was promised when I reserved. I was told this was all that was available. Something was mentioned by them about the discounted rate we were getting, so this is why we got assigned this villa. We went back to the main lodge to the office, and the manager found another villa available that had 4 bed, 4 bath, 2 single beds in the kitchen area. The following problems occured: The door keys repeatedly quit working, the thermostat on the furnace was hard to control, the tv in one bedroom didn't work, housekeeping came the first day to empty trash and give fresh towels, but never came after that, when locked out by a faulty room key we were rudely told that this was the last key they were going to issue to us, and there was mouse droppings on the counter tops around our food. After complaing to the GM, we were told that housekeeping was not included when you pay discounted rates, and they villa had not been occupied for awhile, so they were not aware of the other problems. We will never stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dysart, Iowa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

We booked rooms for snowmobiling between Christmas and New Years but had to cancel because they had no snow. They kept our deposit and said we would loose it if we didn't reschedule before spring. Went on the 13th of Feb for 3 nights. Checked in late in the day and the Villa we were supposed to have was suddenly unavailable. They put us in another unit but it did not meet our needs because of the sleeping arrangements and lack of bathrooms. (we had 3 families). Went back to the front desk and they found another place. Keys didn't work, staff rude. Indicated that because we got a discounted rate, we were not getting housekeeping. We didn't get fresh towels and the front staff were so rude.We actually had two units and both had mice. Dining in the lodge: food average and service very slow. The Sunday brunch was not a true brunch and some items were not available until later in the afternoon. While this resort was recommended to us by friends, these 3 families will never return. Dawn J.

Room Tip: if you decide to go here, make sure you get the actual unit # that you will be staying in with your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DawnRN66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colleyville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

My husband grew up going to Lakewoods as a family vacation starting back in the 60s. He said he watched Armstrong walk on the moon in the Lodge since the rooms didn't have TVs. I married my husband back in 2009. We got married in Texas, and drove non-stop to Lakewoods for our Honeymoon in July 1999. We have been coming back just about every year since. We drive because my husband is a pilot for Southwest Airlines, and when he is on vacation, he wants "get away" from the job, and enjoy the scenery. We have stayed in various rooms. We have NEVER experienced a dirty room. It is dated, but isn't that what the Northwoods is all about? We try to make it a annual trip every August to spend a week in the Condo's. The food is awesome, the staff is friendly, and quite frankly, I can't wait to August to come back every year!
THANK YOU LAKEWOODS FOR SOME AWESOME MEMORIES!!!!
Jan and Patrick Buntin
Colleyville, TX

Room Tip: great getaway vacation!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roscoe, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

My husband and I have been visiting Lakewoods for Mother's Day weekend since 2003, and it is a visit we always anticipate with excitement. We travel with one or two other couples and stay in Beachview. We all enjoy our own comfortable bedrooms and bathrooms, and the view is to die for! We especially appreciate the heated floors and the cozy fireplace when we return from a day of fishing in May! The staff is very accommodating and makes us feel welcome. Any concerns we have had about our accommodations are promptly addressed. (Our microwave was not working one time, and it was immediately replaced). Our kitchen is well-equipped so we can cook if we want to, but we always plan at least one evening for dinner and cocktails at the resort restaurant as a treat. The variety of food and the preparation have always been excellent and keep us coming back. From reading the guests' diary kept in the condo, we are just a few of the people who enjoy their visit and will keep coming back. We highly recommend Lakewoods for a family vacation or a couples' getaway. Patricia K.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatK36628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

while the staff, dining area, and pool area were fine, the room we were given was bad! the toilet seat was crusty and needed replacement, the coffeepot had floaters in it, and the lamps, flooring, etc were all outdated and in need of remodel. we also stayed for 2 nights and never had room service (even though we were gone from the room for almost the entire day and there were only about 10 people staying in the whole resort while we were there)

Room Tip: ask if they've been remodeled yet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jennifer m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cable
34.2 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 14 in Hayward
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
33.4 km away
AmericInn Hayward
AmericInn Hayward
#4 of 14 in Hayward
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
35.2 km away
Flat Creek Inn & Suites
Flat Creek Inn & Suites
#5 of 14 in Hayward
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Cable Nature Lodge
Cable Nature Lodge
#3 of 4 in Cable
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
34.6 km away
The Riverside Motel
The Riverside Motel
#3 of 14 in Hayward
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
34.6 km away
Mallards Landing
Mallards Landing
#18 of 35 in Hayward
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakewoods Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakewoods Resort

Property: Lakewoods Resort
Address: 21540 County Highway M, Cable, WI 54821-4509
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Cable
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cable
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the pristine Northwoods of Wisconsin on the shores of Lake Namakagon, Lakewoods is right smack in the middle of the Chequamegon National Forest. Surrounded by nature, the areas lakes streams rivers and trail are perfect for getaways during any season of the year. Lakewoods' complete amenities including pools, restaurant, marina, golf course and more are designed to make the most of our location. Get here and experience all the Northwoods has to offer; be it snowmobiling the 1,000s of miles of trails, catching a world class musky, or biking the best trails in the nation, Lakewoods allows you to experience it all with your family, business colleagues, or your favorite golf foursome. Call now to make your reservations. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lakewoods Resort Cable
Lakewoods Hotel Cable

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing