We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (266)
Filter reviews
266 results
Traveller rating
206
31
21
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
206
31
21
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteam showerlakeside cottageorganic gardenbreakfasts and lunchessmall lakebreakfast deliveredprairie stylefireplace roomcatch and releaseview of the lakerelaxing getawaypeace and quietprivate deckadirondack chairstwin citiesnorthern wisconsinanniversary weekend
Filter
Updating list...
174 - 179 of 266 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2011

We stayed one night and are anxious to return soon. We found the property to be very peaceful with stunning views. The staff was wonderful.......from our first phone conversation to prompt delivery of a delicious breakfast.

Whether you desire romance, relaxation or recreation, you will find a reason to enjoy your visit!

Finally, if you follow the directions carefully, you will find Canoe Bay! You might think you are lost, but you are simply driving to a most secluded destination.

Room Tip: Cell phone service was spotty. We were told Verizon had the best coverage.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank CUI1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 27, 2011

In order to find this place without a problem, we recommend you use the GPS coordinates the lodge provides you. The seclusion of the lodge is a big part of its personality. So if you don't like quiet surroundings you might need to listen to some loud music before and after your stay.

However, the seclusion in my opinion is a key part of the overall experience. This is a place where you can disconnect from the world yet connect fully with the thoughts in your head and most of all - - connect with your sweetheart. I won't lie. It was difficult to rationalize the pricey accommodation in this day and in this economy, but we decided to take the plunge.

We loved our short time at Canoe Bay. The lodge's personality was very compatible with us. We love the outdoors. We like refined things, but we don't like it to come with pomp & circumstance. Canoe Bay delivered on every point.

We stayed in Lakeside Cottage #10. It was probably one of the top 3 most romantic settings where we've stayed. A deck with a private lake view, two fireplaces, a jacuzzi overlooking the water plus a personal spa ... C'mon... romance with a capital R.

In terms of dining, dinner was very nice - - perfectly portioned, nicely plated and the taste was very good. I found breakfast, like some of the other reviewers, to fall a little short of my 5 star rating. I will say that breakfast was good, but nothing out of the ordinary (though I will say the petite croissants are worth every calorie Ladies!) If breakfast is one of your favorite meals, then order up at check in. Especially if your guy likes his meat and potatoes.

The grounds are beautiful and peaceful. We saw a few couples here and there, but aside from that, the property seemed to be there only for our purpose. Our mornings were cool & crisp and we had fun simply walking the trails and the property.

Overall, this is a very good place to reconnect with your darling and a great place to honeymoon or celebrate an anniversary. We will definitely return someday in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Winesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We just returned from a three night stay (originally two nights but decided to stay another night) at Canoe Bay. From check-in till check-out the staff was fantastic. We were upgraded to the dream cottage ( in which was not expected but very appreciated). We had one meal in the restaurant which was Salmon but they were kind enough to make my meal pork. The breakfast was very good and plenty for my husband and myself. The tranquility you feel is worth the price. We will be back. Next time with all our friends. Loved Canoe Bay

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank bronzebaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 14, 2011

My wife and I had a very nice stay at Canoe Bay in early July, but considering the rates, we will not return. The accommodations were very nice -- we had a beautiful room near the main pond, in a very nice and secluded setting, and the room itself was very nicely furnished and comfortable. The property itself is also beautiful, with really nice architecture, secluded spots, and a nice system of trails to hike or jog. Overall however, we just felt we were paying too much for what we were getting -- the service was mostly very good although mixed at times (we encountered a little bit of snobbishness from the owner), and really nothing was included with a very high room rate. The breakfasts and lunches that were delivered to the room were good but nothing spectacular, and the dinners were very good but expensive. If money wasn't a concern, we would rate this higher, but considering what we paid, there is definitely better value elsewhere for better accommodation and service.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2011

You won't expect anything like that in the middle of Wisconsin, near Chetek, a small typical Wisconsin town. Canoe Bay is a 5 stars Relais & Chateaux Resort, in the middle of a beautiful hardwood forest surounding beautiful small lakes.

It is definitely a place where you want to go for a quiet, relaxing getaway (no children allowed).

The restaurant was good, but we only went there once out of three nights, as the overall stay is pretty pricey. However other options in the area are quite limited to Wisconsin style diner experience (burgers, steaks, etc.).

Go there if you want to celebrate something very special or if you want to spoil your loved one.

Room Tip: If you can afford, try to get the Heavenly suite. Standard room are quite small. The cottages are a nice option too.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ddb-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews