We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (266)
Filter reviews
266 results
Traveller rating
206
31
21
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
206
31
21
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteam showerlakeside cottageorganic gardenbreakfasts and lunchessmall lakebreakfast deliveredprairie stylefireplace roomcatch and releaseview of the lakerelaxing getawaypeace and quietprivate deckadirondack chairstwin citiesnorthern wisconsinanniversary weekend
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 266 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2017

We were looking for a special getaway after we had gone to a family reunion in Minneapolis. I can't imagine a better place to stay if you were hoping to unplug and recharge for a few days. The villa we stayed in was immaculate and beautifully designed and furnished. The staff managed to be welcoming without being obtrusive.

A special note should be made aobut the food in the dining room was truly exceptional -- as good as any we've had anywhere. We stayed for nearly a week and ate in the dining room five nights. Each evening was its own chef's menu and no one meal was like the other. Remarkable.

I would very much like to return in the winter.

Room Tip: The Edgewood Villa was exceptionally beautiful and has a private deck that overlooks the lake, with its own wildflower garden.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 28, 2017

Really perfect. Close to the Minneapolis Metro, yet far enough out and not in any 'tourist' area to be great locale. The 100s of acres of land equal peace and quiet, privacy, and space to rom the property. With very few rooms/units, it's no resort, so you can't compare this to a north shore property for example -- in my opinion apples and orange comparison. With that said, they are good at what they do. We travelled for an anniversary, and only (unfortunately) for a single night. Staff was gracious and kind. Nice touches all around -- from the beautifully curated organic garden, to the little cookies on departure. The room (in our case a Dream Cottage) was perfect. Little issue with the lock and maintenance attended-to quickly. So - overall - staff was great, room was peaceful and nice, grounds were pretty and cared-for, location good, and food (not sure, we didn't partake, but will try to next time). The library is awesome. I will say that the price-point is pretty steep; tough for some to stay more than 2, maybe 3 nights without breaking the bank. Cheers!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MplsLakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2017

We had a wonderful time at Canoe Bay. We were going to go to Nashville for the weekend, but decided we needed something a little slower paced. My wife said she wanted a rustic place in northern Wisconsin, no kids, with really nice accommodations and great food and where we can get massages in our cabin. Canoe Bay was perfect in every respect! We will definitely return when our schedule permits.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Brad F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 6, 2017

This was our first time at Canoe Bay, and my wife and I could not have been more thrilled with our stay. We stayed for 5 nights in Dream Cottage #8, and found the accommodations perfect, down to the littlest details. The food was delicious, the service was top-notch, and we had so much fun canoeing, kayaking, walking the trails, reading on our deck, and hanging out playing games and watching movies. Not only will we be back again, but Canoe Bay may have spoiled us - we were planning to return to a few other previous anniversary getaway destinations first, but Canoe Bay has now jumped to the top of the list! Cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 30, 2017

My wife and I recently stayed at Canoe Bay. It was our second time staying there; both times were outstanding.

The property is located 2-3 hours from the Twin Cities, depending on where you're coming from and which route you take. We like going through Stillwater and eating lunch there. The resort is made up of 20ish cabins on a small lake; there are no other buildings or properties on the lake. The cabins themselves are in the Prairie Style and very well kept-up. We stayed in The Lookout which features a hottub, fireplace, and large panel of windows looking out onto the lake. We primarily go to get away from the noise and bustle of everyday life; as the resort is 21yo and up, it's quite peaceful. We saw more deer than human beings on our most recent stay.

Besides sleeping and lounging there are a few activities available. There are a few miles of trails for walking as well as some water activities including stand-up paddleboarding, canoeing, swimming, fishing (w/a license, catch and release).

The highlights for us besides the peace and quiet is the food and the service. Breakfast is brought to your cabin in a small wooden caddy as is lunch. Dinner is served in the dining room with a fixed menu, although they are very accommodating in regard to food restrictions. Our food, from the breakfast to the dinners, has always been nothing short of outstanding. If the dining room were a Twin Cities restaurant I would definitely put it in my top ten places to eat in the Cities.

Beware the Wi-Fi is only available in certain cabins as well as the Lodge and the Inn. I know we shouldn't be online when trying to relax but some of us can't help it...

Between the accommodations, the service and the food it makes for a fantastic getaway from the cities. We definitely plan to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FellowTraveler79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews