We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (270)
Filter reviews
270 results
Traveller rating
210
31
21
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
210
31
21
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steam shower lakeside cottage organic garden small lake frank lloyd wright inspired breakfast delivered deck overlooking the lake prairie style fireplace room catch and release peace and quiet relaxing getaway adirondack chairs twin cities wet bar northern wisconsin anniversary weekend
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 270 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2018

As a 30 year anniversary gift to ourselves, my wife and I decided to splurge a bit and stayed two nights at Canoe Bay. We stayed midweek in Room #2 of the Lodge building. The room was great.The room decor fit beautifully with the Wisconsin northwoods and lake setting, yet It had all the modern amenities of a high quality urban hotel. The view of the lake from our front window was spectacular. Several times we saw deer roaming.
We walked the trails (an easy walk even if you are not an accomplished hiker), canoed the lake, and thoroughly enjoyed the large book selection in the library right outside our door in the lodge building.
We must give a shout out to John, the gardener, at Canoe Bay. He gave us a personal 45 minute tour of the most impressive vegetable and flower garden we have ever seen at a hotel. Even if John is not available, still visit the garden-- a must during your stay.
Overall a most relaxing and wonderful stay.

Room tip: If staying in the Lodge, pay the small up charge for room #2 and get a great view of the lake.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2018

My husband and I just returned from a relaxing weekend at Canoe Bay. It was our first getaway without our baby daughter, and we had high expectations for a romantic & relaxing weekend. Honestly, they were surpassed. We arrived Friday, left Sunday, and stayed on the property the entire time because it was just that beautiful. The service was impeccable and the food was some of the best we've experienced at a hotel - we just loved that so many of the ingredients came right from the garden on premises. (And we really enjoyed strolling through the gardens filled with beautiful flowers and all kinds of vegetables. Do not miss the opportunity to check them out). From mornings spent canoeing to afternoons with a book in the library, to the delicious meals prepared with local ingredients, we were just blown away by this special place. The views from our room were just incredible, and we loved being able to enjoy breakfasts and lunches on our deck with views of the water. The service was beyond wonderful and we found the staff to be very pleasant & helpful. I can't wait to come back for a fall getaway. Thanks for a memorable stay!

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SamanthaG17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 2, 2018

We had three dinners, the first two were mediocre but the third was on a par with the best restaurants in New York. They have an extensive garden that supplies ingredients for the chefs. The library offers interesting books, coffee and a superlative view of the lake from its two Adirondack chairs.
The bad news: It is expensive and everything costs extra (an egg with bacon is $14.77 compared to $4.00 in town) We asked for an extra bar of soap for the shower and the bath but never got one. Our deck had chipped paint which detracted from the ambiance. The biggest problem was their incomplete directions to the Minneapolis airport.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Waynegourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa D, Owner at Canoe Bay, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2018

So glad you appreciated the library, garden and relaxing views of Canoe Bay's pristine lake--some of my own very favorite things! I apologize for our oversight in resupplying the requested bath amenities and for the difficulty you experienced in getting back to MSP. Your comments are valuable as we continually seek to improve our guests' experience. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 19, 2018

This was our 3rd trip to Canoe Bay. The first being our mini moon, where we stayed in a Dream Cottage. Last year we stayed in Hilltop for our 1st anniversary, and booked it again this year for our 2nd.
Both of us work extremely demanding jobs (think 90+ hours a week), and desperately needed to unwind. This is what this resort is built for. Peace and quiet. No kids, no smoking, no idiots making a racket (more on that later), just couples and quiet. A sanctuary.
We arrived Saturday afternoon, checked in, made our breakfast selections for the morning, and off we went to the cabin. No need for an escort, we knew right where the cottage is. We'd requested in room dinner, as we never feel particularly sociable our first night after a nearly six hour drive.
We unloaded the car and settled in. (I'd packed wine, a couple cases of bottled water, a pile of veggies (I prepped at home before leaving), tavern ham, butter, mustard, and a baguette for us to make lunches in the cottage). The kitchen amenities in this cottage are top-notch. Two drawer fridges, one setup as a fridge, the other setup as a freezer, so we had ice and someplace to store all the cold packs from the drive up.
The hotel provides ample towels and washcloths (I use at least 2 washcloths every day - one to wash face in the morning, another for an evening face washing, plus any others for showering purposes). Hotels almost never provide enough and I either pack my own from home, or have to request more. This time, I didn't bother packing shampoo, we used the products provided by Canoe Bay. They are nice products, but weren't ideal for oily hair, which we are both cursed with. I did pack our own body soap, as my skin is sensitive and I didn't want to risk a breakout.

The nice thing about Canoe Bay is that when you walk in, classical music is playing quietly. I've heard that in fall/winter, the fireplace is on too, but we've only visited in the summer so far.
So anyway, we got our gear unpacked and went out on the main deck to read for awhile before dinner. The Hilltop cottage faces the lake, so we had a peaceful view to look at while unwinding from the drive up. This cottage also has a deck off the bedroom, but we did not utilize it this time around. Both decks are equipped with 2 adirondack chairs and a small table to set drinks/a snack.
A bit after six, our dinner was delivered. We had the New York Strip, which was delightful. I don't buy kale at home, but the kale salad with this meal was to die for! Much more tender than the stuff available in stores, topped with a light dressing, egg yolk, and croutons. Dessert was a bittersweet Valrhona chocolate deconstructed smore. Delightful, as the chocolate offset the sweetness of the marshmallow.
After dinner, we went back onto the main deck to continue reading until sunset. Once it got dark, we retreated to the spa bathroom, where we took a lovely soak together in the jacuzzi and the jets functioned as a mini massage.
Sunday was quiet. We used the steam shower, which is always relaxing, after breakfast, and went out on the deck again to read before our afternoon couples massage. The massage finished up right before dinner, which we again opted to have delivered. The meal was a scrumptious carrot salad, followed by a chicken breast with gorgeous jus, and an infused pineapple dessert.
Monday was our anniversary, and we decided to use the sauna in the afternoon. We read up on proper use of a sauna, so alternated between spending time in the hot sauna and cooling back off with a cool shower (and again, plenty of bottled water). Monday evening we had the lamb, which was good but not our favorite. As it was our last evening, we went back out on the deck to read/watch the sunset.
Unfortunately for us, a new arrival was enthusiastically canoeing around in circles on the lake and shouting. Fine on the canoeing. Less fine on the shouting. This is not a frat party, or spring break. This is supposed to be a quiet retreat for frazzled adults.
After an hour of this, we went back inside and took another jacuzzi bath to relax before bed.
Breakfasts featured a delightfully moist (I hate that word, except as applicable to baked goods) pumpkin breads/muffins.
We departed on Tuesday morning, shortly after breakfast. As previous visits had, this one concluded with 2 warm chocolate chip cookies for the road. We like them because A - they are warm, and B - they use bittersweet rather than semisweet chocolate.
We're already trying to decide when our next visit should be. Summer for our anniversary, or fall to see colors?

Room tip: Book a standalone cottage. Well worth the additional cost for peace and quiet.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 15, 2018

My husband and I stayed at Canoe Bay for four days and we could not have been more delighted. From the main road, a half-mile drive on a well-groomed paved path through the woods brings you to the small Frank Lloyd Wright-inspired Reception building, complete with a waterfall amidst floral garden displays. Similar cabins encircle a glacial lake, interspersed with The Lodge (containing a fitness center and library) and The Inn (containing a wine cellar and dining room overlooking the lake). The library deserves special mention - an A-frame wooden building houses an elegant library featuring built-in bookcases offering many genres, plus comfortable sofas, a fireplace, and a deck overlooking the lake. What a treat for guests! (It also had an excellent DVD selection, although the entire place does make you want to leave television behind.) Both The Lodge (with the library) and The Inn (with the dining room) had Wi-Fi, so we had no trouble checking in with our kids - but we were happy to tune out the rest of the time. Our cabin was beautifully designed with fieldstone walls, two fireplaces, television, wet bar and dual sinks with granite countertops, refrigerator/microwave/dishes, tiled double shower, sauna, exercise equipment, whirlpool tub, and comfortable king-size bed. Amenities were top-shelf, as were the bathrobes, slippers and oversized towels. The staff members were uniformly friendly, knowledgeable, attentive and discrete. We liked having the option each day of selecting housekeeping, no housekeeping, or just a quick visit with items we needed. Morning baked goods were delicious and not-too-sweet, perfectly complementing the scrumptious scrambled eggs. The chefs outdid themselves with creative, delicious, locally-sourced dinners. We felt these special meals deserved to be enjoyed in a dining room, so we eschewed delivery to our cabin in favor of a table by the lake in the dining room and were treated to scenic beauty all through dinner. The owner, Lisa Dobrowolski, introduced herself to guests and made sure everything was perfect - the resort is clearly a labor of love for Lisa and her husband Dan. We spent most of our time kayaking, swimming, resting, and reading on our private deck overlooking the lake. The resort was full but we rarely saw anyone outside the dining room -- the resort is designed for peace and privacy and it delivers. We enthusiastically recommend Canoe Bay- it is a very special place to get away from it all and refresh the soul.

Room tip: Talk to the staff about the kind of cabin you would like - frankly, I'd be happy with any of them,
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Portia1934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews