We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (269)
Filter reviews
269 results
Traveller rating
209
31
21
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
209
31
21
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steam shower lakeside cottage organic garden breakfasts and lunches small lake breakfast delivered prairie style fireplace room catch and release view of the lake relaxing getaway peace and quiet private deck adirondack chairs twin cities northern wisconsin anniversary weekend
Filter
Updating list...
254 - 259 of 269 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2007

My husband and I just returned today from a wonderful weekend at the resort. We couldn't have asked for a more relaxing environment. The staff and service was excellent. They allowed us to stay late on our day of checkout. The added touch of having breakfast brought to your door at three different time options is fabulous. We have two small children, so the longer we can sleep the better. We stayed in Deluxe cottage and thought it was the perfect size. The rooms and grounds are very, very clean. Haven't seen such nice rooms in a really long time. We used the tub jacuzzi twice a day. It rained all weekend, but who cares. We checked out movies, watched tv, used the tub, went bowling in town and checked out the bars. This is the place to come for time together and relax with no distractions. We plan to come every year for the next four years right before my husband starts law school classes.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank goferhockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 15, 2007

what a place can't believe a little piece of heaven here in the middle of the woods. The staff was wonderful and the rooms were well thought out .
The food was true to it's word with simple presentation and incredibly cooked . What a treat everyone should share in this .

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank greatf00d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 29, 2007

Dont waste your money! We just spent a weekend at Canoe Bay and were completely disappointed with the lack of service. Food was terrible - overcooked, tasteless, and unimaginative and served by unexperienced help. We stayed in a Dream Cottage which was the only highlight of our stay. It was spacious and comfortable and had a view from the deck of woods and a small pond( that the hotel refers to as a lake). There is no pool nor spa although they do have a person who will come to your room for a massage. Service was non-existent...Our towels and amenities were not replenished unless it was requested on a form given to us at breakfast that day. The bed was never turned down at night and there was no way to request more towels because there was no phone in the room. As a Relais and Chateau property, we expected alot more than they were capable of.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank trip-agent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 27, 2007

We recently stayed at Canoe Bay for a much-anticipated relaxing weekend. Having read the website and knowing it was a Relais & Chateaux resort, we had high expectations that we felt justified the high prices. Unfortunately, our expectations were not met. While the resort portrays itself as a place to relax, we found it to be regimented and inflexible in a way that made it difficult to relax. For example, the dinner seatings are only within a 45 minute time period, arranged in advance. There is only one menu for the $75 fixed price three course dinner, and while other options are available they can carry supplemental charges of $25. The food was very good at times, but not always, which made it hard to justify the $75 or more fixed price price tag. You must specify when you will have breakfast a day in advance, leaving no flexibility to sleep in and call when you wake up (by the way, there are no phones in the rooms, meaning that any requests you have for personalized service must be made by walking or driving a quarter-mile or more to the reception desk). One day, we asked in advance to have breakfast served earlier the next day and were told it was not possible. We were genuinely puzzled that, rather than accommodating guests' preferences, Canoe Bay seemed to focus on the schedule it set. While it may take more staff to provide more individualized service, given the prices that Canoe Bay charges, we were surprised that it did not have the staff to accommodate reasonable flexibility in its guests. On the plus side, Canoe Bay had an excellent wine list and we enjoyed trying hard-to-find wines. If you like hiking outdoors, we suggest you try elsewhere than Canoe Bay, because we were covered with ticks after just a short walk on the property's trails (using the Canoe Bay-provided DEET spray). We concur with the other reviewers who commented that there is little to do in the surrounding area. Overall, while we liked some things about Canoe Bay (the library, wine, and quiet), we thought it was significantly over-priced for the quality of experience it provided.

Stayed: May 2007
28  Thank Wilson50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 4, 2006

Our stay at Canoe Bay was exactly what we expected – and needed. We both have unimaginably hectic lives, and we came to Canoe Bay for a weekend getaway. We travel frequently and have very high expectations of a property like this. We were more relaxed and refreshed after our two days here than after recent weeklong trips to Paris and French Polynesia (at Le Taha’a).

Our goal for the weekend was to relax, sleep in, reconnect, have some great food and wine, and maybe hike or canoe a little. If that is what you are after, then Canoe Bay is the place for you. We stayed in the Heavenly Suite, which is in the Inn. It is about 20 feet from the restaurant, and we enjoyed this proximity immensely. The room was outstanding – wall-to-wall windows overlooking the lake, two very private decks, and Frank Lloyd Wright-esque décor. The bathroom was very nice as well - a large double whirlpool tub and double shower.

We had two fabulous prix fixe dinners just steps from our room – one in the intimate lakeside dining room, and the other a private meal in the wine cellar. In the popular restaurant rating guide I’m sure you are familiar with, I’d rate the food a 26 (out of 30), which is on par with most top big-city restaurants. The wine selection is also outstanding – there are so many great vintages offered that we had trouble choosing. Breakfast and lunch were equally fabulous, and delivered to our room.

We even hiked on the trails for an hour or so – but had to get back to our room for our fantastic in-room massage!

The resort is expensive. Don’t come here if you are going to worry about that your whole stay. Although it is isolated and peaceful it is a relatively small property and if you are looking for an extreme Northwoods adventure, this probably isn’t the place for you either.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank IslandChief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews