We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View, Friendly”
Review of Shallows Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shallows Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed in a shoreside motel room. Beautiful view of the bay...First week they were open for the summer, so not too busy. But owners were on the site, friendly and very clean. I would especially recommend it as a summer place for families..

Room Tip: Not in the hub-bub of Door County, but we enjoyed the peace and quiet in the evenings away from stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grams72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2012

bday trip here and had great relaxing time with view/seating right on lake! beach us rocky so no sandcastles....but great pool, bikes to ride, basketball/tennis court, grills; continental brkfst good yummy rolls; rooms are cozy rustic with good homey comforts--this is lake house living not hotel stay....so realize rustic is charm! easy prkg and wonderful grounds; realize is a drive (or long walk) to egg harbor; no disabled rooms with showers was only disappointment for my father; cottages to stay in...our choice but sold out; GREAT locale for Door Cty fun...yet peaceful!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foodtravelqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

I organized a family vacation to celebrate my mom's 60th birthday. My parents love fall foliage so Egg Harbor in October seemed like the perfect spot. When I found the Shallow's West Ridge property, it felt like everything was coming together easily. Boy, was I wrong.

We left Chicago first thing in the morning. Imagine my surprise when I got an email that the West Ridge didn't have power. A strong storm had run through several days prior leaving most of the area without power. ISSUE #1: You waited until the morning of our check-in to notify me of a significant issue with the property? If you gave me 24 hours notice, I could have found another place in Door County OR cancel my reservation and just find stuff to do in Chicago with my parents. Oh wait, that's probably what you didn't want to happen...

So we're halfway to Egg Harbor when I called the front desk to assess the situation. They didn't want us to stay at the West Ridge because they couldn't clean it properly after the last guests. And there would be no heat because the thermostat needed power. Our alternative was to stay in a 2 bedroom unit at the Shallows property but that wasn't really an option for us since there were 5 adults. So I asked them if it'd still be possible for us to check into the West Ridge. After checking in with the owner, they agreed.

When I arrived at the Shallows to get the keys, the full story came out. Apparently, no power in Door County also means NO RUNNING WATER. Hello?? Shouldn't that have been the first thing you told me after notifying me of the power outage? You've been watching your guests lugging water out of your jacuzzi for the toilets so you can't say that it slipped your mind! And I can't believe you told me with a straight face that power outages commonly affects plumbing/water. The majority of US households is not on well water. And I got some serious attitude because I apparently "insisted" on checking into the West Ridge. I didn't insist. I politely asked if it was an option. ISSUE #2: Shady shady shady plus attitude.

Thankfully, we only endured one night and one morning without power. BUT I agonized over contingency plans the following day. The management's lack of transparency put some serious stress on what should have been a relaxing family vacation.

So why the 4 star review? Because the property is that beautiful. Trees everywhere giving you a sense of being in your own private forest. The outdoor patio is perfect for lounging with a wonderful view of the lake. It's a gorgeous home that I would love to own (would just need minor design tweaks).

Although it's a lakefront property, there's a little path that you need to follow to actually get to the lake. The path might be a bit of a challenge for small children and the elderly but should be doable with a little assistance. And the backyard is at a somewhat steep grade; not dangerous but not ideal for active little ones either.

Power outages are rare but the way the management handled the situation speaks volumes. I love the property but I'd think twice about staying there again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eliza C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We stayed at the Shallows over Labor Day Weekend. Our room was neat and clean, but certainly not modern. We loved overlooking the water and were awe-struck by the absolutely wonderful views. My husband and I enjoyed a sweet roll and coffee each morning. My daughters' favorite part were the complimentary bikes. They looked forward to riding each time we got back to the resort. The tennis and basketball courts were also fun. The grounds were well-taken care of and the flowers and plants were lovely. We will certainly visit the Shallows again next time we go to Door County.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4BZFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The Shallows was a great place to stay. We were busy during the day, so only used it for sleeping, but loved looking out over the bay each morning. We stayed in two different units in the motel, because we added an extra night. Room #4 (queen) was updated and had a small kitcheonette...very nice. Room #11 was a king...nice, but not updated.
It's a ways out of town, but we like the quiet. We couldn't get on the internet...not sure if
it was my old laptop, or other issues. This was definitely a good value.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lainie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

After staying at other resorts in Egg Harbor and being disappointed we tried Shallows Resort. We stayed at their Eagles Nest property. The cottage was located about a mile from the property and nestled in the woods. The cottage was squeaky clean and had everything we needed to fix our own meals including a BBQ grill. A screened in porch was perfect for dining and relaxing. We used the pool at the resort and they even provided us with beach towels. Coffee, juice, bagels, and sweet rolls were available free every morning at the resort along with the Milwaukee newspaper. Everyone we came in contact with were smiling, friendly, and wanting to know what they could do to make our stay better. We will return next year!!!

Room Tip: Call early as they fill up fast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackM2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We stayed here for a sisters weekend. We were so happy with the resort. It has beautiful grounds, very peaceful, nice views, and pretty quiet. It had everything you need for a fun vacation. If I had to find something to complain about I wish they had a little better breakfast maybe include some type of fruit. But that was it. Staff was very nice too. I can't wait to go back again with my kids and hubby. Wonderful!!

Room Tip: Beautiful view of Lake Mi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wendy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Egg Harbor
4 km away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
228 reviews
4.7 km away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
409 reviews
4.5 km away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 km away
AppleCreek Resort- Hotel & Suites
18.7 km away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#2 of 8 in Ephraim
831 reviews
17.4 km away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shallows Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shallows Resort

Address: 7353 Horseshoe Bay Rd, Egg Harbor, WI 54209-8943
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Egg Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Egg Harbor
Price Range: $125 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Shallows Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shallows Resort is a relaxed, family-friendly Door County resort located directly on shores of Green Bay. From our shoreline you can watch the sun set, launch one of the resort's canoes, kayaks, or rowboats and sit by the camp fire ...all in the seclusion of our Egg Harbor waterfront resort. We have a variety of accommodations and price points to meet your vacation needs. Make our Door County lodging your home base to tour the entire Door peninsula - we're centrally located to some of the area's best restaurants, parks, golf and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shallows Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shallows Hotel Egg Harbor
Shallows Resort Egg Harbor, WI - Door County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing