We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never again, twice disappointed, moldy rooms, tired and old” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Victorian Village Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Victorian Village Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Elkhart Lake
Chicagoland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Never again, twice disappointed, moldy rooms, tired and old”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

I can't believe they get away with $99 a night for such an old place. The walls are so paper thin you can hear the conversation in the next room (don't even get me started on trying to sleep with snoring from the room next door) Parking is very limited as well if you happen to be towing a car with a truck and trailer for Road America. We made the mistake of staying there twice thinking the 1st time was just because it was under renovation but I question what renovation because there was mold in the coffee maker and the room just smelled musty and old like a cellar. I can't emphasize enough how bad this experience was. I think camping would have been nicer and I don't camp! They can keep it, we'll stick with the Baymont for the same price and get a breakfast included!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    29
    18
    12
    10
See reviews for
44
31
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

The location is beautiful and offers one of the few clear lakes in WI plus an indoor and outdoor pool. I had my wedding here back in 2003 and have been enamored ever since. It has that great family feel because it is family owned and run. The bands playing on the Tiki Bar stage on summer weekend nightgs offers fun, free entertainment.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1TravelTips1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

We can't wait to schedule next year's vacation at the resort. The four of us stayed in a very spacious room with a king (excellent), roll away (average), and sofa bed (average). It was fine for the 2 nights we were there but we hope to get something larger next year to accommodate a longer stay our two teenagers and their late nights. The hotel and grounds are very inviting and well-maintained. The staff is excellent and the atmosphere relaxed.

Room Tip: The roll away and sofa bed are probably much more comfortable for smaller children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gejukran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

This is the perfect spot for a wedding. My daughter's wedding in 2004 was absolutely beautiful. Our entire family on both sides raved about it. The banquet was delicious and affordable. Her wedding was so beautiful that when my fiance and I decided to tie the knot, we chose the same place. We held our ceremony in the bistro which has a quaint and warm atmosphere for a small wedding, see photo. The village is a delightful surprise. We found a florist, a photographer, and a full-service salon all in walking distance. We love it here!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BobnJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

This resort is beautiful. The flower gardens are amazing . . . complete with artscapes! It's fun to walk around and find all the whimsical pieces "planted" amidst the foliage. There is a white sand beach, clear lake water and a swimming raft. You can rent a boat for skiing, rowing or to just putter around. And, there is an indoor and outdoor pool. This is a family friendly resort with plenty for all ages to do. My husband and I like the live music show after dark. The food is great too. Full hot breakfast comes free with the room.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jecav1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

Victorian Village is a quaint resort with outstanding architecture and scenery. The grounds are kept in pristine condition. The owners offer a delicious (AND FREE!) daily breakfast at their on-site fine dining restaurant, The Back Porch Bistro. Although I say "fine dining," the restaurant is warm and friendly and happy to cater to families. The outdoor pool overlooking the lake, clean lake with beach and boat rentals, and Tiki bar/restaurant with live music on weekends made our vacation one to remember. We visit every summer and look forward to it all year. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank southernbelle770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

The location, grounds, landscaping, and outdoor atmosphere couldn't be better! There are countless beautiful areas to sit and relax and soak up the sun, or to rest in the shade of mature trees. The room atmosphere wasn't our favorite, probably just a matter of personal preference,but we spent all of our time outside anyway! We thoroughly enjoyed all of the amenities during our mid-week stay. Our supper at the Bistro was absolutely outstanding. Dining outside in the morning sun at breakfast was a perfect start to our day. The outdoor pool and hot tub are perfectly situated with a view of the spring fed lake. Every employee with which we were in contact was so friendly--genuinely friendly, and happy to help with anything from changing our room location to taking a picture for us! A very relaxing get away!

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank fam6plus2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elkhart Lake
10.4 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Plymouth
9.9 km away
52 Stafford
52 Stafford
#4 of 5 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
10.4 km away
AmericInn Plymouth
AmericInn Plymouth
#3 of 5 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 km away
La Quinta Inn Sheboygan
La Quinta Inn Sheboygan
#5 of 11 in Sheboygan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
24.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Sheboygan - Kohler (I-43)
26.1 km away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel - Sheboygan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Village Resort

Property: Victorian Village Resort
Address: 279 Victorian Village Drive, Elkhart Lake, WI 53020
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Elkhart Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Elkhart Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Victorian Village Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Victorian Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victorian Village Hotel Elkhart Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing