We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fall stay in Door county” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Edgewater Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Edgewater Resort
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ephraim
Certificate of Excellence
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fall stay in Door county”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

This condominium rental is the best. It is quiet as it isn't in one of Door county's big towns but very close to all the other cities and their hububs. ALso the post office restaraunt attached is phenominal and very reasonably priced. The edgwater is super clean, the staff friendly and helpful. Just cannot say enough good about it. We have stayed here for 16
years in a row in the fall.

Room Tip: Pick one facing the bay. I like the full living room, kitchen option as we cook in one night and k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SueWeimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    153
    53
    14
    12
See reviews for
150
456
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Suamico, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

My husband and I were able to sneak away for a night without kids and made a last minute reservation here. It was absolutely perfect! Very nice rooms with fireplace, tv/dvd player in living area and bedroom. Whirlpool in bedroom and had a water view from the living room on the first floor, which this time of year was probably not necessary and we couldn't see much as we were right behind the pool. We will definitely stay again...great location right in Ephraim! Could even walk to Wilson's in the summer time!

Room Tip: If you want a true water view, it is probably worth the money to be on 2nd floor. We had a "wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EWRGM, General Manager at Edgewater Resort, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are pleased to hear that you had such a great time on you get away! I hope you can find the time again in the summer to stay on the 2nd floor. The staff and I thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watertown, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

We stayed at the Edgewater Resort after staying in an awful motel that we found to be mold infested. It was a busy weekend in Door County and we didn't think we would find a room anywhere. Much to our surprise if we took a whirlpool suite we could get in at the edgewater. It was more then we wanted to spend for the night but well worth the money. The room had a full kitchen with fireplace and a whirlpool for two with a large walk-in shower. The four poster bed was so comfy and the view even though it was a side room was still wonderful. The big rolling walk around decks were impressive. There was nothing we didn't like about our stay. This will be our #1 stay location on any Door County trip we take. You want luxury in a perfect location, then the Edgewater is your next stay too. LOVED IT!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annaliese M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EWRGM, General Manager at Edgewater Resort, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
We are glad to hear that we could help with your trip and thank you for your wonderful comments. We continuously offer luxury in our resort to guests that want to come to Door County and have an extraordinary experience. Your great comments have been shared with the staff and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

I took my wife here for her birthday. Neither of us had ever been to door county so i wanted to see what truly was the best taste of door county hotel-experience wise. This met our expectations and then some. The view of the harbor was absolutely beautiful from our own private balcony. The room was so spacious that it was actually larger than our condominium that we live in. It wasnt a hotel room, more like a luxury apartment victorian style. The staff was extremely friendly and we would highly recommend anyone to stay here. We stayed during the offseason and the room rate was still very reasonable. This area is extremely quiet and relaxing during winter. We can forsee how it can get super busy during the warmer months and would recommend that this is probably going to be the best time of the year to come. Special thanks to the staff for making this the best hotel experience since our honeymoon in Alaska.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GizzynFuzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EWRGM, General Manager at Edgewater Resort, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Thank you for choosing Edgewater on your recent visit to Door County and for sharing your experience. We strive to offer our guest not just a hotel stay but an experience. I have shared your comments with the staff and we look forward to welcoming you back, maybe on a second honeymoon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watertown, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

We had a wonderful stay with our romance package for 2 nights. We choose this as I was 7 1/2 months pregnant and wanted to do "one last getaway" They could not offer the dinner in our room so gave us a gift cert for a very nice restaurant for $100 to use for dinner instead which I think I liked better! The hotel room was beautiful. It was a one bedroom with a very beautiful in room whirlpool tub. When we returned home though we shortly after found out that we brought bedbugs back with us. We contacted the hotel immediately and they said they would look into it (later acknowledging they "took care of it")and They sent us a gift certificate for one night expiring a year from our original date of stay(all off season since we were home with a new baby during peak season of course). I was disappointed as I expected to at least be reimbursed for both nights or at least the gift cert for 2 nights. They did not offer to cover any of our expenses for the getting rid of the bedbugs (let alone a the emotional drain of a very pregnant woman trying to rid her home of bedbugs).

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank dena w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herman77, General Manager at Edgewater Resort, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Thank you for staying with us last spring. We do apologize for the inconvenience this has caused you. It is very unfortunate that some guests do not bring this to our attention. We are grateful that you have brought this concern forward and it has been addressed. Due to the recent epidemic of bugs in hotels our property team has become very aware of this situation and have since been trained on how to identify any outbreaks. We do again apologize that this was not caught before your arrival. We hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

We visited Door County on the off-season to enjoy winter hiking at Peninsula State Park. This resort is a peaceful getaway for both families and couples alike. The room was gorgeous, the kitchen well-stocked, and the bed was very comfortable. The manager on site was very helpful and friendly. We will definitely be back! Absolutely exceeded all of our expectations!
Note to LGBT travelers: This resort is LGBT-friendly. My partner and I were treated with the utmost respect, something that doesn't always happen at Door County resorts.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herman77, General Manager at Edgewater Resort, responded to this review, 19 January 2012
Thank you for your posting your review here about your latest visit to Door County. I was happy to hear about your positive experience staying with the Edgewater Resort. We would agree that this time of year is absolutely beautiful with the snow and ice. More snow is on the way, pack your skis for your next visit. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakbrook Terrace, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

A wonderful, beautfiul hotel. Seemed more like home that a hotel. So peaceful and friendly. The location is prime. We loved our walks in the morning overlooking the water. Don't miss breakfast at the Old Post Office restuarant.

We had a great experience, also with the manager, Bryan. He was very helpful, and friendly.

We can't wait to return to this serene beautiful hotel

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cbnancyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herman77, General Manager at Edgewater Resort, responded to this review, 16 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write about your Edgewater experience. Now that winter is here we have added some great new packages. Ring in the New Year with two half hour massages or join us for a trolley tour and sleigh ride for out winter wonderland package. As this reviewer noted we are sure to make you feel more at home. Thank you again for your response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ephraim
4.7 km away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
14.3 km away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
6.1 km away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 km away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
35.3 km away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
15.0 km away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Resort

Property: Edgewater Resort
Address: 10040 Water Street, Highway 42, Ephraim, WI 54211
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Ephraim
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ephraim
#6 Family Hotel in Ephraim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Door County, Wisconsin - Relax at one of Door County's most historic and sought out waterfront resorts. Located in the heart of Ephraim, Wisconsin overlooking scenic Eagle Harbor. A Sense of Simplicity. Visitors to the Edgewater Resort often comment that it's the most relaxing place they've ever stayed - full of today's comforts yet so reminiscent of the past. Whether guests gather on a covered veranda at sunset, unwind in a soothing hot tub, or stroll along the shoreline, they experience a sense of going back ... to a time that was much simpler and much more relaxed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Edgewater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Ephraim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing