We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Astor House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Green Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Astor House
Ranked #1 of 2 Green Bay B&B and Inns
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 29 October 2009

What a surprise to find a city inn with such simple charm. Nothing fancy, but very special, unique, delightful, and the perfect place to rest on a relaxing trip. Great innkeeping of a beautiful old home (at a great cost), tasty breakfast, luscious bedding, and a great jacuzzi. Good recommendation for a great restaurant. Have told all of my friends, and hope to stay again. S. Orange

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oranjesym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    13
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
70
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2009

What fun to find a jacuzzi in a peaceful alcove with low lights. Putting on a little quiet music, and my husband finally got a chance to relax and start his vacation! The breakfast was very good and ... delivered to our room in the morning! What a treat! And, Greg gave us quick driving tips to a restaurant we were seeking, saving us time since we didn't have GPS in our auto. The Astor House is old with lots of history; has to be a pain (and expense) to maintain regularly! Some exterior painting and cleaning was needed, but the interior room was clean, and that was what was important to us.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank visit_Saint_Louis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, WI
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2009

My husband and I stayed here for the night of our wedding. The hosts were incredibly accomodating for our late night entry, and even got up to greet us. They were sweet enough to let my husband enter earlier in the day to get us all set up. The breakfast was wonderful, though small. We will stay again!

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKHintz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mendota Heights, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2008

The Astor House web site paints an accurate picture of the rooms and common areas. The service (by Greg), the functionality of the room (The Marseilles Garden Room), the appointments and comfort exceeded our expectations. The web site booking was effortless. The location of the Astor House is an additional plus, not far from Lambeau Field. Further, Greg spent time at breakfast with us discussing a multitude of subjects. The grounds are beautifully groomed with many, many flowers.

Being from Minnesota Viking Land, I will recommend The Astor House highly to all our friends who travel to Green Bay to see the Vikings rout the "pack" each year.

  • Liked — Functionality of room
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Vikings04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2008

Stayed in the London Room at the Astor House on our way to Door County, Wisconsin. We had read good reviews so wanted to try a night in Green Bay. Greg, the innkeeper, was very charming and the highlight of our stay. What a nice man. The room was clean and historic. We have to say we were disapointed with the breakfast though. When staying at B&B's, having a hot breakfast is what we look forward to. However, at the Astor House we were given a small bowl of fruit and a bagel. Which were good, but we were expecting more and were hungry a half hour later. All in all a good experience but expected more breakfast.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank chicagogirl1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2008

We've stayed at the Astor twice -- in a total of three rooms (London, Marseilles Garden, and Hong Kong) and had a marvelous time! Delightfully restored house in historic district of Green Bay. Each themed room nicely decorated -- fireplaces, large whirlpool tubs, chocolates, king size beds -- now I call that romantic. Great Breakfast and charming host -- I'm glad to have family nearby as an excuse to stay here again.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fram143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fuquay-varina nc
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2007

The Astor House is a great place to stay in Green Bay Wisconsin.We stayed in the London room.The room was fantastic as was the breakfast that was brought up to our room each morning in a basket.
The ownership does a great job in creating a warm atmosphere and relaxing environment.I highly reccommend the Astor House.You can check them out online at [--].
Ray & Becky Moffett

  • Liked — The room, breakfast and service was fantastic.
  • Disliked — Nothing..The place was great.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raybeck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Green Bay hotels
1.5 km away
Hampton Inn Green Bay Downtown
1.4 km away
Hyatt Regency Green Bay
Hyatt Regency Green Bay
#5 of 41 in Green Bay
800 reviews
0.7 km away
Days Inn & Suites Green Bay WI.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#25 of 41 in Green Bay
152 reviews
3.0 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Green Bay
Hilton Garden Inn Green Bay
#11 of 41 in Green Bay
614 reviews
3.1 km away
SpringHill Suites Green Bay
SpringHill Suites Green Bay
#15 of 41 in Green Bay
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astor House

Property: Astor House
Address: 637 S Monroe Ave, Green Bay, WI 54301-3614
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Green Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Green Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Astor House offers luxuriously comfortable, contemporary lodging in the small setting of an historic home. Whether you are passing through on your way to or from Door County or Michigan's UP, visiting the city for business travel, a Packer game (We DO NOT raise our rates for Packer game weekends!), To bike the Fox River Trail, or for a wedding night, anniversary, or a night away from the little ones, you will find the Astor House is your special place to stay in Green Bay. We are conveniently located on Green Bay's east side, only blocks from downtown area and the popular Fox River Trail for biking and jogging. Lambeau Field is only four miles or about eight minutes away. We are only ten to fifteen minutes away from the Oneida Casino and Door County is only 23 miles from our driveway. We are close to the Meyer Theater, fifteen minutes from the UW Green Bay campus and the Weidner Center. The Astor House offers convenient off street parking for our guests. Our five distinctively decorated rooms were created to cater to your comfort and convenience. Four of the rooms feature double whirlpool tubs. Most rooms also have a gas fireplace. Each room has a spacious private bath. All rooms have cable television, VCR and/or DVD, a stereo system with CD player and tape deck, small refrigerator, private telephone line, and air-conditioning. All rooms offer free wireless high- speed internet access. After a great night's sleep in one of our comfy Queen or King beds, you will have the option of enjoying a delightful hot continental plus breakfast served to you in either our parlor or delivered to your door, complete with some of the best coffees and teas you are likely to find outside of your own kitchen. Each year, the Astor House welcomes hundreds of new or returning guests from all over the world; people who have discovered the comfort, convenience, value, and warm hospitality of Green Bay's Bed and Breakfast. We invite you to visit our website and learn more about the Astor House. We look forward to greeting you on your visit to Green Bay! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing