We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveller rating
7
6
1
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
7
6
1
0
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 16 reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2016 via mobile

My mom, my kids, and I took an evening boat tour of Horicon Marsh and wanted to stay overnight in the area. The Royal Oaks Motel was perfect for this. We had reserved a room ahead, then checked in before leaving for the tour from the boat landing, which is only a mile or less away. Our room was simple but clean and - to our great delight after two chilly hours on the boat - the heat worked very well! Very reasonable price. Kind of 1950's motel vintage. Would stay here again for a similar-type stay in the area. Drove to Lomira (Susie's Home Cooking) for a tasty breakfast the next morning. (*If* you are looking for on-site breakfast and some pampering for a special-occasion getaway, then check out the nearby Honey Bee Inn Bed & Breakfast.)

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
4  Thank MilwaukeeMutti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 11, 2016

We stopped in Horicon, WI to visit the bird sanctuary (amazing) at Horicon Marsh. Royal Oaks was the closest hotel to where the boat tour started so we opted to stay there. We were very happy with our room and the owners and employees were all extremely nice and accommodating. The rates are cheap and although the rooms are dated everything is clean and everything works. They even gave out carnations to the women staying there (it was mother's day) :) Nice little place.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 15, 2015

Nice owners, clean rooms.....reasonable prices. Great location to see the marsh and take the pontoon trip. will definitely be back in May for the migration. Excellent town with plenty to do. Quiet off road

Date of stay: October 2015
1  Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 20, 2015 via mobile

Beautiful motel, that is cheap but safe and family friendly. We got the chance to get to know some of the long term residents. They were friendly, helpful, sweet and made our vacation memorable and amazing.. don't skip the pontoon tour of horicon marsh!! A must see when you stay!

Date of stay: July 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Megan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 5, 2015

The Royal Oaks is definitely a throw back to the early 1950s. The room was paneled in wood (probably pine) and had few updates. Reminded me of the "Up North" or in the mountains motels you see from the late 40s and early 50s. No phone in the room but in this day of cell phones that is not important. A basic accommodation but it was very clean and warm (it was -13 degrees the night I stayed there). All-in-all a comfortable stay. They had added Dish Network and flat screen TVs which was nice. I paid $45 for one night.

Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews