We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Date night with the hubby ”

The Nova Restaurant & Wine Bar
Ranked #19 of 98 Restaurants in Hudson
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 8 April 2017 via mobile

I love the nova the food is always great and they change their menu for the season so it's nice to be able get something different every time. One thing that seems to always be on the menu is the fajitas and they are amazing! Great wine selection too. It's small and they don't take reservations so plan on a wait most days, but it's worth it. Try to sit by the fireplace in the winter. They do have live music sometimes as well. Probably not a place kids would appreciate though. So get a sitter and enjoy!

Thank Kristi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 April 2017

Krist,i thanks for stopping by and we are glad you got to enjoy and night out with your husband. We appreciate the kind words and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
There are newer reviews for The Nova Restaurant & Wine Bar
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2017

I happened upon this place when travelling through Hudson, WI. We stopped for a glass of wine on our way to find someplace for dinner. The wine was good. the bartender was friendly and not pretentious. We decided to have a appetizer or two. they were so good we decided to stay at the Nova for dinner. What an excellent decision.

Impressive wine list. Extensive micro-brew beer list. Great Scotch offering!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank russelll765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2017 via mobile

Ordered the special... pasta with locally sourced chicken of the woods mushrooms and it was amazing! Mostly, I loved the ambiance... warm and cozy with friendly staff. Will definitely be returning.

Thank Kdmalrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2017

We recently went here for a mid-week lunch. We were greeted and immediately seated by the pleasant server (Jessica) who helped us through the menu selections and beer options. We enjoyed the fig salad and delicious creamy soup of the day. I really enjoyed the tap- Zombie Dust.. now a favorite. Lunch hour is generally pretty quiet, so easy parking and good service are readily available. Just a few blocks off I-94 with easy off/on access.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 January 2017

John thanks for stopping by to see us for lunch. Jessica is one of our great staff members and we are glad you got to enjoy some Zombie Dust and were pleased with the soup and fig salad. Thanks again for stopping by and we hope to see you again soon.

Tyrrell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2017

My wife and I have been dining in Hudson for many years and finally decided to try out The Nova. We are glad we did.

Atmosphere: The decor was eclectic, but it definitely worked and was very cozy. A little cramped, but it did not really detract from our dining experience. Got a table for 2 in the middle of the room, but would have loved to sit at the high-backed chairs next to the walls. Those looked really fun for an extended dinner. There was a live guitarist that was pretty good. She played cover music from the 90's that was pretty cool. Overall one of the better settings in Hudson. Becky on the wait staff was very friendly and personable.

Drinks: There is a rotating tap beer list that offered many different styles. I love to try new beers and tend to like dark beer. I was not disappointed in the list. Some really unique choices that I enjoyed. The wine list was extensive and good. For wine and beer there isn't a better option in Hudson.

Food. For apps we ordered the olives. Olives were very good and we got a lot! We then split the Panko breaded pan fried walleye which was unbelievably good. The wild rice side was very bland, just the rice. Finished up with carrot cake which was excellent.

All in all, one of the better places to eat in Hudson for couples or a small group of friends.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Brandon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 January 2017

Brandon thanks for stopping in to check us out with your wife this last weekend. We are very happy you enjoyed everything and we will keep those dark beers on tap and rotating for you. Cheers and we hope to see you again soon.

Tyrrell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Nova Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Nova Restaurant & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing