We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I've never had sheets made from sandpaper before...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hudson House Grand Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Hudson
letrips66
Level Contributor
184 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“I've never had sheets made from sandpaper before...”
Reviewed 20 August 2011

and that's really my only complaint. Everything else was fine for an inexpensive hotel. We got the right size room, the room was big enough, the bathroom was neat, the breakfast was pretty decent for complimentary, but the sheets were awful. This would keep me from staying again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank letrips66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    17
    11
    10
    8
See reviews for
27
16
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

The staff was very friendly. We checked in with no issues. The room initially smelled like it had been a smoking room in the past. Don't let that deter you from staying here. The only drawback to this hotel is that the walls are paperthin. So thin that we heard the man snoring next door. Turn on the air conditioner and it is not an issue. Breakfast was AWESOME. Again the staff was great. This hotel is a great place for an overnight stay

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andratango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stillwater, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We had our wedding reception here. The food at nearly $20 a plate was awful, actually down right embarrassing. The room we had rented had no air conditioning and on a July day with the temp at 87 and high humidity, it was hotter than hades. Our complaints warranted nothing and we were running around the hotel taking fans from wher ever we could get them. We had a room reserved for our over night guest to eat breakfst the next morning and watch us open gifts. We were told by the head waitress when we got there that no one had told her and that it would be too much work for them. Lots of staff talking about other staff members and just very unprofessional. They did give us a 10% discount on our final bill, which we had to insist on. Please........just pass this place of your list of possiblities.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peg1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hudson hotels

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2011

Why stay here:

1. Cheap room
2. Smoking allowed in the hallways
3. Indoor pool, hot tub, and sauna
4. In-laws live in Hudson, WI
5. Free HBO, free internet service, and breakfast


Why to avoid staying here:

1. Cheap room
2. Hallways reeked of smoke
3. Indoor pool could be far from your room (sucked walking in cold, smelly hallways)
4. Probably newer and cleaner hotels nearby
5. Old TV in our room didn't work well
6. Room was clean, but everything we touched felt "greasy & dirty"

Didn't try "free breakfast" because we didn't want to put our winter coats on for the cold, long walk through the smoke-filled hallways to the lobby.

Even if the price were around $50/night, we would not stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MKEnative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden Valley, MN
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2010

I stayed at this hotel this past Saturday night, and was very impressed. I ate in the bar, which was very tasty. Burgers and hot wings were yummy, and the bartender was friendly and told me about what I could do around town. The drinks were good and reasonably priced. After getting back, I took a dip in the pool/hot tub (well maintained) and hit the sack. The room was nice and clean, which is what I look for in a hotel room... Breakfast the next morning was good... Lots of variety and the staff greeted us with a smile. I would go back.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spaceace0023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippewa Falls WI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2009

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for a wedding. Our room was down the hall from the pool and there seemed to be a lot of children around us. It was extremely noisy the next morning. We could hear the showers in the rooms next to us as if they were in our room. We could hear people talking in the hall, door shutting, kids running up and down the hall. Our room was incredibly dirty. There was dust everywhere. There was a loose tile in the bathroom.

At breakfast the next morning, the coffee cups on our table had been washed but there was still food stuck in them. I ordered the fruit plate and had extremely fuzzy, moldy grapes on my plate. I don't see how the cook or waitstaff did not notice that my food was moldy before bringing it out. The waitstaff was extremely unfriendly and did smile or greet anyone.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank follownocrowd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
85 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2008

We stayed at this hotel with a group. The rooms were large and obviously recently refurbished. There are refrigerators and microwaves in every room - that was great! The hallway outside our room was the only access to the indoor pool, so the hallway was noisy but didn't bother us too much.

The air conditioner was very noisy and kept us awake at night as it kicked on and off every 5 minutes or so.

The room price includes breakfast, but it is somewhat different than most. It is a "sit down" restaurant with a 5 item breakfast menu. The restaurant was small and with such a large hotel, there were people always waiting to get in. Get there by 7:30 am to avoid a wait. The Wait Staff had difficulty keeping up. The breakfast entrees were very good and worth the wait.

The hotel is fine - just a few minor problems.

  • Liked — Room Amenities
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WDMTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hudson hotels
0.3 km away
Royal Inn - Hudson
Royal Inn - Hudson
#3 of 8 in Hudson
91 reviews
1.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hudson
1.5 km away
Comfort Suites Hudson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 8 in Hudson
69 reviews
1.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hudson-I-94
1.2 km away
Fairfield Inn Hudson
Fairfield Inn Hudson
#5 of 8 in Hudson
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hudson House Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hudson House Grand Hotel

Property: Hudson House Grand Hotel
Address: 1616 Crest View Dr, PO Box 146, Hudson, WI 54016-9408
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Hudson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Hudson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Hudson House Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hudson Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing