We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful home!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
La Pointe, Wisconsin

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
73dg
Streator, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not what we expected based on other reviews”
Reviewed September 21, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I'm going to take the blame for this and say I must not have read the description of the property closely enough. I just want to make sure others don't make the same mistake. I was under the impression my husband and I were renting a one bedroom cabin for the night but it turned out to be just the bedroom. We were told the kitchen and living room were shared areas and we did use a space in the fridge for perishables but did not feel comfortable being in either of the other areas room. It was definitely a bachelor pad!
We met Paul, the owner, the next day and he is a nice person. I agree with the other reviewers here. We enjoyed sitting on the porch, drinking wine and listening to coyotes howl in the woods. The gunshots were a little unexpected. Our next trip to Madeline Island will be a day trip.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara G
1 review
“Beautiful home!”
Reviewed August 25, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed 3 nights and loved it! Close to everything, lovely home, very nice host. Paul (owner) gave us the run of his home (living room, kitchen, bikes, deck, fire pit, etc). He treated us as family, and we enjoyed a new friendship.
I will definitely stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: I liked the feeling of visiting a friend's home.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff B
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Getaway ”
Reviewed February 15, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for a one night special getaway for Valentines Day. Cabin is very nice and cozy, and Paulie was very helpful getting us settled in. We wanted the place to ourselves, so we paid for 2 nights for the owner to vacate for the night. Overall, very pleased with the cabin, only a few small things I would change for comfort. The room space is nice, the bed is too small for 2 people, and very stiff. I would recommend that Paulie invest in a Queen size bed at minimum for the room, and a more comfortable couch in the living room area. Would definitely consider staying again if the comfort items were addressed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamander2...
Minnetonka, Minnesota
1 review
“Nice relaxing place!”
Reviewed September 1, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

My Husband and I stayed here one night over Labor Day Weekend. It's right on Madeline Island, so the location is close to walk to all the shops and restaurants. The cabin itself is brand new and in great condition, it's a good size room with a bathroom and a shower to use. Guests are welcome to use anything in the kitchen, nice amenities. There's a wrap around patio, that is gorgeous to see all the beautiful scenery and very relaxing to sit back and take it all in. The hospitality was more then awesome. The owner, Paulie, was super courteous and very friendly, gave us info we needed for our stay. It's also pet friendly, so we got to bring our Golden Retriever with us, which was very much appreciated! We would definitely recommend staying here!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel222...
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
“Great Madeline Island location”
Reviewed August 13, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Paul is a great host, and we really enjoyed our time staying at his cozy and clean home. I wholeheartedly recommend his place!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle...
Cottage Grove, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“personally I would not recommend”
Reviewed August 13, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Not really the best place to stay. Was warned that we may have to go to the cellar to turn off the septic alarm because it was full and we should be conservative with our water consumption.
The shower was not cleaned and the soap that was supplied was used or left from another customer in the shower with hair on it. The location was good. Not far from town. The host was very nice and polite.
He welcomed us as we got off the ferry and showed us where things were.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean L
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
“Great place. Great location. Highly recommended!!”
Reviewed July 29, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

A great place to stay and reasonably priced! Just a short walk/drive/bike ride from downtown La Pointe, yet still private and surrounded by woods. Recently built, with all the comforts of home, including satellite TV. I highly recommend this place, whether you're looking to spend a day or a week on Madeline Island!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing