We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“An escape close to home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Geneva Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Geneva Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Oak Creek, Wisconsin
1 review
“An escape close to home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

Beautiful hotel and service, already booking the next visit!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rmatchett7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDGGRS, General Manager at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Thank you for your recent posting. I look forward to your return visit and if I can be of assistance to you now or at any time in the future, please do not hesitate to contact my office at 262-249-4713.

Sincerely,

Brett Sundstrom
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,002 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,229
    405
    183
    105
    80
See reviews for
493
768
40
292
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (665)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

I made reservations 90 days in advance for a conference to ensure that I would have a room in the main facility and not the neighboring Timber Ridge Lodge. I called the day I was to check in to verify the cancellation policy, and was told my card would be charged for two nights as the policy is 72 hrs in advance for cancellation, so I interpreted this to mean that there was a room reserved for me. I checked in late, about 10:30pm, and was told non-nonchalantly that my room was actually at Timber Ridge. I called the B.S. card and assured the front desk staff that my reservation was specifically for the Grand Geneva Resort as I didn't want to be changing buildings from where the conference was being held. I then learned that the Resort was overbooked and I got booted to Timber Ridge. I was quite unhappy about this as I intentionally made reservations far enough in advance to prevent this from happening. That being said, the reason I gave the experience a 4/5 is because of the friendliness of the staff and the accommodations they provided to make it right. Aaron Osborne, the Director of Rooms, came greeting me the following morning to personally apologize for the mishap and explain the situation that occurred to cause the overbooking. I appreciated his efforts to reach out, and he also upgraded our room both nights and, in the end, I was not charged for the rooms. The staff was professional and apologetic throughout the weekend. One comment about the premier suite that we stayed in. i was surprised that there was no microwave. Fridge, seating area for entertaining, no mircowave. I expected one. Also, the lighting in the bathroom is fair, at best. There is a magnified and back lit makeup mirror attached to the wall, but the can lights in the ceiling are not sufficient (even with the makeup mirror) to see well. The way the can lights are installed in the ceiling actually cast shadows on your face while looking into the mirror. I also thought the way the room was laid out was funky - you walk past the bed to the entertainment room that is separated by a pocket door. So if someone wants to go to bed early, you have to walk through the "bedroom" to exit the room. i would think you would want to reverse the entertainment room position with the bed so if someone wants to go to bed they can be left alone without people walking past them to leave.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, the executive suite is the way to go for the private bedroom. However, even t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

Our children surprised us with a Groupon gift to the Grand Geneva, which included a one night stay and two rounds of golf. From the minute we checked in, we felt welcome, being upgraded to a lakeside room from the standard courtside view. The room was very spacious and well appointed, with coffee maker, mini fridge and even a tv built into the bathroom mirror!
After a dinner in Lake Geneva, we returned and sat around the large firepit and chatted with other people, all of whom were enjoying themselves.

It got even better the next day on the golf course. We played the Highlands, which is not terribly challenging but in good shape. Cart, tees, divot repair tool and marker all comped. Plenty of people to take care of our every need, from drive up bag stand to cleaning the clubs at the end of the round.

Perfect getaway.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Midwest_vagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDGGRS, General Manager at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Thank you for your recent posting. I was glad to read that you were able to enjoy one of our award winning courses as well as the extra amenities that we provide at our resort.
Sincerely,

Brett Sundstrom
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

This was my first time to Grand Geneva and I went on this trip alone. Upon arrival I had a last minute change in plans on my transportation. I called the concierge (Jan) and she was able to get me a car service to the resort from the O'Hare airport. Which turned out to be nice considering that I didn't have an enjoyable flight. All the staff was very pleasant and helpful, especially Jan the concierge. She helped make my trip pleasant and enjoyable, she helped fill in things for me to do in between my spa treatments. Speaking of the spa, it was great (all services) and well kept. I hightly recommend the hot stone massage which was outstanding. The food at the restaurants was really good as well, a little pricey which I expected. There was not much of a nightlife at the resort which I didn't mind. I was told that there busy times are during the summer, spring break, and winter. If you are looking for not so much business going on, I would recommend the spring time after spring break. During this time that I was (mid-April) there I did not exprience a time where any of the places or restaurants were extremely busy. I would recommend this place to anyone and I will be returning for another vacation in the future.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Faith845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

We had a organizational meeting here April 18-20, 2012. Everything was great. The food at the Chop house was delish. the atmosphere was beautiful and mystique of the reason the resort was developed was interesting. I would like all our retreats to be here.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Local69er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

service excellent .clean and spa very clean.Loved the room and conference area. Room was very clean and comfortable (lots of pillows). I would recomend to others and go back if given a chance.

Room Tip: suites are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut, IL
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

My wife and I took a quick overnight trip to Lake Geneva. Services and amenities were excellent as advertised. It's not the cheapest way to enjoy Wisconsin, but we thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at the Italian restaraunt and after dinner drinks at Evolve. The staff was courteous and polite through the stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Geneva hotels
1.0 km away
Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark
5.8 km away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#1 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
9.0 km away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#9 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Maxwell Mansion
Maxwell Mansion
#4 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
3.2 km away
Cove of Lake Geneva
Cove of Lake Geneva
#11 of 15 in Lake Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
10.1 km away
Inns Of Geneva National
Inns Of Geneva National
#12 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Geneva Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Geneva Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Geneva Resort & Spa
Address: 7036 Grand Geneva Way, at Hwys 50 East & 12, Lake Geneva, WI 53147-5105
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lake Geneva
#2 Spa Hotel in Lake Geneva
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lake Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Geneva Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Geneva® Resort is the place to meet. Whether a corporate meeting, convention or a gathering with friends and family, the endless range of meeting rooms & space and activities will keep everyone engaged. Conveniently located between Chicago and Milwaukee, there is so much to do at Lake Geneva’s only four diamond resort.Corporate travelers and families alike will find what they need to re-focus, relax or rev-up. With over 62,000 square feet of banquet space, guests have multiple options to choose from for that important business meeting, church retreat, wedding reception or family vacation. Or take time and enjoy a relaxing experience at the newly renovated WELL Spa or one of many dining options, while an indoor waterpark and kid’s program offer the excitement kids crave. Enjoy a group bonfire at the horse stables, a fast plunge down a ski hill, a serene walk through the trails or a drive down a fairway on two championship golf courses – all situated on Grand Geneva’s seemingly endless acres.No matter your reason for meeting….it’s all here in one Grand location in Lake Geneva, Wisconsin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Grand Geneva Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Geneva Hotel Lake Geneva
Grand Geneva Resort And Spa
Grand Geneva Lake
Lake Geneva Illinois

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing