We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy vacation with a little one”
Review of Mill Creek Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mill Creek Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We took our year old daughter with us up here for a weekend away. The set up of the unit was perfect for us. The kitchen was sufficient, most importantly this place was spotless. The pool was smaller than we would have liked, but that is a minor thing. The location is great-easy walk into town and to the lake. We look forward to staying here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the lake-on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mecanoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (460)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

387 - 393 of 460 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2011

My first impression of Mill Creek was that it was an incredible, well maintained boutique hotel with lovely, clean rooms. We stayed back in 2006 and were very pleased with the stay. We wanted to return for our wedding anniversary this year and reserved the Mill Creek for Sat 11/12/11. Plans changed due to some medical issues and I needed to cancel the reservation (a generous 2 weeks in advance.)

My $99/night room charge was refunded to my credit card. Great! But, a so called "$35 non refundable bank fee" was then charged to my credit card, with tax, so for abiding by the reservation terms and cancelling well in advance, we were still charged almost $40, nearly half the cost of the room.

I talked to the manager, who could absolutely care less about retaining guests or customer service. He stated this is a "legal fee, most hotels charge people for cancelling." We have travelled all over the country, cancelled reservations and have NEVER been charged for NOT staying.

He was not helpful whatsoever. I told him we loved the hotel and were disappointed that we can never go back due to the complete lack of care for guest services and fairness. Seriously, a $35+ "bank fee" for cancelling? Bull.

Please, save yourself the trouble and don't stay here. It's a shame because it's a great hotel in a great location. Try the Cove next door, which is lovely or the Comfort Suites down the road. We've stayed at both and could not have been more pleased.

Good luck with business during this economy with customer service like this.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank danam1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

We stayed here for our anniversary. We were looking forward to the fireplace but ours would not turn on. We told the front desk about it but nothing was done. We reminded her two more times but she always had an excuse for why nobody was available to light the pilot. She then gave us a different room key but that room smelled pretty bad so we did not move. Also, the light outside our balcony would not turn off and shone brightly into the bedroom all night. We were disappointed and will not return.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank peopleofearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

This was just an overnight holiday. My husband and I could NOT believe how beautiful it was! The suite was so comfortable and perfect for the 2 of us. We loved the jacuzi tub and really had a great stay. We didn't want to leave the room!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Audra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Stayed for two nights and bound to return soon. Girls trip ended with two nights here after great reviews on trip advisor. It's as good as everyone said!!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salehfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Not sure where the other reviews are coming from. My husband and I stayed at Mill Creek Hotel for the weekend. It was nice to get away for a few days. I loved the downtown location, close to town and close to the beach. We could walk around the town, in and out of shops, or walk down to the beach and relax. Our room was very nice, great jacuzzi tub and comfy robes! Restaurants are within walking distance, too. Deneen was great with suggestions on restaurants and what to do and see around town. We were very pleased with our visit and hope to get back there soon.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Fontaine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

On September 10, our anniversary #6, we got a room at Mill Creek, just by luck. Due to alot of weddings that weekend, we were out of luck. We had our first romantic getaway at Mill Creek and had hoped to stay there. I called to see if there was any cancellations and Daneen, the front desk superstar, checked and found a no show for us. This top floor unit was perfect and we enjoyed the jacuzzi just as much as we did over 6 years ago.
Being only 36 units, it is a small and quiet. You can walk anywhere in town from this location. The onsite parking is a plus, and after checkout, you can still leave your car while you are finishing up your shopping, etc.
The rate is competitive with any other hotel in the area and since they are all one bedrooms, you feel like you are in an apartment and not a hotel room. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: 3rd floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank billswan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Geneva hotels
0.2 km away
Cove of Lake Geneva
Cove of Lake Geneva
#6 of 15 in Lake Geneva
899 reviews
6.2 km away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#3 of 15 in Lake Geneva
435 reviews
0.2 km away
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
#7 of 15 in Lake Geneva
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#1 of 15 in Lake Geneva
613 reviews
1.1 km away
Comfort Suites Lake Geneva
Comfort Suites Lake Geneva
#11 of 15 in Lake Geneva
201 reviews
2.7 km away
Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill Creek Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Creek Hotel

Address: 123 Center St, Lake Geneva, WI 53147-2006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lake Geneva
Price Range: $122 - $402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mill Creek Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal location in the heart of downtown Lake Geneva, WI.Nestled near the magnificent lakefront, the many historic parks, and the prestigious Main Street, The Mill Creek Hotel offers overnight visitors to Lake Geneva the best of all possibilities.You may view the vastness of beautiful Geneva Lake. You will enjoy the peaceful Donian Wetland Nature Preserve, and you are within steps of Lake Geneva's prominent Main Street.Mill Creek is the only hotel in Lake Geneva situated in a beautiful wooded nature preserve in the heart of it all and only steps from all shopping, restaurants and beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Mill Creek Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Creek Lake Geneva
Hotel Mill Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing