We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,103)
Filter reviews
1,103 results
Traveller rating
838
187
44
24
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
838
187
44
24
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plunge pool costa rica zip lining horseback riding beach club main restaurant san jose pura vida swim up bar howler monkeys liberia airport ceviche golf course rainy season remote location hour drive the pacific ocean
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 1,103 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2018

We stayed 4 nights and chose to drive ourselves to the property as we were coming in from Arenal. yes the last 10 miles or so are on an unpaved road but if you have a 4x4 then it is very doable and certainly feels a part of the overall eco- adventure tour of Costa Rica. once you arrive the comforts provided are excellent. the hotel also has complementary in house activities to keep guests of all ages fully engaged and occupied - zip line, horse riding , nature treks and loads of different classes and a super spa for those who like to wind down and be pampered. the zip line was most adrenaline raising for me. the restaurant a la carte meals were ok however our Saturday night barbecue buffet was excellent! Expensive but good value once you get there and enjoy all the facilities and the infinity pool.

Room Tip: room 204. would have a better view of the bay.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank seas0nedtraveler61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2018

Pura vida greetings and a heartfelt gracias for taking the time to detail your experience. We love to share a glimpse of Costa Rica's signature charm, adventure, and life-embracing vibe. Congratulations on taking on the zip-line adventure. This is definitely one of our guests' favorite included adventures. (At least for those who love adrenaline!) Warmest regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 7, 2018

A haven of peace to disconnect while having many sports activities or excursions, horseback riding, zip-lining, sea turtle observation, all is well organised and in good security conditions.
We truly appreciated Marvin's help to make our vacation memorable. It was indeed the last days of 3 weeks in Costa Rica. Our expectations were high and we were not disappointed. The staff is very helpful, professional and friendly. Magnificent view from the restaurant with its infinity pool. Our premium suite was really comfortable and large with a plunge pool and hammock. The beach is very nice but a bit rocky and you need a car if you want to visit surroundings. There are two restaurants and we specially enjoyed the theme evenings to taste different local specialties.

Room Tip: Suite premium with ocean view offers space and private pool
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 622amanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2018

Thanks Amanda! We are honored to have been your hosts and thank you with enthusiasm for taking the time to share your experience with the Tripadvisor community. We love to offer a chance to disconnect from the stress of everyday life to fully connect with nature, culture, and relaxation. Thanks for embracing our destination with such heartfelt enthusiasm! Please return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 2, 2018 via mobile

The hotel and the staff are very accommodating. We rented a three bedroom villa with the plunge pool and it more than met our needs. The food down at the beach is excellent and the staff is a ton of fun. The end of our trip was marred by the fact that my wife fell off of a horse and broke some bones. The hotel could not have handled the situation any better than they did. Getting a five star review to a hotel where my wife was injured may seem a bit strange but it really goes to show just how far they are willing to go to try and make things right. This was a bad ending to a vacation yet I cannot wait to go back to Punta Islita as everything was so spectacular. Special thanks to Edgar, Maria and Alonso

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Timbles430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2018

Dearest Timbles430. We are incredibly grateful for your kind words and will remain forever thankful for your family's graciousness. We certainly look forward to your return. Please know that we will engage every ounce of hospitality to create an extraordinary experience that only stands out for relaxation, creating special memories, and sharing laughter. Warmest regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 23, 2018

Just finished a terrific week at the Hotel Punta Islita with spouse and college-aged child. The setting and facilities are wonderful -- jungle hillside overlooking a Pacific beach. Had two junior suite rooms with plunge pools and hammocks that were perfect to end the day. Lots of activities included (zip-lining, horseback riding, monkey and bird hikes,a fun mixology class) and we did them all plus some extras (kayaking and sea turtle excursion). The infinity pool (and pool bar) was a great place to chill. The food (main restaurant, beach service, or mid-day snacks) was consistently good, with many vegetarian/pescatarian options. But what makes the Islita really special is the staff. From start to finish they made us feel more like family than guests. All were extremely friendly and helpful. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2018

Gracias Bob! Thank you so much for celebrating your experience at Hotel Punta Islita while pinpointing the elements that made it truly stand out. Our team loves to welcome travelers, showcasing the very best of our country's heartfelt hospitality. The close relationship we have cultivated with our neighboring communities has cemented a very special sense of place. Including a full menu of adventures and cultural experiences is our way to prompt a connection between the visitor and the destination. We are thrilled that you and your family fully enjoyed your engaging stay! We hope to see you again soon at Hotel Punta Islita or our sister island-glamping property, Isla Chiquita!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 22, 2018 via mobile

We have been for the second time at this beautiful beach resort. The Bungalows are well maintained and distributed all over the large property. Chose a Bungalow with Ocean View. Staff is very helpful and there is a large offer with activities like bird watching in the morning or zip lining. Food is ok however for lunch at the beach the menu could be a bit more inspired.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Rudolf K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2018

Saludos Rudolf and thanks so much for your ongoing friendship! It was a pleasure to see you again and we always look forward to your return. Please don't hesitate to send us suggestions for our beach menu. We are always eager to implement our friends' suggestions whenever possible. Kindest regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews