We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Upper part of the Marsh

For most people the entire Horicon is one big marsh, without much difference. This particular part... read more

Reviewed February 16, 2021
AndrewFromMadison
,
Madison, Wisconsin
Great Escape from the Cities

We visited the refuge on a day when the visitor center was closed. You can still access the main... read more

Reviewed September 27, 2019
crutt13
,
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
via mobile
Read all 23 reviews
  
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveller rating
12
8
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
12
8
3
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 23 reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2017

We traveled to this area intentionally to register for our National Park Sticker and were amazed upon this discovery! Some of if not all of this location can be quite breath taking....animals scury about across the roads as one travels about by car so be very slow and careful! This is a must see for those who enjoy nature and all of its beauty!

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank legacyendeavors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 4, 2017

The Horicon National Wildlife Refuge comprises the northern two-thirds of the 33,000 acre Horicon Marsh (reportedly the largest freshwater marsh in the continental U.S.). There is a simple visitors' center on the eastern side of the refuge, where you can get maps and tips on where to hike and drive to best see the wildlife and birds. A 3-mile auto-tour makes it easy for those less willing to hike. They also have a nice new floating boardwalk that winds out across a part of the marsh. The best viewing areas seem to be right along Highway 49, which unfortunately (for the wildlife) is a very busy highway. Nonetheless, we were able to see literally thousands of sandhill cranes and geese, not to mention uncountable numbers of ducks and other waterfowl. Well worth a visit!

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Raintree_Thailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 14, 2017

The Southern third of the Marsh is run by the Wisconsin DNR, and has it's own Visitor Center. It allows boating. The Horicon National Wildlife Refuge (which is what THIS is) is the northern section, and it does not allow boating, not even kayaks.

The National part has a Visitor Center, and a small hiking trail nearby, but there is very little in the way of interpretation here. It's mostly a place to pick up a map and other information, use the bathroom and fill your water bottle. There is an intriguing array of things for sale by the Friends group, but on both my stops the station was un-staffed, and the federal employee wasn't allowed to sell their stuff.

Still, it's one of the access points for this fantastic natural treasure, and worth a stop if you have time. But if you only have time for ONE visitor center, I recommend you go to the state-run one down by Mayville/Horicon.

But if you're just here for the hiking and don't need a visitor center or gift shop - well, the entire marsh is at your beck and call! Just pick up a trail map and you're good to go.

Date of experience: September 2017
2  Thank TommyBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 30, 2017

Nice place to spend half a day hiking around and looking for birds. There are so many different kinds here! We spent a few hours here and saw many kinds of colorful ducks, loons and herons. There's a nice driving tour you can do in addition to some hiking trails. Beware the trail that goes near the river: bring your bug spray!

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank wendyk_chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 15, 2017 via mobile

Let me start by saying, we are outdoorsy people. We live in Northern Illinois so this marsh was not unlike any others in the area except it is a wildlife refuge and has waterfowl of varying forms.

If you are not familiar w/this type of terrain, it's amazing. There is water, grasses of all forms, ducks, mallards, Sandhill cranes, egrets, herons of different types and barn swallows galore.

It is handicap accessible and very family, bike and dog, friendly. You could spend an hour or all day here.
There are bathrooms and picnic spaces as well as tours that are offered for a fee.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank traveling_jennyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews