We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Water and Birds

The highlight of this super-marsh - one of the biggest fresh-water marshes in the United States... read more

Reviewed April 14, 2020
AndrewFromMadison
,
Madison, Wisconsin
There are two visitor centers at Horicon Marsh, both are good

Horicon Marsh is a haven for bird lovers. On a recent birdwatching weekend in May, viewers spotted... read more

Reviewed May 17, 2019
dixiedorena
,
Madison, Wisconsin
Read all 188 reviews
  
Reviews (188)
Filter reviews
188 results
Traveller rating
148
37
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
148
37
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews auto tour visitor centers wildlife area walking trails nature center nice walk national wildlife refuge gift shop mile driving loop birds migration freshwater waupun camera grandkids
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 188 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2017 via mobile

We stopped here on our drive thru Wisconsin hoping to get a little exercise. What a great place. Wish we could have stayed longer and wish we had our kayaks. It is a big place with lots to explore. Due to time restraints we limited ourselves to the boardwalk and the trail that looped off of it. It was a beautiful day for a hike. We didn't see any wildlife except for some martins, but the serenity of the place made up for the lack of visible wildlife that day. They told us the trails were well marked, but we didn't find that to be true where we went. We guessed which way twice and made it back with luck.
If you bring young children in strollers you will be limited to the boardwalk or you will be carrying them, at least where we were.
Senior park passes weren't accepted. We did not do the interactive exhibit on the lower level. Hope to return another day!

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Goldendoodle400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 8, 2017

We were three adults visiting both the state of Wisconsin and the national wildlife parts of the marsh. When our boat ride got cancelled we went to the Exploratorium and were pleasantly surprised at how education and fun this multi-dimensional museum turned out to be. It is good for all ages. The interactive exhibits were fun. In the national section we very much enjoyed the floating boardwalk -- so many birds. There are lookout areas where you can park your car and tour or sit. There are many photo ops so bring your camera. The story of the marsh's history is amazing. The gift shop in the National part was superior to that in the state part or at the boat landing.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank oceanside-Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 31, 2017

This was the first time that I visited the marsh even though I have lived within two hours of it all of my life. It is huge! We enjoyed the boat tour from the Blue Heron Dock on Sunday afternoon and then drove to points of interest on the eastern side on the marsh on Monday. Bring binoculars to enjoy it even more... like I said, it is huge! There are trails for cars and other trails for hiking and biking. But it was well worth the $12 fee for the boat tour. You can see so much more than you can from the shore and the tour operator is extremely knowledgeable about the marsh and its inhabitants.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Bill Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 31, 2017

This is a National Wildlife Refuge (NWR) which has been bought and paid for with money from the sales of Federal Duck Stamps. This NWR that is located in East Central Wisconsin and was established as a Red Head Duck sanctuary. The refuge has a new visitor center and offers hunting, fishing and photography opportunities. Bring your children and grand children and make a day of it.

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank BluegooseTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 11, 2017

great place to hike, bird watch, learn about marsh--current and historical, good interactive exhibits for young children and info for adults

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank charlesf834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews