We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice place”
Review of Badger Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Badger Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Merrill
Reviewed 30 July 2015

Nice hotel and easy access! Clean with very nice staff! Hot tub could have been cleaner, but otherwise very nice! Would stay there again! Had a nice breakfast and good pool and common areas. Pretty quiet!!

Room Tip: All the rooms on lower floor were nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kate E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2015 via mobile

Very dated as you would expect a small town older hotel to be. Overall thought it was clean and worked for my needs. I would use again. Didn't get an opportunity for the pool, but did notice it was inside. Beds were not the most comfortable, but again, it suited my immediate needs.

Stayed: June 2015
Thank bcaldwell123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2014 via mobile

Outdated furnishings. Boasted of a whirlpool in room, but when we were in it it had nasty nasty stuff in the water, maybe from cleaners and sponges?? We only filled it and did not enter due to water. Very busy due to a sporting event in town, could have used more staff, only one person working. (besides at the bar, which was another story...)

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank MidwesternMom07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2014

Very nice place although the decor is a bit set in the 80's. But it is very clean. Young man named Jordan at the front desk was very helpful. We thought he was the new manager and was very surprised he was not. We will be back!

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buddy o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2014 via mobile

Reserved through Hotels.com for a good price. The attendant was unfamiliar with how to find an online reservation but came through. Nice pool, hot tub & sauna. Room was a furnished with older pieces but clean & functional - soft bed:( Breakfast did include make your own waffles but only fruit was apples, no yogurt nor peanutbutter, no eggs.

Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Our group of seven, aged 41-84, has just returned from another delightful 5 night stay at the Badger during one of Merrill's busiest weekends of the year. This little jewel is always our hotel of choice due to its cleanliness, friendliness, excellent value, convenience, and hospitality. They offer special discounts for Veterans and senior citizens and are right on the snowmobile trail for winter fun. The guest rooms, public areas, and pool/hot-tub/sauna are very clean and well maintained. Hot water and shower pressure is plentiful, the beds are comfortable, the bathrooms are spotless, and the wi-fi is free. The breakfast was filling; and the full-service bar offers house-made pizza, wings, burgers, snacks, a pool table, dart board, TVs, video games and an internet jukebox. Three's Company, a family owned restaurant right next door, has excellent barbecued ribs, a decent salad bar, and a fish buffet on Friday night. Culver’s, Subway, McDonalds, an authentic Mexican restaurant, the Piggly-Wiggly grocery, and Walmart are almost within walking distance. Despite having a completely full house, everyone including the owner, his wife, and son, Joanie at the front desk, the room attendants, and the maintenance man worked overtime to provide a clean, safe, comfortable, affordable stay for their guests. The only complaint we heard from anyone at the hotel during the entire weekend was from two very rude young men who did their best to prove that the pool was too cold and said that their mama wouldn't pay for the room if they couldn't swim. We senior citizens were swimming the previous evening and found the pool was a tiny bit chilly at first, but not unreasonably so. I think that those boys just wanted a free room. It is obvious that everyone associated with the hotel has formed a "Badger Hotel family" that is committed to making the Badger Hotel the cleanest, friendliest, best maintained hotel in Merrill. We will continue to call the Badger our Wisconsin “home away from home.”

Room Tip: There are handicapped rooms available, Odd numbered rooms face a lovely wooded area, and even numbe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Aunt_Cookie48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Beautiful Property....Clean and comfortable rooms...spacious and all rooms have a refrigerator and microwave. There is a bar/lounge on the property..Desk clerks are outstanding and personable...this was our 5th year staying .will revisit over and over.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maggiemae321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Merrill
0.2 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Merrill
0.4 km away
Econo Lodge Merrill WI
Econo Lodge Merrill WI
#2 of 4 in Merrill
47 reviews
24.6 km away
Hampton Inn Wausau
Hampton Inn Wausau
#2 of 11 in Wausau
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 km away
La Quinta Inn Wausau
La Quinta Inn Wausau
#5 of 11 in Wausau
326 reviews
24.3 km away
Jefferson Street Inn
Jefferson Street Inn
#1 of 11 in Wausau
1,143 reviews
34.6 km away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Badger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Badger Hotel

Address: 3209 E Main St, Merrill, WI 54452-8957
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Merrill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Merrill
Price Range: $91 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Badger Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and Cancelon so you can book your Badger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Merrill
Super Eight Merrill
Merrill Super 8
Merrill Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing