We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ice drag races”
Review of Badger Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Badger Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Merrill
Reviewed 2 March 2016

The front desk ladies (check in and out) were very nice and helpful.
The hotel was very clean. The beds comfortable. there was a coffee maker in the room but no coffee!!! The hotel was full with girls BB teams, I figured there would be alot of noise and door slaming...... But I was wrong, this group was very quited. Very nice respectful group. Breaksfast was ok. will stay here again

Room Tip: Make sure doors lock properly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lsap1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2016

The rooms were clean, service was excellent! The hotel breakfast was excellent for our group! The hotel manager was awesome to work with and gave a fair rate for the night. We would definitely stay at again!

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2016

Pulled back the sheets and found a dead bug on the pillow! Cobwebs on the lights and a damn hanger stuck on the curtain rod. We took the dead bug down to the front desk and made them change all bedding right down to the mattress pads. Even the next day, there still were cobwebs on the lights. We have stayed there several times previously and never had a problem. It is now a dump and will never stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2015 via mobile

The hotel was former super 8. We used AAA discount for fair price stay. Whirlpool was hot and clean. Hotel needs updating with burnt out fixtures and bug piles inside lenses. King bed was nice. Room was clean. Shower head was stuck at solid stream and maintain staff not in on Saturday to replace it. Adequate parking. Easy access from hwy 51/39.
Waffles cereal and coffee breakfast blah...could have used some protein but alas no peanut butter. No microwave popcorn available. Windows needed cleaning.
Walls recently painted.
Our negative experience was we asked for a quiet room. We are on the far end of the upstairs away from everyone. Unfortunately they booked the bachelor party two rooms away from us. In the middle of the night about 3:30 AM someone was crawling down the hallway bleeding from their head and passed out on the floor what we figured happened was that person was the drug mule delivering goods to the party and they threw him out into the hallway. We called the front desk the young person manning the desk said they had called the police. When we called back Sunday after we left they said there was no record of any such police call makes me wonder. The person was arrested and taken. A blonde haired girl in that room came out and took his goods back into the room. This party should have been booked closer to the front desk so they can be monitored not with the rest of the people who are trying to sleep. There was an Eagles convention in town and many of y he Dela gates who were elderly were also on our floor.
We called and talked to the manager on Monday and he made numerous excuses that there is nothing he can do. This is alarming about their poor security measures and the safety of their guests. He could have said the guest who booked the bachelor party is no longer welcome in that hotel that would made me feel better.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Derek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2015

Booked a last minute stayed bike trip for the Tomahawk Color Ride and only because every other hotel within a 25 mile radius sells out a year in advance, we wound up in Merrill at the Badger motel for two nights.

Short and sweet..... filthy! Stains on the carpets everywhere in the motel and god knows what has been spilled and never cleaned in the room carpeting. We wouldn't walk on the floors in our bare feet! Seriously..... food crumbs along the bed frames, sticky desk/ night stand tops and an indescribable sickening odor ingrained in everything in the room. We pulled the comforters off immediately from the beds with a bathroom towel and tossed them over in a corner. Really wonder what a black light would have found. I'm guessing that the folks that own the Badger never heard of a flat screen television either. The bar of soap in the bathroom was the size of a checker and the shampoo came in a mustard type package.

After we spent the first night and hung the maid service sign on the door before leaving that morning, we came back at 10:00 PM that evening and the room was never touched. We had to phone the front desk for towels and went to bed in the same way it was left. Next morning we went to the free breakfast and it was purely cold cereal, toast, a waffle maker and Dolly Madison bagged donuts.

No need to go on..... probably (no it was) one of the lowest level motels we've stayed in from coast to coast. Would not recommend and certainly wouldn't book another stay here again. The state of this business shows pure neglect and no concern for customer service or appreciation in the least bit.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank RUMMAGETHENET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2015 via mobile

I stayed the night at Badger Inn on Thursday because I was attending a funeral on Friday! The whole haul wreaked of SKUNK and the front desk lady would not let me switch. I even offered to pay the difference. Worst Customer Service EVER! I asked to speak with the manager and he refused when she called him! And he avoided me the next day. I would not recommend to Anybody!

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
2  Thank Chelsie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2015

Nice hotel and easy access! Clean with very nice staff! Hot tub could have been cleaner, but otherwise very nice! Would stay there again! Had a nice breakfast and good pool and common areas. Pretty quiet!!

Room Tip: All the rooms on lower floor were nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kate E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Merrill
0.2 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Merrill
0.4 km away
Econo Lodge Merrill WI
Econo Lodge Merrill WI
#2 of 4 in Merrill
46 reviews
24.6 km away
Hampton Inn Wausau
Hampton Inn Wausau
#2 of 11 in Wausau
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 km away
Jefferson Street Inn
Jefferson Street Inn
#1 of 11 in Wausau
1,136 reviews
34.6 km away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau
24.2 km away
La Quinta Inn Wausau
La Quinta Inn Wausau
#4 of 11 in Wausau
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Badger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Badger Hotel

Address: 3209 E Main St, Merrill, WI 54452-8957
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Merrill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Merrill
Price Range: $91 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Badger Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Badger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Merrill
Super Eight Merrill
Merrill Super 8
Merrill Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing