We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money”
Review of Badger Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Badger Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Merrill
Reviewed 21 March 2017

This place is old outdated. The room needs some major upkeep. Mold in the refrigerator. Don't waste the money go some place else. Say they have a pool and don't. The staff is rude and not friendly. Very old outdated. Bed was hard.

Stayed: March 2017
1  Thank Fullerton L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2017

I have stayed at this hotel a few times while working in the Merrill area and have never had an issue with booking the room, arriving and checking in with paperwork and ket ready, AND, after carrying the first load of 200 pounds of luggage, paperwork, bags, and everything else I need to haul, including my dogs belongings, THE KEY WORKS! So many times I have checked into places and expecting to make it a "1 trip" load to the room, the key card is programmed wrong.
The staff here is very helpful and friendly. I travel with my dog every place that I need to work and this place will go the extra steps to make life easier. They always put me on the first floor, near an exit door at the end of the hall.
The price is fair, clean rooms, quiet facility, and if you are hungry and tired there is a small bar with "bar food", and drinks, at the end of the hall. Just easy, nothing special, but works after long day on the road.

Room Tip: Far end rooms can be accessed from exit door with parking just outside the door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cnctech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

Hotel was right of the highway, easy on and off. The lady at the desk was extremely nice and polite too. The rooms are a bit outdated and the TV too... but clean, which matters more to me. They do have a grill/bar on premises which is very nice. Hot tub too.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
Thank dougiedue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2016

For 3rd year in a row, the parking lot was a dangerous ice rink. Last year, the lady at the desk was horrible. Year before that, construction...not that anything looks updated. This year sidewalks not even shoveled. Not like they forgot....snow piled and plowed onto walkway! No pool anymore. Doors into hotel open without needing key. The deadbolt lock on our room isn't functioning. Everything looks dirty. I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Shari D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Stayed here for 2 nights. The location was very close to the highway. The rooms were clean and the service was great! The bar was very nice too! Nice to have free wifi. Would definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kellyjabm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2016

Based out of motel for a few days of fishing in the area. The location and room were ok but woefully in need of significant updating. However, the room was clean, had a refrigerator, wifi, beds (comfortable) and fairly quiet. TV was old style. Carpet and flooring should be replaced as should towels. They were old, small and showed wear but several on the rack so not a big issue.

The breakfast while limited was adequate. The bar/restaurant worked for us -- food again ok. Staff was very friendly, helpful and available.

This is not a motel my wife and I would stay at but as a base for fishing with a buddy it worked well. Price was the overriding factor.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Flyfsh11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed one night on our way to northern WI. First room smelled of smoke even though a non smoking room. Wife asked for another room. (She never does this). We were given another room but the lady at the desk wanted us to know the switch meant more paperwork for her! Hint to staff customer service is about the customer not what might be inconvenient for you.

Second room was way better.

This sis a former Super 8. Showing its age but generally well maintained. The one creepy thing were the white stains on the arm of the lazy boy recliner is the room.

Management may want to check it out in room 103. I will post a picture.

It in Merrill again I will look for another option. My price was about $75 on booking.com. Price need to lower or attention to details better.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank gilladj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Merrill
0.2 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Merrill
0.4 km away
Econo Lodge Merrill WI
Econo Lodge Merrill WI
#2 of 4 in Merrill
47 reviews
24.6 km away
Hampton Inn Wausau
Hampton Inn Wausau
#2 of 11 in Wausau
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.6 km away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau
24.2 km away
La Quinta Inn Wausau
La Quinta Inn Wausau
#4 of 11 in Wausau
322 reviews
24.3 km away
Jefferson Street Inn
Jefferson Street Inn
#1 of 11 in Wausau
1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Badger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Badger Hotel

Address: 3209 E Main St, Merrill, WI 54452-8957
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Merrill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Merrill
Price Range: $91 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Badger Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Badger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Merrill
Super Eight Merrill
Merrill Super 8
Merrill Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing