We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,167)
Filter reviews
2,167 results
Traveller rating
1,619
373
99
45
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,619
373
99
45
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mason street grill tower room blu bar newer tower old section club access top floor lobby lounge beautiful hotel club level old world elegance grand dame older part lake michigan art museum downtown milwaukee grand old hotel
Filter
Updating list...
1,861 - 1,866 of 2,167 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2011

I stay here once or twice a year for work. It is a very good location with a nice bar and the rooms ae very comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allenha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshuaWolter, Hotel Assistant Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2011

We are happy to be your home away from home on your business trips. We understand that traveling for work can sometimes be a headache, but we want to make your stay with us as worry free as possible. We can't wait to have you back again with us.

Joshua Wolter
Hotel Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We stayed at the Pfister for a Saturday night special with breakfast and valet parking included. This classic hotel was beautiful, the rooms were excellent and modern (17th floor of newer? tower), shower hot and powerful. Be sure to enjoy a sunset drink in the top floor lounge. The same top floor pool looked great. Full breakfast excellent.
thanks!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rstlocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshuaWolter, Hotel Assistant Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2011

Thank you for the great review! We pride ourselves on the great services and amenities that we offer. On a side note, if you think the sunset is amazing, you should see the fireworks from Blu all summer long, perhaps you will visit us again and take it in.

Joshua Wolter
Hotel Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Had the great pleasure of staying at the Pfister Hotel on Sunday, September 18 for the Erasure concert in town. Milwaukee should be proud to have such a fine hotel.

The staff was amazing from the start. With a pleasent door man to greet you; to Jennifer at the front desk. She has a wonderful smile, and a pleasure to talk to.

Our room was a corner room in the original part of the structure. It was spacious and comfortable.

Assistant Hotel Manager Josh W. was very welcoming and stoped by to make sure everything was satisfactory. Which it was.

Highly recommend this property. They will take great care of you.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshuaWolter, Hotel Assistant Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2011

It was my pleasure to check up on you and see how your stay was. Jennifer was happy to hear all was well. We look forward to having you again for another concert or special occasion.

Joshua Wolter
Hotel Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 3, 2011

The Pfister is the place to stay in Milwaukee, especially if you like historic hotels. I've stayed in six downtown Milwaukee hotels over the years. The Pfister is the best.

The room was spotlessly clean and elegantly furnished. The ceiling had to be at least 11 feet high (this was in the historic section). Just one warning. The HVAC controls are complicated. There were six buttons on the wall panel with various symbols; not sure we ever figured it out. Master it before settling in for the evening.

The front desk and restaurant personnel were incredibly friendly and cheerful, the best I've ever encountered, even the parking garage attendant. Management must insist on this as it didn't seem to be mere happenstance.

The hotel has beautiful artwork that can be viewed in multiple areas such as the second floor balcony.

The trip purpose was to visit the impressionism exhibit at the Milwaukee Art Museum that is an easy walk from the hotel. My partner and I wanted a weekend trip with a Saturday night stay. The hotel was sold out our preferred weekend. My partner wouldn't settle staying in another hotel as the Pfister was supposed to be part of the weekend experience. So we booked the next weekend. I requested a room in the historic section but was told that rooms were only available in the non-historic tower section. However, when checking in, I inquired as to availability in the historic section and was told there was an available room for immediate occupancy which I gladly accepted.

I consider myself to be a value traveler. Yes, the Pfister can be quite pricey. But if cost is important you can occasionally score a good deal. We paid $152 for a senior's rate which I thought was good for what you get.

I suggest you park in the hotel garage. Self-park is $20 per night with in and out privileges; valet parking is $25. If you park in the outdoor lot across the hotel on Jefferson you'll still pay $20 for overnight parking.

The only problem, and it's not the hotel's fault, was being awakened three times throughout the wee hours of the morning with revelers on the street outside. It was a Saturday night, actually, Sunday morning, so perhaps it's a weekend thing. It also happened to be Halloween weekend so perhaps that was a factor.

Besides the eating options in the hotel, there are excellent restaurants within several blocks such as the German Karl Ratzsch's.

If you're an observant Catholic, there are two churches within four blocks of the hotel, Old St. Mary's and St. John's Cathedral. Between the two churches there are a total of eight Masses at staggered times Saturday evening and Sunday morning.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChicagoKen60657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshuaWolter, Hotel Assistant Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2011

What a detailed review! We cannot wait to have you and your partner back with us for another stay, perhaps when the next special exhibit comes along at the Art Museum. I am sure we would be happy to have a great historic room ready and waiting for you again!

Joshua Wolter
Hotel Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Whenever possible, I stay at the Pfister. Great location, beautiful lobby, and spacious rooms. Plus, the cafes and stores in the lobby are very nice and reasonable. Can't imagine why you wouldn't stay at The Pfister.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stbomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshuaWolter, Hotel Assistant Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2011

We understand that guest need those comforts when they are away from home. Whether it's a great cup of morning coffee, to spacious rooms to relax in. Thank you so much for sharing your experience with the world, can't wait to have you back again!

Joshua Wolter
Hotel Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews