We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Pfister Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$127
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Comfort Suites Milwaukee - Park Place(Milwaukee)(Great Value!)
US$79
ComfortSuites
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crowne Plaza Milwaukee Airport(Milwaukee)(Great Value!)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Place Milwaukee West(Milwaukee)(Great Value!)
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Iron Horse Hotel(Milwaukee)
US$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Metro(Milwaukee)
US$124
US$116
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,043)
Filter reviews
2,044 results
Traveller rating
1,516
358
96
44
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,516
358
96
44
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmason street grilltower roomblu loungehistoric sectionnewer towerclub accessart collectiontop floorlobby loungebeautiful hotelold world eleganceclub levelolder partlake viewdowntown milwaukeeclassic hotelgrand old hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,660 - 1,665 of 2,044 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2012

What a great place to spend time. Great location, great rooms and such elegance. Enjoyed it immensely

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshuaWolter, Hotel Assistant Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Thank you so much for your review. Please come back and visit Milwaukee and the Pfister Hotel again soon.

Joshua Wolter
Hotel Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I havestayed at the Pfister multiple times over the pas six years and can honestly say it is one of my favorite hotels in the COUNTRY. This gorgeous hotel exceeds expectations in every area, especially that of the impecable customer service. For a real treat stay on the second floor in the old part of the hotel and feel like you are residing in an upscale museum. Th artwork is breathtaking and the rooms wonderful. The Pfister Hotel is the best--hand down. Can' wait to go back in June!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshuaWolter, Hotel Assistant Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Wow! Thank you for being such an amazing guest and repeat visitor. Your compliments speak volumes to us, and are very encouraging. We look forward to having you back more and more.

Joshua Wolter
Hotel Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

The Pfister is one of Miwaukee's oldest and most beautiful hotels. The lobby itself is worth a visit. Several things make this hotel unique, including the Artist in Residence and the pianist in the main bar who has likely been there for decades. The Pfister is where you want to go if you are looking for a touch of old world style, charm and manners. The Pfister is centrally located and within walking distance of the Bradley Center, Milwaukee Theater, Marcus Center and the Pabst Theater. Lots of great restaurants very close as well.

The rooms themselves are fine, nothing I would consider extremely well appointed, but nice and spacious. Also, the rooms on the upper levels have good views of the city. Overall I rate the room high for cleanliness. The carpeting leaves the impression that it is likely cleaned fairly often but it is certainly showing its years. The bathroom is nice and provides a door separation from the toilet and shower from the powder room area. The bathmat though was clearly old and should have been replaced long ago. Small detail, but small details are what makes the difference between good hotels and great hotels. Bed was large with nice linens and very comfortable. iPod hookup and charger next to the bed. There is no mini fridge so if you have leftovers from dinner be prepared that you may have to sacrifice them. Admittedly the hotel may have them for request but we did not ask. Also, internet is not free in the rooms. This really needs to change. Hotels chains like the Hyatt learned this long ago.

Now the things I would like to see improved on: First, $25 for parking is highway robbery in my opinion. I used to live Milwaukee and while much has changed, the city has not improved to the point of being able to almost charge Chicago prices for parking. Depending on the day you may be able to find on street parking for free or alternative garage parking for cheaper. I believe the ground lot across the street from the hotel charges only $20. When taking the car out of the ramp the morning after our stay (before checkout) we were told we should have been given some tickets to get us in and out. No tickets were given to us and the person checking us in never mentioned anything was needed for in and out privileges. These are hassles that guests should never have to go through in a hotel that is supposedly the caliber of The Pfister.

My fiancé and I did stop by the lobby bar Saturday night. A beautiful place with an outstanding piano player. Good selection of drinks and the couches by the fire place are a perfect pace to end the evening after dinner and the theater. Service however, both by the bartender and our server, was pretty poor. The bartender seemed far more interested in shouting at the Final Four game on TV and telling the 40 guests in the area how Ohio State's losing was going to destroy his brackets than actually dealing with customers.

All in all the Pfizter is still a beautiful hotel. Rooms are large and clean though they could use a serious spruce. I would recommend some staff training as well. Be sure to check out the Artsit-in-Rsidence, Blu (cocktail lounge) on the top floor and the art throughout the building while you are there. The Pfister remains a great hotel and really is a beautiful place filled with history, it just needs some updates and tweaks in service to remain a "great hotel."

Room Tip: The rooms in the tower are newer rooms though "newer" is a pretty relative term here. The upside is the good views of the city and maybe the lake. If you're there on a weekend I would avoid the floors adjacent to the floors with the large areas used for weddings as they can get quite loud.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Badgerman1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshuaWolter, Hotel Assistant Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

We can't appreciate your truthful review enough. Without our guest comments, we cannot improve your experience to the best it can be. All issues that you stated in your review have been addressed and remedied. We truly appreciate your comments about the hotel, and am very happy that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you again for your honesty, and we look forward to another go at it, next time your visiting Milwaukee.

Joshua Wolter
Hotel Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

The hotel is beautiful and elegant. We staff was warm and friendly. We were given a free upgrade to a room that was fantastic. The room was so beautifully decorated and so elegant. The bathroom was all marble with a whirlpool tub. We were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary and I couldn't be happier at my choice of hotels. My wife loved the Pfister!

Room Tip: When you reserve your room opt for the upgrade option.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshuaWolter, Hotel Assistant Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

It's very encouraging to hear that we helped make your anniversary a memorable one. We are truly happy that you enjoyed. Please do continue to visit us for your future celebrations together.

Joshua Wolter
Hotel Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

This was our first experience with the Pfister but definitely not our last. We loved it! The staff is wonderful, the lobby is gorgeous and the location is perfect. Very easy to get in and out of. We were able to walk a couple of blocks to the Art Museum and the Children's Museum & the Disovery World are in the same area. We loved our room although had a couple of issues but when I called the front desk they were immediately seen to. We had a king suite on the 2nd floor in the historic part of the hotel and it was perfect. We could walk up the grand staircase to our room every night. We ate breakfast & dinner in the Lobby Lounge. The staff was excellent and to our pleasant surprise there was piano music every night. The Market Cafe is equally nice. The Irish Stew was great and I could get my Starbucks fix every morning. The only hiccup we found was the pool is in the Tower on the 23rd floor. It was a little cold but real negative was you need to walk through the lobby to get to the elevators that take you there. And you're riding up with people who are dining at the very nice Blu restaurant which is on the same floor. Just a bit awkward. So much so we only went once in our four day stay to the disappointment of my son. But I know in historic hotels you do what you can with the space you have. The pluses definitely out weighed the only little issue so we will absolutely be returning to the Pfister when we visit Milwaukee again!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshuaWolter, Hotel Assistant Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Thank you so much for your heartfelt review. It is truly appreciated. Thank you as well for sharing your very real experience and sharing that with future travelers. We cannot wait for your next visit.

Joshua Wolter
Hotel Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews