We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They put the Traveler FIRST!”
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Pfister Hotel
Ranked #6 of 55 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2015

As often happens to everyone, we sadly leave things behind after checkout. Mine was no exception. I had purchased an extra-long cell phone wall charger. When I departed the Pfister, I left it behind. I called them that evening and, sure enough, they had found it and set it aside. Since I wouldn't be going to MKE any time soon, I asked if they could send it. I would be billed for the delivery, which in the end, would cost more than the chord. I respectfully declined. the night manager, though, a kind and generous soul whose name escapes me, realized I had been a long-time customer of the Pfister. She tracked down my work mailing info and shipped it to my office, writing it off as a "business expense', so the cost to the Pfister would be minimal. THANK YOU, kind hearted Mid-west businesses for your hospitality and warmth and care.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRUSCH_BRANDON, Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2015

Thank you Willie for sharing this great story with us! We find that the little things are often what set us apart from others. We hope to have you back soon and thank you again for being our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,992)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

655 - 661 of 1,992 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2015

Historic hotel, friendly staff, immaculate room and a spectacular view of the city and the lake from the 21st floor.
Lots to do in Milwaukee like the Riverwalk, boat tours, great restaurants and a world-class art museum. Also, the at collection in the Pfister Hotel is world-class as well.

Room Tip: Get a high room with a view of Lake Michigan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dwisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRUSCH_BRANDON, Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2015

Thank you for sharing the great experience with the TripAdvisor Community! We take great pride in working to create lasting memories and we hope you will continue to make Milwaukee a destination of choice!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2015

Beautiful Grand Dame with excellent services. Got a special online that included parking and were quite impressed. Front desk folks very helpful, gave great suggestions for dinner places, as well as things to do in the area.
Room was in the Tower; I was not sure what it would be like, but it was just lovely. Large, great views, updated, terrific shower. Linens were some of the best. Very quiet...maybe the circular layout helps that? We were rather close to elevator, but never heard anything.
The history of this hotel is all over the place, but it has been modernized well. Stopped up at Blu one night. Got coffee from the cafe, and stopped in lobby lounge another night.
Best part is the location. Quick walk to either the River Walk (which is great) or to the lake shore and the art museum. Or head south and in 10 minutes we were in the Third Ward.
We drove to dinner first night, but other than that, no car needed! Lovely restful stay.

Stayed: September 2015
1  Thank Swanbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRUSCH_BRANDON, Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2015

Thank you Swanbirds for the great review from the recent stay! Our Tower guest rooms are well appointed and offer some of the best views the city has to offer! We thank you for taking the time to share the great experience with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2015

The hotel is beautiful and classy. My limo driver told me some stories of ghost sighting in the hotel. I wasn't lucky enough to see one but I thought that was interesting =) The decoration and the furnitures in the room is very elegant as well. The bed was very comfortable. A little bar at the lobby was nice and made some nice drinks. Starbucks downstairs rents out iPad!

Room Tip: Two buildings. More updated one and older one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gaspard_de_la_nuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRUSCH_BRANDON, Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2015

Thank you 'Gaspard_de_la_nuit' for the great review! It was great to see that you were able to make the most of the time in Milwaukee! We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2015

We were in Milwaukee for a wedding and decided to stay at the Phister to celebrate our 27th wedding anniversary. I am not going to lie-I was a bit freaked out that there were some tales of "ghosts". We stayed in the new portion of the hotel. What an amazing place-I can see why the ghosts would want to hang around here :)
After a day of fun biking and going to the beach we were pleasantly surprised with a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries to celebrate our special day.
Top notch 4 star hotel in a safe neighborhood.

Room Tip: I liked the newer part better but the older part had bathtubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LfromMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRUSCH_BRANDON, Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2015

Thank you for the great review! We truly appreciate you allowing us to be part of the 27th Anniversary! We will see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2015

The Pfister hotel is absolutely gorgeous and contains a collection of beautiful artwork displaced throughout the hotel. The location is perfect within downtown Milwaukee, the Blu Lounge within the hotel has an amazing view, the hotel room was immaculate, the hotel beds were extremely comfortable, the hotel food was delicious but the hotel service is what will make the Pfister the only hotel I will ever stay at while visiting Milwaukee.

Although all the staff were friendly and helpful, the concierge Peter was a jem! He spent almost a half hour with us discussing different tours, restaurants, directions and even providing us some history of the hotel as well as Milwaukee itself. Lauren, a waitress, went way above and beyond to accommodate us; with only having twenty minutes to grab something to eat before boarding a tour bus that was picking us up in front of the hotel Lauren contacted the buffet manager who allowed us to grab a small plate of cheese and fruit from the buffet which was exactly what we wanted to order at the bar but allowing us to get these items from the buffet instead saved us a great deal of time as well as providing us more time to enjoy our quick snack.

Overall, thank you Pfister for a wonderful weekend! I will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrDee003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRUSCH_BRANDON, Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2015

Hello DrDee003! Thank you for the great review and for taking the time to mention a few of our great service professionals. It was great to recognize Peter and Lauren for their great customer service accomplishments. We take great pride in having the best team of ambassadors to represent our great history and service culture. We look forward to having you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2015

It is easy to see why this hotel is #1. It was wonderful all around. Except the dripping faucet in the bathroom. I just closed the door. Beds were so soft. I needed a computer they have one you can use. Covered parking for the bike. (Huge plus). Kudos to the staff, hotel. I WILL stay here again...

Room Tip: It was worth every dime.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CHARTOTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRUSCH_BRANDON, Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2015

Thank you CHARTOTO for the great review. It was great to see that you were able to enjoy all that we have to offer. We look forward to seeing you on a future visit through Milwaukee.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Walker's Point
The Iron Horse Hotel
The Iron Horse Hotel
#3 of 55 in Milwaukee
1,729 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Milwaukee
InterContinental Milwaukee
#30 of 55 in Milwaukee
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#8 of 55 in Milwaukee
967 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#12 of 55 in Milwaukee
1,710 reviews
Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
#15 of 55 in Milwaukee
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pfister Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pfister Hotel

Address: 424 E Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202-4436
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#3 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#3 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#7 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range: $198 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Pfister Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pfister Hotel, built in 1893 has been the premier downtown Milwaukee hotel for over a century, and continues to celebrate a tradition of gracious service and impeccable style. From the moment you arrive, you'll notice the extraordinary architecture, and a welcoming ambiance marked by a priceless Victorian art collection which rivals that of any hotel in the world. The Pfister Hotel in Milwaukee has received accolades as being the best of downtown Milwaukee hotels since it opened. We are proud of our AAA Four-Diamond Award and membership in two of our industry's leading organizations: Historic Hotels of America and Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Pfister Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pfister Hotel Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing