We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bulls Game”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown
Ranked #29 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Pleasant Prairie
Level Contributor
116 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Bulls Game”
Reviewed 9 February 2012

This is a great place to stay if your going to see some sites in Milwaukee. Downtown close to Bradley center and other attractions. Very clean and reasonable.

Room Tip: Ask for room that looks out over street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bearman_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    263
    151
    110
    70
See reviews for
253
192
33
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
145 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

And thus, the average rating...which isn't bad!

Our check-in process was seamless, with the staff being friendly and helpful.

Our room was clean and we got upgraded to a nice two room suite, which we appreciated. The handwritten thank you note for being hhonors members placed under the door was a nice touch.

Parts of the hotel appeared to be a little older than others.

The breakfast buffet was busy! The food options were plentiful, but some were a little blah...like the very crunchy biscuits and strange consistency scrambled eggs. The coffee was good, and we appreciated the numerous seating options.

The location worked well for us--within easy walking distance of all of the major touristy type stuff that we wanted to do.

It did seem a bit unusual that the hotel didn't validate for a reduced rate at the garage they recommend around the corner.

Overall a satisfying stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BusinessTraveler04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Spent a couple of nights for a convention at the Frontier Airlines Center. The location is convenient. The best thing about this hotel is the staff; they are friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

I stayed on Jan18 2012 and my room was huge . Very clean but a little noisy From the water pipes and from the ouside door, The staff at the desk were helpful and very friendly. Anice place to stay

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hobbit1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton WI
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Can't get closer to the heart of downtown. Great location for theater, concerts, conventions and shopping.

Check in is always easy. Parking is reasonable at $13 overnight with in and out privileges and parking garage is attached to the hotel.

Room was clean and I like the separate sitting area with pullout couch. As a loyal Hilton Honors Gold member, Hampton Inn has a great continental breakfast. Tea, coffee and hot chocolate available 24 hrs a day. Wireless works great throughout the building.

Easy to get a cab or check out great bars and restaurants within a block or two walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bexxx98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

This stay was a nightmare, literally.

I stayed at this hotel with my 18 month old and 91 year old father. Everything was fine, until Saturday, November 12, 2011. On that night, the adjoining room was having a party. While the noise was more than enough to complain about (and we did 5 times to the hotel staff), the marijuana and other drug use we could smell and hear was the real problem.

We asked hotel staff and security to stop this all night, informing them of the small toddler and elderly man next door, but all they originally did was tell them to keep it down (admittedly, there was a lull from 11:00 p.m. to 2:00 a.m., presumably because they went out on the town) and upon their return these “neighbors” continued to party and use drugs, all night, until we were forced to call the Milwaukee Police. At that point, staff did come back up, but did so to ask these people to merely take their drugs to the car!

The hotel staff will tell you that no drugs were found, but my nose and ears tell a very different story. Moreover, it is important to note that when we called the Police we also called the staff to inform them of this fact as a courtesy in the hopes that they would lead the police directly to this rampant drug use. Unfortunately, to our dismay, as I set forth above they instead came up to the room and told these patrons that someone had called the police (informing them it was not them) and asked them to take all their drugs out to their cars.

Needless to say, we will never stay here again, will never stay at a Hampton Inn or affiliated hotel again, and were extremely disappointed with this hotel and its staff. Any hotel that will not assist in ousting drug use and partying (in general), especially when small children and elderly are next door, will never attain my business in the future.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JB0805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Milwaukee hotels

Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We were looking for a hotel close to The Riverside for an event and this was PERFECT...only a half block away and close to several places with excellent food and drinks. Rooms were very clean and bed was really comfortable. Also - FREE WiFi! Only downside to the room was the size; it's a bit small, but it served it's purpose. You do have to pay for parking, but it's only ~$13 a night, which isn't bad for the downtown area. The continental breakfast was big, but was pretty lackluster (i.e., powdered scrambled eggs, luke-warm turkey sausage), but for $90 a night in a prime location, you can't beat this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamNacho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton176, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, 1 December 2011
TeamNacho,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us and we apprecite you taking the time post a review.
We do hope to see you again in the near future.

Regards,

Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Milwaukee Downtown
#37 of 56 in Milwaukee
149 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown
Address: 176 W Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53203-2507 (Formerly Howard Johnson Milwaukee)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown is located in Milwaukee, close to Riverside Theater, BMO Harris Bradley Center, and Milwaukee Art Museum. Nearby points of interest also include Marquette University and Summerfest grounds. Recreational amenities include an indoor pool, a spa tub, and a 24-hour fitness facility. This hotel has a 24-hour business center and offers small meeting rooms and audiovisual equipment. All stays include free hot breakfast and internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Downtown Milwaukee Hotel
Hampton Inn Milwaukee
Milwaukee Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing