We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant in Milwaukee”

Carson's Prime Steaks & Famous Barbecue of Milwaukee
Reserve with OpenTable
Carson's Prime Steaks & Famous Barbecue of Milwaukee is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #63 of 1,677 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Carson's serves America's #1 BBQ since 1977. A Family Owned and Operated Restaurant with delicious hearty portions of Famous Award winning BBQ Ribs, Char Grilled Steaks, Chops, Salmon... Fantastic sides like Au Gratin potatoes and Original Cole Slaw are included! Great salads and wonderful desserts. Carson's 200 N Waukegan Rd in Deerfield, IL is perfectly located for a cozy night out close to home. Upscale dining ambiance yet Value priced for generous meals and drinks. Fabulous for special family events and date nights.
Reviewed March 2, 2017

This is the best restaurant in Milwaukee. Start off with there corn bread to die for, crab cake is big and full of crab ( I am very picky about my crab cakes and theirs is great), ribs yum yum yum. they have good salads too.
Go early after 6pm they get busy. Going back for sure!

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Claygoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 49 of 169 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2017

I purchased a Groupon and we used it on my husband's birthday(thursday) we each got the ribs, salad, side, drink and shared a dessert(what was offered on the groupon) we added the asparagus. The rack of ribs was larger then the plate they came on, the salad was huge, twice baked potato was huge, asparagus was amazing and Tiramisu for dessert was to die for! They cook the ribs on a hickory wood burning pit for hours. The cost would have been $102 and we paid $69. Amazing deal and my hubby had a perfect birthday dinner!

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tamiann61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 19, 2017

We started our meal out with well made mixed drink, although a bit expensive for Milwaukee. The cornbread appetizer was wonderful, very light and slightly sweet. the French onion soup needed to be developed longer, as the broth was weak and very salty. By far our biggest disappointment was the ribs. Our server warned us that the ribs were not the kind that the meat fell off the bone, but rather smoked for 5 or 6 hours and would be tougher and more chewy. Well he was right, they were very difficult to cut and frankly not very tasty and the smoke flavor was just not there. We had expected much more form a "Famous Barbecue" restaurant. The sauce was served in a small bottle, and while on the sweet side, wasn't very memorable. We also had the half a chicken, which was well cooked and very tasty. There are so many better Barbecue joints in Milwaukee, don't waste you time here.

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 15, 2017 via mobile

Ordered a 16oz USDA Prime steak. Awful. No way was it USDA prime. It was tough and chewy. Huge disappointment. Fire your steak supplier or advertise the right type of steak.

Date of visit: February 2017
1  Thank MichaelMac3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 23, 2017

Service outstanding. Staff outstanding. Rib appetizer and corn bread brought out promptly along with drinks. Meals consisted of 16oz pork chop, fish of the day (sorry I don't remember what it was, but my friend said it was very tasty) Mediterranean shrimp, and a 5oz steak with a large lump crab cake. Problem was the steak and crab cake were cool at best. Others at the table tried it and agreed it was cold. On Saturdays they have prime rib, but its a 32oz cut, and they won't offer a smaller cut. Really? Not very customer friendly. In fact while writing this I had given it a very good but despite how great the staff and service was, a cold entree and not giving the public what it wants drops it to just good.

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chief400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carson's Prime Steaks & Famous Barbecue of Milwaukee also viewed

 

Been to Carson's Prime Steaks & Famous Barbecue of Milwaukee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing