We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ethiopian ”

Ethiopian Cottage Restaurant
Ranked #253 of 1,665 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Cuisines: Ethiopian
Neighbourhood: Lower East Side
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Lower East Side
Reviewed July 23, 2017 via mobile

Delicious vegetarian "beyaynetu" (combo platter). Awesome seasonings and portions were great for the sharing size. Atmosphere is really relaxing and the server was very friendly. Definitely check it out!

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank Kimberly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 26 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2017

We have been to this restaurant a couple of times - and have always enjoyed ourselves. The hosts are very welcoming and make sure that you thoroughly enjoy your Ethiopian dining experience. We sat at traditional Ethiopian table settings but standard seating is also available. They explain which foods are spicy and which are more mild. You eat all the food with the Ethiopian injera bread. We also ordered the Ethiopian coffee service - which they made right in the dining room. A delightful experience.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Diane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 23, 2017

Out for Birthday celebration with brother and girlfriend and Mom to celebrate her 96th Birthday. Mom enjoyed the food but we needed to ask for a fork because this food is eaten using injera bread for the eating utensil. When going to this restaurant it would be good if person suggesting the restaurant would have prepared us that knife, fork and spoon cutlery are not used. 3 of us had lamb dishes and 1 chicken. The food is artfully presented on a round tray and there is a communal feeling to eating. the food was tasty and a bit on the hot side. This is definitely a setting for adventurous eaters. My mom thanked the host before we left.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Patty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 18, 2017

We visited with a Groupon and enjoyed a delicious vegetarian platter for two featuring homemade injera---a light spongy bread for dipping and eating the veggies with your hands. There was enough on our platter to feed 4. We also enjoyed two of the appetizers: a sambas and kategna. What a treat for the palate. Our visit would not have been complete without tasting the homemade tej: A honey wine. Deliciously sweet, but not overbearingly so. Just right. Our waiter was very pleasant as well. What a neat place! I will be sure to visit again.

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sandra O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 22, 2016

The atmosphere was very nice. More traditional seating and seating with table and chairs.

Menu featured larger 2-4 person options as well as individual orders.

Location is good with good parking.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 150NightsPerYear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ethiopian Cottage Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ethiopian Cottage Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing