We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MainStay Suites Milwaukee Airport
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Oak Creek
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed 22 January 2010

With the regular size refrig, stove and micro, I was able to save dining money. Nice staff, very clean

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imelda74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    41
    18
    3
    3
See reviews for
49
44
18
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2008

My husband and I recently stayed overnight at the MainStay Suites on our way to Door County, Wisc. Having never stayed at a MainStay before, we chose it because we had enough Choice Hotel points to get a free night's stay. Our room was so clean that we thought it was brand new (it is actually 8 years old). We had 1 queen bed in a private alcove, a couch (probably a pull-out), a full kitchen with microwave, refridgerator, utensils, etc., eating area, nice clean bathroom with amenities. The included breakfast buffett was very good. It had waffles, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, fruit, bakery items, coffee, juice, etc. We even got a USA Today newspaper! I would highly recommend this hotel. Please note - housekeeping is weekly unless you request more. (We had dinner at the Trattoria DiCarlo Restaurant in Oak Creek and it was delicious!)

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChicagoPokerGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2008

Pro's
- Less expensive than many of the other properties in the area and probably better value (but read further to see if this applies to you).
- Close to the Milwaukee airport.
- Close to I94 and easy to access I794.
- Each room is a small suite with a kitchenette.
- Relatively new, clean and well kept.
- Free high speed internet that alway s worked for me (although it was kind of slow for file up / down loads).

Con's
- The area right around the hotel really has nothing to see or do. The hotel is located in the middle of a relatively undeveloped mixed residential / light industrial area right next to the airport. Other than 1 or 2 restaurants, there is nothing of interest in walking or easy driving distance. This is a place to sleep, not an area to visit or to be entertained. The same goes for the other hotels in this area unless they have the amenities you are looking for right on site.
- The hotel is fairly cheaply built and really generic. The furnishings and fixtures in the rooms, while still relatively new, are cheap and some are already showing signs of wear and tear (drawers do not open or close properly, scratches and scuffs on the surface etc.).
- This hotel chain has a policy of only cleaning the rooms once every 7 days you are in them in order to save cost. You can request a 'light touch' cleaning at no charge any day but this is just to make the bed, take out the garbage and provide new towels. This was okay with me but others may not like it.
- Although the rooms are suites in the sense that there is a separate bedroom, the actual size of the overall 'suite' is no more than a regular hotel room. The bedroom I had was tiny!

All in all, a good place to stay for business or when passing through but not really a destination for pleasure, romance or a vacation in my opinion.

  • Liked — Value for money
  • Disliked — Boring
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NV_guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Crosse
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2008

The Mainstay Suites is the only place to stay in Milwaukee!!! The staff is wonderful and helpful. I have never stayed in a cleaner more well maintained hotel. The price was much less than I would have expected and I got more than I thought I would for only $85 a nite!!!! If you are headed to Milwaukee on buisness or pleaser I suggest calling the Mainstay!!

  • Liked — Great value for the price!!
  • Disliked — No pool
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MattFlair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, IL
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2005

This is one best hotels we have used. It was extremely clean and very nicely decorated. We really did feel at home. The staff was excellent and the breakfast buffet was plentiful and very appealing. The two-bedroom suite offered more than enough space, certainly more than a "glitzy" hotel. If your priority is space, value, and cleanliness then I would certainly reccommend this property to you.

Helpful?
4 Thank aimeebn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Creek
0.2 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Milwaukee Airport
1.7 km away
La Quinta Inn Milwaukee Airport / Oak Creek
2.7 km away
Best Western Plus Milwaukee Airport Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Comfort Suites Milwaukee Airport
0.2 km away
Hampton Inn Milwaukee Airport
1.8 km away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Milwaukee Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MainStay Suites Milwaukee Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MainStay Suites Milwaukee Airport

Property: MainStay Suites Milwaukee Airport
Address: 1001 W College Ave, Oak Creek, WI 53154-1122
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Oak Creek
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Oak Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — MainStay Suites Milwaukee Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MainStay Suites hotels let you enjoy apartment-like living with all the comforts of home, plus the benefits of staying in a hotel-like spacious suites with separate areas for working and relaxing, a fully-equipped kitchen, free continental breakfast, free high-speed Internet, on-site laundry room, a marketplace and regular housekeeping, too. That's the best of both worlds, with the added benefit of the Choice Privileges(R) rewards program to make extended stay travel even more rewarding. So take all the worry out of your extended stay travel with MainStay Suites locations across the country ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your MainStay Suites Milwaukee Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mainstay Oak Creek
Oak Creek Mainstay
Mainstay Suites Oak Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing