We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“horrible room!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Microtel Inn by Wyndham Onalaska/La Crosse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Microtel Inn by Wyndham Onalaska/La Crosse
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Onalaska
La Crosse, Wisconsin
1 review
“horrible room!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

walked in and the room smelled like cigarette smoke, burn marks on the table and bathtub, plumbing sucked, extreamly loud air conditioner.

Room Tip: guess this is what happens with a last resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CuteKatie1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    197
    119
    64
    29
See reviews for
195
128
57
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

Very inexpensive room, but it was still very nice. Clean and comfortable. Rooms didn't feel horribly small as other reviews mention. My only complaint is that the chain doesn't offer king beds. The queens feel more like fulls and are two cramped for a pair used to their space. We got two beds and I didn't care for having to sleep separate just to be comfortable. With that said for the price I'll definitely go that route again if it's just for 1 night.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raevenx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun City West, Arizona
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

This is a great motel to stay in while in the LaCrosse area. Clean and quiet with a good breakfast. Great friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sparkles35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
196 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

I needed a hotel while my son was nearby for a college orientation. The hotel is just off 1-90 behind Woodman's grocery store. Impressions as I arrived:
The entrance faces the freeway and you enter the parking in the rear of the hotel. The lobby is very small. Check in was quick. Elevator smelled somewhat unpleasant. The room was a shoe box! I pretty I've had cruise ship cabins that were bigger than this room. Room 204 - There was a small queen bed and the window seat over the air condition/heater had a cushion also to be used as a bed. The bathroom was large in comparision to the size of the room! Stained ceiling and torn wall paper/patch marks in the bathroom. In powering on the tv, it came on blastingly loud each time. The bed was comfortable, but had black stain marks on the sheets. Since the room faced I-90 and the road was literally four car-lengths away, it was extremely loud all night and sleeping was difficult. I turned the radio on in attempt to cover the truck noise, but no good. Continental breakfast was offered in the morning but I did not go take advantage. Wireless internet worked fine in the room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Woodman's
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MNSandSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Onalaska hotels

Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

We just needed a place to sleep so we could be at registration with our "new freshman" in the morning. THis hotel is just off the interstate heading into town, has great rates, is clean, friendly, and willing to negotiate. I previously stayed here and was able to get them to match my rate for a friend we met who didn't have a reservation. THe breakfast was nice, waffles you can toast, bowls of ceral, pastries, bagels. The four of us stayed for $50. A Woodman's Grocery is accross the street and a microwave and fridge are included in the room. THis is a huge, fun grocery in that they have a wide variety and good prices. Plenty of shopping and restaraunts with in walking distance or a quick drive. Your room key gets you a 15% off at TGI Fridays just down the road.

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floor were both quiet for sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fceteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2011

Conveniently located. We had a room on the back side, which did not pick up the interstate traffic noise. The view wasn't critical, as we were there for a night's sleep. The room was clean, the bed was relatively comfortable. I would not want to stay here for a week, just a tad too small. I will say that the window looked like it had never been cleaned. I used a towel to wipe a small area, and the towel got so black that I did not want to ruin it further. Looks like it might have been a smoking room at one time and nobody ever cleaned the glass. The A/C was relatively quiet. We were next to the ice machine, so in the morning there was the steady dropping of ice as people filled coolers.
ONLY REAL COMPLAINT....We should have looked for a pet-friendly sign to warn us. There were at least 3 rooms with dogs. One barked enough during the night to wake us up several times, then in the morning, there was barking and yipping again as they all woke up. I don't mind dogs, I just don't think they belong in hotel rooms. On the other hand, they don't make much more noise than some small children do.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WisconsinRoadtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2011

It's worth the money by far. Good value. Rooms were fine, breakfast is continental and fresh and free wifi was fast.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thetxcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Onalaska
0.2 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites La Crosse/Onalaska
0.8 km away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - La Crosse
1.0 km away
Hampton Inn Lacrosse Onalaska
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
Settle Inn & Suites La Crosse
7.0 km away
Days Inn La Crosse Conference Center
2.9 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 6 in Onalaska
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn by Wyndham Onalaska/La Crosse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn by Wyndham Onalaska/La Crosse

Property: Microtel Inn by Wyndham Onalaska/La Crosse
Address: 3240 North Kinney Coulee Road, Onalaska, WI 54650
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Onalaska
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Onalaska
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn by Wyndham Onalaska/La Crosse 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Microtel Inn by Wyndham Onalaska/La Crosse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn Onalaska (La Crosse Area) Hotel Onalaska
Microtel Onalaska
Onalaska Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing