We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Port Washington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Port Washington
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port Washington
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

I was very impressed with the hotel from the moment we arrived through the entire stay. The check-in process was both efficient and extremely friendly. The room was nice. My view of the marina was outstanding. The restaurant was palatable (definitely not the best part of the stay), thought he service in the evening was phenomenal. Breakfast service was tortoise-like but super friendly. Friendly wins me over typically.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the park or the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lang C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    67
    62
    20
    8
See reviews for
65
79
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Beaver Dam, WI
Level Contributor
123 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

We spent this week-end celebrating my brothers birthday at the Holiday Inn in Port Washington.
The staff was friendly-the facility spotless and the offering of different types of rooms something I don't see at all hotels. Plus the beds were very comfortable. The sunrise over the lake was beautiful this morning. We had the party room downstairs. The town looks like a destination that we may check out when we have more time. Lots of character. We had breakfast at the hotel and it was also very good and not real expensive.

Room Tip: View of the harbor is priceless!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suzz22bd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mundelein
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

We have been coming to this sleepy little town of Port Washington, located on lake Michigan, for over 30 years and it has become our very favorite getaway (1/2 hr north of Milwaukee). We start with a lunch (Mortons Pub) and shopping in Cedarburg (20 min away) It is always a comfortable stay at this friendly hotel where the pool is so warm, clean, and inviting . The sauna and hot tub are great too! The rooms are very clean and spacious...nothing fancy but very comfortable and the price is right!. Winter or Summer, the views are always incredible of Lake Michigan where this lovely hotel is located. The front desk staff is so accomodating, the cozy bar overlooking the pool where you can look after your swimming older kids is great! We love walking down by the waterfront checking out the boats in the summer,,, in the winter, we walk down by the lighthouse and watch the waves crash into icy sculptures.
Our favorite "eats" are Harry diner for breakfast, Beanies for Mexican, or Newport New (right on the water) for fish fry or a hearty steak~ they also have a very cool bar! We do miss the legendary "Smith Bros" Fish House which was famous for so many years but now is vacant except for a little spot where there is a coffee shop. This would be a perfect place for a new fish house restaurant to go! We enjoy bringing our friends and their families here over the years where they have made this their new "favorite" getaway!

Room Tip: If you are a Holiday Inn rewards Member you can be upgraded to a water view room for free The rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank chevykevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marquette, Michigan
Level Contributor
160 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

We had a brief stay at the property after a long day of airport travel. The check-in was quick and easy, although the person was not what I would call 'service oriented'. We had booked a lake view room and we did have a view of the lake beyond the parking lot and behind a pier so not really what we expected. The property is definitely old, but the rooms have had some upgrades. Plenty of parking.

The room itself was a little musty smelling but serviceable. They had a choice of pillows on the two full-size beds. The fan is thermostat controlled so you can't keep the fan running, which was not great for me as I like white noise to help sleep. Nice newer LCD television. Fridge and microwave in the room. Sink in and outside of the bathroom. Deep tub - even with the grab bars could be challenging for someone who has physical limitations.

Beds were comfortable, sheets a little scratchy but not bad. Good water pressure, no problems with water temperature, some mold along the base of the tile in the tub.

Had breakfast in the basement restaurant, decent food, reasonably priced, friendly service. Kind of scary.

One of my favorite things was the letter in the hotel information asking the patrons to not clean their fish in their rooms. Only in Wisconsin!

The downtown kind of reminded me of the town used in the movie Groundhog Day...

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor room if you want a real view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

Wonderful location in the downtown area with a beautiful lake view. Great walking area, and a pet friendly property. Staff were helpful with any requests we made. The only complaint: this property allows smoking. You have to walk through a designated smoking area to enter the front door. Not very appealing or attractive. While our room was designated non-smoking - it was obvous by the lingering odors that the room had been previously assigned to smokers. Eeeck! The restaurant/bar in the basement a bit dismal. Property could use some modernizing.

Room Tip: Ask for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bvroman1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
133 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

We stayed here after spending the day in Cedarburg. Our room was fine (we had a suite with 2 queens and a sofa bed in the living room for $150.00). It was clean and every thing worked as expected. The hotel was quiet. Our room overlooked the lake which was very very nice. My only disappointment was that they did not include a breakfast of any sort. That seems to be standard in this class of hotel. And, the options in town are not that great.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EthelSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nekoosa, Wi
Level Contributor
122 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

First of all there's not much to chose from in Port Washington. We had our family reunion at the hotel and rented one of their conference rooms for our gathering, The hotel is old but very well kept and the location is ideal if your looking for picturesque scenery. Check-in and check-out went smoothly and the people behind the counter were very helpful. They steered us to the right place for dining (Tello's) and let us keep the salmon we caught on a morning charter in their freezer until we checked out. The hotel is walking distance to all the fishing charter's slips, we chartered Van's Catch and had a great time. We tried to eat at the restaurant/pub (limited menu) but left because they didn't have enough staff and the wait was forever. I believe the bartender did double duty that night and also waitressed. The rooms were very clean which is very important to us, some of the rooms were more modern in their decor than ours. I asked the cleaning personnel if they were upgrading all the rooms and they stated not to their knowledge. Some of our party had newer furniture, flat screen TV's and whirlpool tubs in their room. We didn't use the pool but our grandchildren did and had a good time, also we didn't use the excercise room. Would I stay again if in Port Washington, Yes.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DSchmidtNekoosa_Wi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Washington
2.8 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Washington
8.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grafton
13.9 km away
Washington House Inn
Washington House Inn
#1 of 1 in Cedarburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites. Grafton-Milwaukee
20.7 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mequon Milwaukee Area
31.9 km away
Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Port Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Port Washington

Property: Holiday Inn Port Washington
Address: 135 East Grand Ave, Port Washington, WI 53074
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Port Washington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Port Washington 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Harborview Port Washington Hotel,, located just 20 miles North of downtown Milwaukee on the shore of Lake Michigan. There are no other Wisconsin destinations that can offer the same sort of East-coast, New England-like charm. The Holiday Inn Harborview is one of the few Lake Michigan harbortown hotels in Wisconsin, offering a unique & charming boutique hotel experience. All guests are sure to appreciate the convenience of being adjacent to the Port Washington Marina, downtown shops & boutiques and some of the finest restaurants in the Milwaukee area including our very own Rusty Anchor Saloon & Eatery! For nearby recreation we are one of the only Port Washington, Milwaukee, Cedarburg, Mequon and Grafton area hotels near: charter fishing on Lake Michigan (3 boats on property), Interurban Bike Trail (starts on property), Elkhart Lake Road America and Kohler Wisconsin. In addition, being one of the few Cedarburg area hotels, many guests will take the short 8-mile trip to experience the Cedar Creek Winery & antique shops in historic downtown Cedarburg. For corporate travelers, the hotel is conveniently located near WE Energies Port Washington Power Plant, Concordia University, Charter Steel, SKF, Simplicity, Allen Edmonds, Tecumseh, Leggett & Platt, Columbia St. Mary s and Kleen Test Products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Port Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Port Washington Hotel Port Washington
Port Washington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing