We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Hotel”
Review of The Port Hotel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Port Hotel Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2017

This was our second visit to Port Washington and this was the best visit so far. We stayed at the Holiday Inn our first visit and were greatly disappointed by our room location and the upkeep of the property. So, we decided to stay at the The Port Hotel and had a wonderful stay. What a beautiful gem in the town of Port Washington. The hotel staff was amazing and the restaurant brunch cannot be beat. The homemade items on the buffet were plentiful and delicious. I would highly recommend you to try the hotel and stay for the food. The bed was so comfortable that it was difficult to leave the room. Very clean and very very quiet. A must visit...you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: If walking stairs is a problem - opt for a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank edrobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2017

What a find. I used to stay at the Holiday Inn in Port Washington, but no more. I felt like I was staying at a 5 star New York hotel. The hotel is small, but the rooms are a nice size. Big, renovated, top quality bathrooms, comfortable beds, and on top of all this,,,,,,,,,,,, breakfast in your room is included! I chose french toast with apples and blueberries, and maple syrup. How good is this, it felt very European. The only downside was I had to walk up 2 flights of stairs. I would highly recommend. Rooms were reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dizzyoctopus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

This place was great. I can not wait to visit again. I stayed one night, with several friends, in several rooms. My room had a view of Lake Michigan. Kate was great to work with and met all of our needs. We were able to park our bicycles in the basement over night. The hotel bar is fantastic, DON'T MISS OUT ON THEIR HAPPY HOUR! The rooms were very clean and welcoming. I highly recommend this place and would stay at the Port Hotel again in a heart beat.

Room Tip: 306 is very spacious and has a whirlpool tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drew38813881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017

We felt right at home. We splurged for room 306 which included a fireplace & whirlpool bath. Those things certainly affected our positive opinion on the room! The bed was comfy. The shower was great (spacious, great water pressure and plenty of hot water- the perfect shower trifecta). The free breakfast options were outstanding. You could pay a for other options but there is no need because the free options are excellent and delicious. The room had DirecTV, but the TV itself was ancient and not a high def flat screen. That fits the quaint theme of the room but for the price they could upgrade the quality of the TVs. But that's a nitpick because we only watched it right before bed. Service was fast and friendly. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: 306 is worth the extra money for the whirlpool bath. But if stairs are an issue for you, stick with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017 via mobile

I just want to say on behalf of my Wife Jane and I, what an awesome time we had here, it was quiet, comfortable, clean and convenient, We stayed in room 303 and it was perfect, it met all of our needs, it has a big queen bed, a desk and chair, big bathroom and very large shower, all of the staff are very friendly and helpful when we saw them, we had breakfast delivered to our room, it was prepared perfectly, delivered on time by a very friendly delivery guy, we will return, hopefully people do not find out about this little gem of a hotel in Port Washington WI.
DD

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank AlecDesroches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017 via mobile

Place feels dated,very nice appearance,however the food and service need updating. Only two couples and service wait for waitress was ridiculous. And serving cokes in the 8oz glass full of ice then charging per soda? Found out on my second,because " nothing's free"? Her tip was. Food tasted microwaved,small portions. Slow and bad,first and last visit

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Stephan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017

We visited the Port Hotel in late March 2017. My wife and I were in room 301, very nice accommodations. Room was good sized for a hundred year old hotel. Very nice bathroom with stand up shower and all the niceties of a bed and breakfast.

We had a drink in the bar upon arrival around 6pm on a Friday. No happy hour on Friday but that was ok. Bartender Mike was very nice, explained a few beers to us that were not familiar. Bar snacks in a basket on the bar was a great touch. We did not stay for dinner at the hotel but quite a few people were and I heard it was very nice.

The breakfast is the big winner. We ordered via a door tag when we arrived. There are breakfasts included with the room rate or you can order more for a charge. My wife had the yogurt, granola, fresh fruit, muffin option. She enjoyed it all. I had the chocolate chip pancakes. They were WONDERFUL. Arrived right on time at 7:30 as selected. Big tray with the food, utensils, water, coffee, cream, sugar, butter for muffin. All was brought into the room and we left it on the tray stand and ate in bed. Perfect breakfast.
We enjoyed our stay at the Port Hotel Inn and will come back.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GEORGE G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Washington
2.7 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Washington
13.9 km away
Washington House Inn
Washington House Inn
#1 of 1 in Cedarburg
744 reviews
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Port Washington
Holiday Inn Port Washington
#2 of 3 in Port Washington
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Port Hotel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Port Hotel Inn

Address: 101 E Main St, Port Washington, WI 53074-1915
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Port Washington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Port Washington
Price Range: $191 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to indulge yourself in the luxury and elegance of this magnificently restored 1902 turn of the century hotel. The Port Hotel Inn offers gracious hospitality in an atmosphere of old world charm. The Inn offers gourmet breakfasts, down filled comforters, romantic fireplaces, breathtaking views of downtown Port Washington and Lake Michigan, all just 30 minutes north of Milwaukee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca so you can book your The Port Hotel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing