We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Good and a Couple Cautions”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Suites Wisconsin Dells Area
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Portage
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, IL
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“The Good and a Couple Cautions”
Reviewed 10 October 2011

The hotel is located about five miles outside of Portage at the junction of I-39 and I-90/94. The hotel is an excellent choice provided you don't have a problem with my cautions.

THE GOOD:

(1) Friendly, congenial staff. (2) A large, impressive pool area. (3) Our room was large, clean and had nice funiture. (4) Excellent shower head. (5) Impressed with complimentary breakfast; large selection of items and helpful attendant. (6) I'm a Wall Street Journal addict. The hotel has complimentary copies. However, they don't carry the weekend edition and we were there on a Friday night.

CAUTIONS:

(1) Both beds had very soft mattresses; might be an issue if you have back problems. (2) The bath towels were quite coarse; that's fine if you're looking for an exfoliant to remove dead skin cells (lol). (3) Our room overlooked the enclosed pool area that is open until 10 PM. The pool noises carried into the room. I go to bed early. It's my impression that very few rooms overlook the enclosed pool. Should you be early to bed and noise is an issue, ask for a room not overlooking the enclosed pool. (4) Should your travel plans be fluid, be aware that their cancellation policy requires notice by 4 PM on the day PRIOR to arrival.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChicagoKen60657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    72
    20
    16
    11
See reviews for
100
43
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Goshen, KY
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Stayed here on a Sunday night after spending the afternoon in Madison and attending a concert in the Dells in the evening. This Comfort Suites was moderately priced and located about 15 minutes from the Dells exits. We are value oriented travelers who look for a clean place to sleep and are not interested in the amenities that pricier places promote. We were very surprised at the quality of this motel. Large clean rooms, impressive lobby and large pool area with an excercise room. Better than average breakfast. While the location suited our needs, some may find it isolated as there is only a gas station/store and a Subway within walking distance - you would have to drive to find a sit down restaurant, fast food, or shopping. My only complaint on this visit was that the treadmill was defective but after I pointed that out to the desk clerk, I trust that would be taken care of eventually. If you need a nice clean place to spend the night on the road, this Comfort Suites is sure to please.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pharmcat56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Since we stayed in a King Suite, our stay was comfortable and the price was average for a room of this type. The hot tub was very nice in the pool area and the continental breakfast was adequate. The only negative I have is the hotel's location. Not much is within waking distance. The hotel is surrounded by highway & interstate.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RansRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Book through choicehotels.com, always seem to get better deal thru there.

Opted to stay out of the dells and saved some money. This hotel can be very busy on the weekend, full of families and kids. However, it's was surprisingly quiet as I thought I was going to be hearing kids running up and down the halls. I am thinking kids are probably wore out after spending all day at water parks.

Room was good, clean and really wasn't expecting much more. We had a king room, and it had a big sitting area with couch, table, microwave and fridge. There was also another table and chairs. A lot bigger than expected. Breakfast is similar to most Comfort Suites. About 3 hot food items, waffles and lots of continental breakfast items. Coffee was good.

I would stay here again if I would ever want to stay out of the Dells area. It's a nice 15 min or so drive but it worth it. Would recommend it to anyone who wants the same.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RNJENNNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level 6 Contributor
433 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

This hotel has a beautiful lobby with a soaring ceiling, stone fireplace, and catwalk bridging the lobby and breakfast area, giving the property a lodge-like feel. It also has one of the nicest pools I’ve seen in this class of hotel so far. The pool area is very large with two hot tubs, large, pretty windows surrounded by greenery, and a high, wood planked ceiling. You do get a strong scent of chlorine when first entering the hotel, but that seems to dissipate in time. Our king suite was very, large with room for the bed and nightstands, a round table and two chairs, sleeper sofa, easy chair, small refrigerator and microwave. The room door would not close easily and the closet bifold door also was hard to close. The sink, oddly, is not in the bathroom, but in an alcove outside with a rather small counter area. The bathroom feels small in comparison to the room, but was fine. The alcove containing the refrigerator and microwave looked unfinished. It’s large enough to contain a good-sized counter – at least 10 feet-- but there is none, so the microwave perches on top of the refrigerator and there’s no convenient space to set anything down. Our window overlooked the pool, which is closed overnight, so no issues with noise there. However, the guests on the floor above us were a bit heavy footed; kids taking a flying leap to the bed perhaps? This was not constant, but when it was ongoing, we could hear it. Front desk staff personnel were very pleasant and helpful with local information. Complimentary breakfast was good and staff graciously asked if guests wanted any more food before taking it away at closing time. Seating seemed rather limited given the size of the hotel. When we stayed, the dryer in one laundry room was out of order and the washer in another was also kaput. We went across the street to the Petro Stop (a trucker’s stop) and found working laundry machines there in a clean and pleasant setting. Wifi signal strength averaged between fair, poor, and sometimes, nonexistent. These were minor inconveniences. I would recommend this hotel to couples, groups, and families traveling for pleasure. I would not recommend this hotel for business travelers who need an onsite business center as there is none. The lobby computer does not connect to a printer, however, you can get copy and fax service at the front desk.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor for easy access to the easy chairs and fireplace on the bridge ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sailingboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmwood, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We stayed at this hotel on our first night in the Dells (moving on to a waterpark resort for rest of the week) and they have, once again, outdone themselves. It's about a 15 minute drive to the Dells, but we were just shopping at the outlet mall on our first day and didn't care to pay the exorbitant price at the waterpark resort just to sleep. We purchased a non-refundable, prepaid room on the internet for $79 for a family of five (that includes tax!). Remembering that breakfast is included with our stay, this is surely the best bang for our buck!! Our room included two beds and a sitting area where our daughter slept on a pull-out sofa bed -- plenty of room for all of us. The hotel is clean, the pool is large and there are TWO whirlpools!! We visit the Dells on a yearly basis and we will definitely start our trip at this hotel again!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muzikluvnmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centereach, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Wonderful service, clean rooms, great breakfast, large pool. Stopped on our way to Hudson, WI and we were pleasantly surprised. Very very nice.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClareE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portage
9.7 km away
Best Western Resort Hotel & Conference Center
0.2 km away
Days Inn Portage
Days Inn Portage
#4 of 6 in Portage
450 reviews
17.2 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 km away
Best Western Baraboo Inn
28.5 km away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#6 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
934 reviews
21.8 km away
Clarion Hotel and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Wisconsin Dells Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Wisconsin Dells Area

Property: Comfort Suites Wisconsin Dells Area
Address: N5780 State Road 78, Portage, WI 53901-9635
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Portage
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Portage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Wisconsin Dells Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Suites Wisconsin Dells Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Portage
Comfort Suites Portage
Portage Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing