We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Portage
Burr Ridge, Illinois
Level Contributor
104 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Truly Average”
Reviewed 20 March 2012

This place is somewhat hard to see from the road, and I wouldn't spend much time searching it out as it is average in every way. Clean enough, updated enough, staff were helpful enough, but not particularly friendly...meh...meh...meh...

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraceeT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW_Manager20, Manager at Best Western Resort Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
I apologize for not exceeding your expectations, during your recent stay with us. We do hope that you will try us in the future if you are ever in the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    93
    46
    17
    10
See reviews for
96
61
8
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
rockford
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

we had two rooms for a 12 hour over night before skiing at Cascade. The rooms were clean and staff friendly. The place is nice, but it is an older hotel and a little dated. Overall it was as advertised and a good experience.

Room Tip: we wanted connecting rooms and that is why we stayed there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tombaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW_Manager20, General Manager at Best Western Resort Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, even if it was only for a short time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wonder Lake, IL
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

we stayed at the BW Portage for a ski weekend at Cascade Mountain. Hotel was fair, nothing over the top, good ski package price, pool area was great plenty of room. Hot tub, sauna, and large pool. Breakfast bar was overall above average, very crowded though. Very close to a Wal-Mart and plenty of fast food places. Steak and seafood resturant next door was excellent. You get two ski passes good for anytime in the year with each night stay. Kids ski free, great deal.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wtresq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW_Manager20, General Manager at Best Western Resort Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Thank you for your review, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaukauna, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed here Jan 28th-29th and chose the 1 bedroom king suite package with the 2 adult tickets to Cascade Mountain. Our kids had their own bed (pullout couch) and TV, while we had our own bed and TV - perfect for getting them to bed a little earlier than us. Our kids are 12 and under, so they were able to ski free with our 2 adult tickets. Very economical considering lift tickets alone to Cascade would be $98 for the two of us. The hotel was clean and quiet. We enjoyed the pool and hot tub and the continental breakfast was standard and very good. We all enjoyed the hot waffles. We also need to shout out to the young man working for Sombreros, who kindly greeted as when we arrived at 6pm, with freshly made tortilla chips and salsa. We unpacked and headed downtown to Sombreros for a quick and inexpensive dinner, including our 2 for 1 margarita coupon he gave us. Muy Bien! Thanks for a great little 1 night winter getaway! I would definitely return and recommend to others.

Room Tip: Can only speak of the king suite - spacious, clean and well equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brugert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW_Manager20, General Manager at Best Western Resort Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Thank you for the great review about our ski packages. We hope to see you again next ski season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Best Western with our 3 year old twins the night before skiing at Cascade. Check-in was very simple and we did not have prior reservations. The room rate was incredibly great! I was so happy to hear how inexpensive it would be to stay for the night. Our room was clean and we were happy with everything. My husband and children did use the pool and hot tub. It was a quick stay - we were only there for 15 hours or so. We did eat breakfast at the hotel - it was your basic continental. We had danishes and waffles. Wal-Mart is super close and that was nice.

I was pleased with the Best Western and would stay again for a basic hotel room.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HunterLilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galveston Island, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 9 November 2011

This hotel is very clean. The staff was friendly. It was very quiet also. I would recommend this one.

Room Tip: I recommend the hot tub suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bertsimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
176 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

This is clearly one of the top of the Best Western branded hotels. We took a King Suite with jacuzzi tub, this is a really large space. We would gladly stay in this room again! While our stay was basically off-season for the area, our stay was excellent. The hotel had a well taken care of appearance overall. Our room was in good shape. The bed was comfortable.

The complimentary breakfast, while not a 5-star meal, was more than adequate - hot waffles, hard boiled eggs, cereals, pastry, various bread, coffee, tea, milk, juice and a variety of fruit. The breakfast room was kept well stocked and cleaned.

The pool and hot tub were clean, the pool room was clean, towels were available, we were lucky enough to have the pool room entirely to ourselves when we used it one evening. We personally prefer a slightly cooler hot tub, and a slightly warmer pool, but you really can't set either one to a temp that will completely satisfy everyone as personal taste comes into play, both were at reasonable temperatures. Neither of us enjoy a sauna, but it appeared to be clean and operational.

If we visit this area of Wisconsin again, we will definitely try to get a room in this hotel!

Room Tip: King Suites! Go for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler_from_Iowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portage
9.7 km away
Comfort Suites Wisconsin Dells Area
9.6 km away
Days Inn Portage
Days Inn Portage
#4 of 6 in Portage
426 reviews
0.6 km away
Ridge Motor Inn
Ridge Motor Inn
#5 of 6 in Portage
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.3 km away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#4 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
859 reviews
25.8 km away
Best Western Baraboo Inn
25.6 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Resort Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Best Western Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 2701 County Road CX, Portage, WI 53901-9268 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Resort Hotel & Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Portage
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Portage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Resort Hotel & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Best Western, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Resort Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portage Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing