We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friday night Fish Fry”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Owl's Nest

Owl's Nest
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Poynette
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Poynette
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Friday night Fish Fry”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

We go mainly for the fish fry. I prefer the breaded fish over the beer batter. If you don't like rye bread you can request some very good dinner rolls. It's usually pretty busy on friday evenings.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Needsmoretimeoff_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    12
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portage,WI
Level Contributor
66 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“We Love this place!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

Our entire family LOVES this place. Mainly for the food, the fish fry and the blooming onion are our favorites. Although the set up is old fashioned, the salad bar is pretty small too, but the food is Excellent! Definately worth a try.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ronna1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perennial favorite!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

Great fish fry, wonderful prime rib and onion rings. I'v been coming to the Owl's Nest (under various owner/s/managers) for about 60 years! Glad to say that after a few bad years, the quality has returned and it's again a delcious restaurant -- and one that is special to me!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WI
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best fish fry you will find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

Old style supper club atmosphere that can't be beat. We have tried other place's fish fry but we keep going back to the good old Owl's nest. I don't think we have ever had a bad meal there and we have been patrons for 20 plus years. That includes more than just the fish fry. Great drinks, food, staff and service!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank glrbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
122 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Little disappointed in the fish last week.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012 via mobile

I've been here 3 times now and last week the fish fry was very disappointing. It had a bad fishy taste to it and was pretty greasy. The French fries were also kind of soggy. Not saying don't try it but not sure if I will eat there again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank finnegan9107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Owl's Nest also viewed

 

Been to Owl's Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing