We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“We love Holiday Acres” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Acres Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Acres Resort
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Rhinelander
Certificate of Excellence
New York, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We love Holiday Acres”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

We come from Manhattan every summer to enjoy an old-fashioned family vacation in a cabin on a lake. Diiner in Three Coins is always a must as Chef Tom is an outstanding cook. The Tuesday community BBQ is always much anticipated and we never miss the breakfast trailride. There is plenty to do in this friendly, natural setting. Our family has been gathering every summer for over 20 years. The Zambons are the best hosts.

Sandy and Dave

Room Tip: book a cabin on the lake well in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    30
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
55
22
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palm Coast, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

We chose Holiday Acres to host our wedding celebration party in February. With very untraditional plans in mind, Rhonda and Gladys assisted us with planning a party outside the lines a typical wedding planner has trouble escaping. The banquet room was perfect for our group of about 50 people. We had a keg of excellent local Wisconsin brew, Spotted Cow, with a buffett featuring fish, chicken, vegetables and an incredible desert created by the chef and served in a martini glass. As an added touch, the resort owner came out to meet and serve our guests. Truly top-notch service with beautiful accommodations, lots to do throughout the day, and a friendly staff who made our weekend in the Northwoods so much more than we even imagined.

The value was also more than I have ever seen anywhere else.

Room Tip: Choose a cabin for the true Northwoods experience. Book at least a year in advance to secure a cabin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Russel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hodag, Owner at Holiday Acres Resort, responded to this review, 15 September 2012
We were so happy that you shared your special wedding days with us at Holiday Acres. Your very fun family, and unique reception will be remembered by all of us as a highlight of 2012! Thank you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

My family has been coming to Holiday Acres every summer for the past 23 years. Every year, we are reminded of why we love the place so much. The area is beautiful, the cabins are wonderful and comfortable, and it is a perfect place to relax and enjoy nature with family. The family that runs the resort takes great pride in Holiday Acres and their love of what they do shows. Although we have always gone in the summer, we just returned from a family wedding and now know that Holiday Acres is just as wonderful in the winter as it is in the summer! We look forward to coming back for many, many years to come.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 112Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hodag, Owner at Holiday Acres Resort, responded to this review, 15 September 2012
Your review brought smiles to family and staff! Thank you so much for the good words! We will look forward to the next time.

Sincerely,
Kari and Kim Z.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

One of the last large classic northern Wisconsin lake resorts not condominiumized or sold off for the lakeshore. Still owned by same family. If you are looking for 4 star luxury, stay in Manhattan. Older cabins, though comfortable and clean, have not changed much in 50 years. Great plus is excellent restaurant. I am type who always believes best eating is away from the hotel. Not so here. I asked several lawyers friends from Rhinelander where was the best place to eat in area and all recommended Holiday Acres. Great food, varied American menu. Great bar.

Room Tip: Individual cabins down by the lake would likely be better than motel units or non-lake cabins
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nwwisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

We visited Holiday Acres for the first time on our 15th anniversary in December of 1977. We fell in love immediately! The grounds are lovely and our cabin was just what we wanted. We have been back every year since them, during each of the four seasons. We love the indoor pool also! If you're looking for a nostalgic, north woods destination, Holiday Acres is your spot!

Room Tip: We have never stayed in the lodge. We love the cabins, especially Arbutus, Woodland, Ridgewood, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debzer5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Holiday Acres Resort, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Dear Deb525,

Your comments are so appreciated and we will be sure to share them with our staff. Thank you, too, for sharing your photos! They are great. Loons are so hard to capture and you got a really nice image.

Sincerely,

Kari Z.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

I think this place looks better in photos. When I arrived, I was a little bummed. While the lobby area and restaurant section of the lobby look neat, the area where the rooms are look kind of old and dull -- the carpet, the walls, for instance. My room looked like that too, and because of that, I didn't feel like I was at a resort. I felt like I was in an old hotel room. The layout is a little strange because the pool separates the rooms from the lobby, so if you're going to go to the lobby from your room, you'll have to walk through the pool area. On the flip side, the staff was friendly. My room was clean. The bed was comfortable. There's a restaurant connected to the lodge. It was quiet. There's a pretty lake and beach area, and an outdoor cooking area. My suggestion is that if you're looking for more of an upscale or luxurious resort, this is probably not your place. If you want an escape and don't mind an older looking place, this is nice.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank colbyRachmaninoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolingbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
133 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

Decided to stop @ the Holiday Acres, outside of Rhinelander, on way back from a trip to upper Michigan. We are always looking for a place for a future getaway, and thought this "resort" might be a possibility. But I wouldn't exactly call this place a resort, but rather a summer camp for families. It is comprised of cottages and lodge rooms on sufficiently large and warm lake in a forested area. A small sandy beach was filled with happy families; the water was not very clear, but looked clean enough to take out a canoe and later a kayak for exercise/fun and at a reasonable cost (tho, renting a motor boat for skiing or tubing is a bit steep). The cottages and lodge rooms seem a bit dated and have obviously seen better days; we stayed in the lodge since we were only there for one night and found the room to be comfortable but again dated (older furniture) and my room had a definite odor of dog. The room was clean enough and spacious, I suggest a nice reading chair looking out the window would make good use of that space.
Our wifi did not work in the room due to "Sunday Maintenance" but it did work in the cocktail lounge. The indoor pool was very usable, also has tennis courts and basketball courts available, and a putting area that had grass growing out of the holes from disuse (there are several golf courses in the area). Had dinner at the resort restaurant, very good food and very good service, but the prices again seemed steep for a family resort, I guess most families do their own cooking in their cottages and only eat at the lodge for special occasions. Two things really made this place stand out for me and the reason why I give a high rating and my recommendation: first, the staff couldn't have been more pleasant and accommodating-- when we told them we would be arriving 2 hrs before check-in, they said no problem and had our rooms ready for us, when I asked for extra towels again no problem and when we changed our mind about using the kayaks instead of the canoes, again no problem and always service with a smile. And finally, sitting on the dock watching the perfect sunset with my son (in spite of the mosquitoes) is a lasting memory that makes one overlook many things. This may not be quite the more luxurious and expensive "resort" you are expecting, but in the end we were glad we stopped in.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhinelander
8.4 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rhinelander
5.0 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 8 in Rhinelander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
8.5 km away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#4 of 8 in Rhinelander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 km away
Days Inn & Suites Rhinelander
31.8 km away
Edgewater Inn & Cottages
Edgewater Inn & Cottages
#5 of 12 in Eagle River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
36.0 km away
Wild Eagle Lodge
Wild Eagle Lodge
#2 of 12 in Eagle River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Acres Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Acres Resort

Property: Holiday Acres Resort
Address: 4060 South Shore Drive, Rhinelander, WI 54501-8265
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Rhinelander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Rhinelander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Acres Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1949, the Zambon family has welcomed visitors to experience the classic Northwoods resort at Holiday Acres on Lake Thompson in Rhinelander, Wisconsin. Encompassing 1000 acres of woodland and lakeshore, the resort offers four season relaxation, a great restaurant, indoor swimming and sauna, plus many outdoor amenities. With a variety of lodging choices, guest rooms, cottage, and vacation homes, everyone can find a home away from home. Retreat, relax and rediscover Your Place UpNorth! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Holiday Acres Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Acres Hotel Rhinelander

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing